Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
The Water Fall Tool
Posted: 12 September 2012 07:20 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  397
Joined  2006-08-24

Can anyone supply a link to an animation that uses The Water Fall Tool by Nerd 3?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 07:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  397
Joined  2006-08-24

Can any one give some idea on how to install the PSI city starter for Bryce? The usual paths through create, edit and sky import paths don’t seem appropriate. Has anyone actually done it?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 02:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6767
Joined  2005-08-15
vindazi - 12 September 2012 07:24 PM

Can any one give some idea on how to install the PSI city starter for Bryce? The usual paths through create, edit and sky import paths don’t seem appropriate. Has anyone actually done it?

Accordint to the Product Page, there is a BR5 scene file, which you should be able to open.  There are also .OBP (Bryce Object Presets) with it as well which should be put into your Bryce Presets folder.

Can you explain a bit more fully why you can’t load any of these items?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 03:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16416
Joined  2003-10-09

As all Objects in this scene are OBP, which is a bryce only format, youd need to add them to your presets.

SO unpack the files by running the installer and pointing it to a Temp folder which you create on your hard drive.  Mine is simply calle “For Bryce” you can use what ever title that you like for this folder.

On the create screen, click the little arrow next to the word “Create” on the top line, this takes you to your presets. Click the arrow at the bottom next to the word “user”  and you will find a screen which gives you the option to “import” an OBP from the folder that you created.

As Jimmy says there is also a Starter scene.  This you can run from the folder by starting Bryce, going to the folder you have created and clicking the scene file.

Do remember to tell Bryce to open a Br 5 Scene, in file types at the bottom of the “open file” screen, as this is an old prodcut, but Bryce is backwards compatible and can open files of this type back to Br4.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 12:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  397
Joined  2006-08-24
JimmyC_2009 - 13 September 2012 02:48 AM
vindazi - 12 September 2012 07:24 PM

Can any one give some idea on how to install the PSI city starter for Bryce? The usual paths through create, edit and sky import paths don’t seem appropriate. Has anyone actually done it?

Accordint to the Product Page, there is a BR5 scene file, which you should be able to open.  There are also .OBP (Bryce Object Presets) with it as well which should be put into your Bryce Presets folder.

Can you explain a bit more fully why you can’t load any of these items?

These are the instructions in the “read me”.

===
To use the objects, do the following:
Navigate to the Bryce 5.x:Presets:Objects folder and create a new folder called “Simon Schild”
Copy the OBP files from the PSI City Starter Set:Objects and PSI City Shuttle:Objects folders
Paste inside the Bryce 5.x:Presets:Objects:Simon Schild folder
OR
Import each OBP file into any Object Library in Bryce.
The included scene is to get you started, just open in Bryce to use.
====

There is no mention of DS7 so it is not clear to me if I have to have DS5 loaded for this to work or not.

The Content folder comes with a Simon Schild folder in it. Do I nee to make another SS folder to place this SS folder in?

The content folder contains obp, jpg, and br5 files..The read me files only tell where the obp files go, sort of. I have the obo files loaded. How do I get the scenes and templates that come with it into Bryce?

In the past I have imported Bryce content from with in Bryce. This seems completely different. I guess I am disoriented.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  397
Joined  2006-08-24

Is this forum still operating with the guidelines that each person should include all questions on one thead? Since no one answered my first question, I am not sure if no one know or it got lost. I can see that happening. Does the search engine search the content?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 12:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

I don’t think I’ve ever seen the Waterfall animated before. If I did it was long ago and way to many links ago to remember.

Yes we still prefer related questions in the same thread.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 12:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16416
Joined  2003-10-09
vindazi - 13 September 2012 12:28 PM
JimmyC_2009 - 13 September 2012 02:48 AM
vindazi - 12 September 2012 07:24 PM

Can any one give some idea on how to install the PSI city starter for Bryce? The usual paths through create, edit and sky import paths don’t seem appropriate. Has anyone actually done it?

Accordint to the Product Page, there is a BR5 scene file, which you should be able to open.  There are also .OBP (Bryce Object Presets) with it as well which should be put into your Bryce Presets folder.

Can you explain a bit more fully why you can’t load any of these items?

These are the instructions in the “read me”.

===
To use the objects, do the following:
Navigate to the Bryce 5.x:Presets:Objects folder and create a new folder called “Simon Schild”
Copy the OBP files from the PSI City Starter Set:Objects and PSI City Shuttle:Objects folders
Paste inside the Bryce 5.x:Presets:Objects:Simon Schild folder
OR
Import each OBP file into any Object Library in Bryce.
The included scene is to get you started, just open in Bryce to use.
====

There is no mention of DS7 so it is not clear to me if I have to have DS5 loaded for this to work or not.

The Content folder comes with a Simon Schild folder in it. Do I nee to make another SS folder to place this SS folder in?

The content folder contains obp, jpg, and br5 files..The read me files only tell where the obp files go, sort of. I have the obo files loaded. How do I get the scenes and templates that come with it into Bryce?

In the past I have imported Bryce content from with in Bryce. This seems completely different. I guess I am disoriented.

 


Vindazi, did you see my post with instructions as to how to import OBPs into Bryce.  This product is a pure Brcye product, it will not work in DS, nor does it need DS to make it work.

OBPs created for Bryce 5 will work in Bryce 7 with no problem, once they are in your preset library.

Bryce 7 is backwards compatible,

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 01:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  397
Joined  2006-08-24

I have installed and reinstalled “A Curious Town Hall”, a few times and it still fail to show up where the read me files indicate. I have used this path. I have looked for it in Daz and Poser and can not find it. Any idea what I could be doing wrong?

/Users/vinegarm/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio/My Library

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 02:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  397
Joined  2006-08-24
chohole - 13 September 2012 12:50 PM
vindazi - 13 September 2012 12:28 PM
JimmyC_2009 - 13 September 2012 02:48 AM
vindazi - 12 September 2012 07:24 PM

Can any one give some idea on how to install the PSI city starter for Bryce? The usual paths through create, edit and sky import paths don’t seem appropriate. Has anyone actually done it?

Accordint to the Product Page, there is a BR5 scene file, which you should be able to open.  There are also .OBP (Bryce Object Presets) with it as well which should be put into your Bryce Presets folder.

Can you explain a bit more fully why you can’t load any of these items?

These are the instructions in the “read me”.

===
To use the objects, do the following:
Navigate to the Bryce 5.x:Presets:Objects folder and create a new folder called “Simon Schild”
Copy the OBP files from the PSI City Starter Set:Objects and PSI City Shuttle:Objects folders
Paste inside the Bryce 5.x:Presets:Objects:Simon Schild folder
OR
Import each OBP file into any Object Library in Bryce.
The included scene is to get you started, just open in Bryce to use.
====

There is no mention of DS7 so it is not clear to me if I have to have DS5 loaded for this to work or not.

The Content folder comes with a Simon Schild folder in it. Do I nee to make another SS folder to place this SS folder in?

The content folder contains obp, jpg, and br5 files..The read me files only tell where the obp files go, sort of. I have the obo files loaded. How do I get the scenes and templates that come with it into Bryce?

In the past I have imported Bryce content from with in Bryce. This seems completely different. I guess I am disoriented.

 


Vindazi, did you see my post with instructions as to how to import OBPs into Bryce.  This product is a pure Brcye product, it will not work in DS, nor does it need DS to make it work.

OBPs created for Bryce 5 will work in Bryce 7 with no problem, once they are in your preset library.

Bryce 7 is backwards compatible,

Sorry for the confusing typo. I meant BR7 and BR5? I have loaded the obp files. Now I am trying to find out how I get the scenes and templates, the jpg files, that came with the PSI content into Bryce7?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 02:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16416
Joined  2003-10-09

THe jpgs should be included with the OBPs. so if you put one of those into your sene it wiill already have the jpg textures applied. OBPs include all textures in the format.

The scene file that is included in the dowonload you simply open in Bryce, making sure that you tell Bryce 7 that the file type is Br5 in the open file dialogue box. Again, if there are any jpgs asscociated with the scene file, they will be already applied when you open the scene.

The scene file should include any lights and the sky shown in the promo’s

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 02:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  397
Joined  2006-08-24
chohole - 13 September 2012 02:20 PM

THe jpgs should be included with the OBPs. so if you put one of those into your sene it wiill already have the jpg textures applied. OBPs include all textures in the format.

The scene file that is included in the dowonload you simply open in Bryce, making sure that you tell Bryce 7 that the file type is Br5 in the open file dialogue box. Again, if there are any jpgs asscociated with the scene file, they will be already applied when you open the scene.

The scene file should include any lights and the sky shown in the promo’s

When I create a new scene everything I get from the create tab is gray. When I opened the pre made scene the props were colored. Does this mean that those texture aren’t designed to be used be used except for the pre made scene?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 02:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16416
Joined  2003-10-09

If they are JPG textures used, then there is 2 possibilities.  You will need to check in the texture editor to confirm which one is used here.  If they are textures made just for elelments of the scene and the OBPs using templates, then they will be specific to the parts and modles they are applied to in the OBPs and the scene file.

If on the other hand they are tileable jpgs, then you should be able to use them on other objects if you wish. THe same goes for any Bryce mats which have been made using the Texture editor alone, those can be saved out in the mat presets and used on other projects.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 04:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  397
Joined  2006-08-24

Thanks, I’ll keep playing around with it.

Is there a way to reset the little green “scene” preserver buttons in the upper left hand corner of Bryce?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 04:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16416
Joined  2003-10-09

I have to admit that is one feature I never use.

I tend to lable my first attempt at a scene with a number and save that, and then I use the save as command every time I have made a few changes. Bryce will aoutomatically label the next save as 02, if you made the first one 01. Ok it may take up quite a bit of HD space if you have complicated scenes, but if decide the previous save was better, it is easy to go back to it, and if Bryce should crash on you then you will not have lost too much if you use this feature.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 05:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6767
Joined  2005-08-15
vindazi - 13 September 2012 01:54 PM

I have installed and reinstalled “A Curious Town Hall”, a few times and it still fail to show up where the read me files indicate. I have used this path. I have looked for it in Daz and Poser and can not find it. Any idea what I could be doing wrong?

/Users/vinegarm/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio/My Library

I just installed this item too, and it goes where the readme says for me.  There are four installer files for it, did you install them all?

Mine are in DAZ Studio Formats > My Library > Environments > Architecture > Curious_Town_Hall, and these are preload complete DAZ Scenes.  The rest are in Poser Formats in Character/Pose etc.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1