Digital Art Zone

 
     
Exporting scenes and/or characters to another computer
Posted: 28 May 2012 02:51 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2006-10-24

Hey all, it’s been awhile since I’ve been around (lots have changed, including the forum).  Anyways, I’ve recently put DS4 on my laptop so I can do some work while I’m away from home.  But I’m having a problem getting my characters from one computer to the other.  I usually save my characters as scenes versus presets but if I try to port them over to the other computer, the files aren’t all there to read.  I’ve also tried to export them as dae. files but that’s not working either, which is weird because I used to be able to do that but when I open them up on the new computer, it ports in all twisted up beyond recognition.

Any help would be appreciated.  And I hope I posted this question in the right section.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 04:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14310
Joined  2003-10-09

DS 4.5’s .duf scene file is designed to be portable, as long as the same content is installed on both machines. .daz files are trickier - you need to load the Poser content (figures, props and morphs - no need to pose or apply materials) into an empty scene and save that before the scene from the other machine will open.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 05:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2006-10-24

I have DS4 Pro.  I’m not sure if I have 4.5 or not.  I’ve looked under both save as and export and went through the various options and haven’t seen a .duf extension.

RE: .daz files.  Okay, then I’m halfway there I guess?  When I loaded the .daz files onto the new computer into an empty scene before, it registered that the material is there, I just can’t see it.  Since I couldn’t see any of it I assumed it was loading wrong or something.  So I need to (if I’m understanding you right) load the file into a blank scene, save it, and then I’ll be able to see it?

And thankx for the help.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 06:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8697
Joined  2007-11-06

Yes, that’s correct.  Load the items into a blank scene, inject morphs if needed, and save it—after that you can delete the dummy scene.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile