Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 6
1
Still nothing in the Content Library ?
Posted: 12 September 2012 05:51 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2012-06-03

Twelfth time coming up ! wink Ok this time I deleted the old Daz 4.5 Pro file, Genesis and all my bought items. Then downloaded a fresh 4.5 and Genesis alone from my account and making absolutely sure they were all being sent to “My Library” as required, loaded them both. But it’s still the same old problem nothing’s appearing in the Content Library.

I wish I knew why this keeps on happening as I would love to get on….

Image Attachments
12th_attempt_files_pic.JPG12th_attempt_pic._.JPG
 Signature 

“Those curious locks so aptly twin’d,
Whose every hair a soul doth bind.”
Thomas Carew 1595 ~ 1640

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 06:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

What in the world put Three Runtime folders in your Content folder? Are you adding Runtime to the End of your install Path in the Installers?
Nested Runtime Folders are killing your content folder. There can only be 1 (one) Runtime folder inside the My Library folder. The Content installer creates the needed one on it’s own. You should DELETE that full folder if it does not hold any content you can replace.

The Full install path for ALL Daz Studio Installers is
C:/Users/<UserName>/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio/My Library
It should always end at My Library for a installer. To install Everything all the time from a DS installer the path ends at My Library.
Even the Poser content for DS from Daz 3D the path ends at My Library. It will automaticly go into the Runtime folder on its own.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 06:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2012-06-03
Jaderail - 12 September 2012 06:09 AM

What in the world put Three Runtime folders in your Content folder? Are you adding Runtime to the End of your install Path in the Installers?
Nested Runtime Folders are killing your content folder. There can only be 1 (one) Runtime folder inside the My Library folder. The Content installer creates the needed one on it’s own. You should DELETE that full folder if it does not hold any content you can replace.

The Full install path for ALL Daz Studio Installers is
C:/Users/<UserName>/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio/My Library
It should always end at My Library for a installer. To install Everything all the time from a DS installer the path ends at My Library.
Even the Poser content for DS from Daz 3D the path ends at My Library. It will automaticly go into the Runtime folder on its own.

Exactly very weird ! I’ve absolutely no idea on top of which I’m no techie why there’s 3 Runtime folders as I carefully checked (from hard experience !) that both files ended as required in “My Library”.... and I’m certainly avoiding like the plague adding Runtime to anything from past multi-Runtime entry hassles. It must be a technical fault with my computer or something ? Or perhaps possibly a bug in the Content Installer as no-one else is getting this problem. And now I think about it this must be the reason why it kept on doing it before too….

Anyone care to see if they get the same problem so as to narrow things down to either a fault with my computer or the Content installer ?

 Signature 

“Those curious locks so aptly twin’d,
Whose every hair a soul doth bind.”
Thomas Carew 1595 ~ 1640

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 06:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Have you went to your Account page to Itemized Order history and RESET your downloads? I would, Download all the New Clean Installers once they are in your Downloads.

Then do this Un-install the CMS from your system. The new installer will put a new one on your system. The CMS might be your problem.
What is your OS? XP, Win7 or another..

Then DELETE that content Folder. Then install DAZ 4.5Pro first and then the Genesis Essentials installer.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 06:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6479
Joined  2005-08-15

There is no fault that I know of in any of the installers.  They install to the path they are given.

What particular installers are you finding difficulty with?  When you run an installer, it tells you path that it is going to install to, and if the path ends in My Library as I mentioned before, then it WILL install to the correct place.

Are you selecting ‘Use Default Settings like the second image?  If so, you can see the path displayed where the installer is going to put things.  If it is wrong, you MUST click Cancel, and use Customize Installation the next time, which allows you to put the files in the right place.

Image Attachments
Untitled-2.jpgUntitled-1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 06:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2012-06-03
Jaderail - 12 September 2012 06:40 AM

Have you went to your Account page to Itemized Order history and RESET your downloads? I would, Download all the New Clean Installers once they are in your Downloads.

Then do this Un-install the CMS from your system. The new installer will put a new one on your system. The CMS might be your problem.
What is your OS? XP, Win7 or another..

Then DELETE that content Folder. Then install DAZ 4.5Pro first and then the Genesis Essentials installer.

I reset the downloads for 4.5 pro ok but can’t remember if I did Genesis. Also i always delete the old content folder each time. Anyway will do it all again. But first how do you download New Clean Installers? And what is CMS and how does one uninstall it as this is all new to me ?

Thanks

 Signature 

“Those curious locks so aptly twin’d,
Whose every hair a soul doth bind.”
Thomas Carew 1595 ~ 1640

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 06:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

The CMS is the Content Management System. It must be un-installed by hand. I think it will fix your problem if we get the old one off your PC.
I need to know what your OS is to help with that.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 06:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6479
Joined  2005-08-15

CMS is not your problem, please see my post above for what to do, and how to install correctly.

CMS is the Content Management Service, and yours was working OK.  What Jaderail mens by new clean installers, is ones freshly reset and re-downloaded from your downloads area.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 06:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2012-06-03
JimmyC_2009 - 12 September 2012 06:44 AM

There is no fault that I know of in any of the installers.  They install to the path they are given.

What particular installers are you finding difficulty with?  When you run an installer, it tells you path that it is going to install to, and if the path ends in My Library as I mentioned before, then it WILL install to the correct place.

Are you selecting ‘Use Default Settings like the second image?  If so, you can see the path displayed where the installer is going to put things.  If it is wrong, you MUST click Cancel, and use Customize Installation the next time, which allows you to put the files in the right place.

Yes the path did end both times (for 4.5 pro and Genesis) in “My Library” just as you said to do yesterday - I made trebly sure lol ! And yes I’ve always used, after checking for “My Library” which has always appeared at the end automatically, Default Settings as per the second image.  However I’ve never tried Customize Installation at all before as I wouldn’t have known what to put in. Perhaps to try this instead each time….?

 Signature 

“Those curious locks so aptly twin’d,
Whose every hair a soul doth bind.”
Thomas Carew 1595 ~ 1640

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 06:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
JimmyC_2009 - 12 September 2012 06:52 AM

CMS is not your problem, please see my post above for what to do, and how to install correctly.

CMS is the Content Management Service, and yours was working OK.  What Jaderail mens by new clean installers, is ones freshly reset and re-downloaded from your downloads area.

Jimmy if his OLD CMS is pointing to a FUBAR database it will hold that DATAbase structure, I’ve seen this before.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 07:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

THE OLD CMS NEEDS REMOVED!

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 07:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6479
Joined  2005-08-15

No need to shout!

As far as I know the CMS plays no part AT ALL in installing content to the correct folder.  Installers have been around long before the CMS was ever heard of.  Anyhow, I shall bow out since you seem to think you have the problem solved.

Best wishes.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 07:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2012-06-03

Thanks both sorry about all this ! red face How do I remove CMS I’ve got Windows XP Home 32 bit….?

 Signature 

“Those curious locks so aptly twin’d,
Whose every hair a soul doth bind.”
Thomas Carew 1595 ~ 1640

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 07:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Goto your Control Panel then open Add/Remove Programs. When it opens let it Populate, that can take a few so wait until it stops. Then find the listing that says, DAZ Content Management Service. Select it and do a REMOVE.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 07:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2012-06-03

Interesting you should mention “DAZ Content Management Service” as I’ve never known what to answer or do when the question’s appeared which now amounts to about 12 or so guesses red face And just to make things ten times worse there isn’t anything to delete in Add or Remove Programmes either !! LOL

Kinda makes my point Jimmy about Newbies needing to know about making sure “My Library” is always at the end too because none of the questions in the Run boxes ever meant anything to me at all and to be honest still don’t, so hardly surprising everything’s gone wonderfully pear shaped ever since grin

I mean just how is a from the art world Newbie supposed to even know what to ask beforehand already knowing the answer is going to mean even less ? I remember right at the beginning just clicking away at whatever I thought sounded about right and waited to see what would happen so you’re right Jaderail - it’s plain ‘orrible coming from the art world into the technical world and I don’t see any solution as to how anyone’s ever going to solve it, we just don’t think that way I suppose ? Still I’ve had a damned good laugh which is the main thing also at least you both now know where I’m coming from.

I wonder what multi-guessable options await next ? red face

Above all very many thanks to you both !!!!

 Signature 

“Those curious locks so aptly twin’d,
Whose every hair a soul doth bind.”
Thomas Carew 1595 ~ 1640

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 08:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Okay CMS is not listed. One more thing to try. Are you any good with the Windows File Browser? The one you use to Delete the Content folder. We can still try one or two things.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 6
1