Digital Art Zone

 
     
Dynamic Clothes Useable Un-Dynamically?
Posted: 12 September 2012 02:29 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  280
Joined  2009-08-18

Can a dynamic clothing model be used on a model without the dynamics?

I’ve seen a couple of nice looking “garments” but they seem to be dynamic only.
There are problems for me about dynamic items, which may be my misunderstandings:

1. There seems to be two kinds, a DAZ and a Poser type, and neither version works in opposite program. I only have DAZ3 and 4.

2. Thee was a dynamic plugin in DAZ 3 that didnt work, and I couldnt get the one DAZ 4.0 to work.

I could never get the DAZ Dynamic Tablecloth to work, so I didnt pursue learning the technique or sccop up the opitex freebies in the old DAZ format. Both the 3 and 4 software versions were freebies. I did not purchase additions to them just use as they were installed.

But I still see some things that are very nice looking for my purposes. Will they work in the regular way, posing with the body? Would that be only DAZ/Optiex or will Poser dynamic cloths work too?  I am interested in the DAZ Doorman in particular.

At this time I am not going to load DAZ 4.5 as I do not want to overwrite the existing version where I have many scenes I do not wish to convert to new file format.

Searching for information on this topic has been very diffcult to filter. Sorry if this has been asked and answered already.

 

 Signature 

See my gallery http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/?q=IceScribe&x=14&y=10

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 02:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Simple answer…no, they won’t.

Most of the Poser format dynamic clothing available does not have a ‘conforming’ option too.  It’s basically just the ‘shell’ with no way of posing it.  It would have to be rigged and morphs added to it to make it work.

The Daz/Optitex stuff works in Studio 3 and 4.x, with the basic control plugin (included) or the purchased one (more features).  That’s the only route to get dynamics at this point.

Now with some of the Poser only dynamics…I’ve posed the figure, exported the figure as an obj.  Then imported it into Blender, imported the clothing item, then used Blender to run a cloth simulation on it.  Then when I got it to look right, I exported the item from Blender and imported it back to Studio…way too much work for everyday use, btw (there’s lots left out of that basic description…like the amount of time fiddling with the mesh to fit it to the figure, pinning parts and what not…)

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 05:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2224
Joined  2005-09-05
mjc1016 - 12 September 2012 02:43 PM

Simple answer…no, they won’t.

At least not without some work….and only if the item is suitable for conforming.


It is possible to use the transfer utility to conform items to genesis. Depending on the outfit you may need to do some tweaking.

This was recently done for the Mortella dress created by Arien. Which until recently only poser users could use as it was to difficult to rig. Someone has since rigged it for Genesis and it works beautifully. With the new smoothing features in DS it also has help with what previously was to hard to rig.

Of course this will not work with all dynamic items.

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 06:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  280
Joined  2009-08-18

@mjc1016

Your speedy and very cear explanation about the dynamic clothing is very helpful. You were able to answer all my questions.  I agree the workaround seems like a lot of work, even with some left out, but nice to know there is one.
Thank you for taking the time,
IceScribe

 Signature 

See my gallery http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/?q=IceScribe&x=14&y=10

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 06:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  280
Joined  2009-08-18

@Pendraia

It’s good to know that the Genesis transfer utility might work with some tweaking. I find I still have to tweak some V4 things with Genesis after posing anyway, so that is not too bad. But, you say too, it’s not likely Poser or DAZ dynamic items will work as static “conforming:” clothes.
Thank you,
IceScribe

 Signature 

See my gallery http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/?q=IceScribe&x=14&y=10

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 09:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2224
Joined  2005-09-05
IceScribe - 12 September 2012 06:28 PM

@Pendraia

It’s good to know that the Genesis transfer utility might work with some tweaking. I find I still have to tweak some V4 things with Genesis after posing anyway, so that is not too bad. But, you say too, it’s not likely Poser or DAZ dynamic items will work as static “conforming:” clothes.
Thank you,
IceScribe

Just to clarify the dress I mentioned was dynamic to begin with…where you would how’ve problems with dynamic is when the overall shape of the item heavily relies on the dynamic draping and not so much the model led details…

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile