Digital Art Zone

 
     
An item of clothing appearing invisible when loaded in DS4.5
Posted: 13 September 2012 02:39 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2007-06-13

I load an article of clothing called M5Shirt that I bought at Mech4D.  I load the shirt, and its invisible.  I checked the Display tab, and it has visibility on, when go into the Surfaces tab, there’s nothing there.  I even checked to make sure that the shirt is selected and still nothing.  Any suggestions?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 02:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

Did you get a “DuplicateIDs” message?

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 04:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2007-06-13

I did, but that was for the shorts that came with the shirt, not the shirt itself.  I already used a script from Richard Haseltine made to fix the problem with the shorts.  I just remembered that when I first tried to load the shirt, a window popped up saying something along the lines that the geometry was missing (I can’t remember exactly what it said word for word).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 06:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

Seems like that might hold some crucial information. ^_^

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 07:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2007-06-13

This is exactly what the popup window says.  At the top, it says “Missing files”.  The text in the window says “Some assets needed to load the file were missing.  The content may not work as expected.  The following files could not be found:  geometry”.  This really baffles me that it says something is missing when it was never there or should be there to begin with.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 08:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  547
Joined  0

Hey. This happened to me too with a 3-d-c sci-fi set, Way of the Samurai and Mr Hyde’s jeans. I eventually figured out a way to fix it but you need a cr2 editor to do it as I am assuming the file in question is a cr2. You could probably also do it with notepad++ which is what I used to fix the .dsf files. Anyway, here is the thread about it:

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/7423/

Das 4.5 seems to be MUCH pickier about this stuff as both 4.0 and 3 would fully load the items but in 4.5 I got something in the scene tab, but an invisible item and nothing at all in the surfaces tab.

 Signature 

Having trouble with clothing/props not showing in Daz 4.5? Take a look at this thread:

Thread in Nuts And Bolts forum

Profile