Digital Art Zone

 
     
Renaming Shaders?
Posted: 11 September 2012 11:45 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2007-08-24

This is a stupid question, but I can’t figure it out. raspberry

How do you rename shaders in the Texture Room of Carrara?  If it helps, I’m using Carrara 6 Pro.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 12:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1059
Joined  2007-10-15

Not a stupid question at all. In fact it’s more of a stupid implementation in Carrara. The way you’re supposed to do it according to the manual is to find the shader in the Sequencer under Master Shaders. Makes sense, right. Change a shader name in the sequencer, where you do animations. Absolutely ridiculous, and something that caused me anguish for a long time.

Anyway, when you find it in the sequencer you click on it, and on the right hand side of the interface a General tab will pop up, which shows you how many instances there are of it, and allows you to change the name with an editable box. You could also find it in the Shaders tab of the thingy on the right hand side (Properties panel), but in a scene of any size with a large number of shaders the update of that can be on the order of weeks, and it’s pretty useless.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 10:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2007-08-24
JoeMamma2000 - 12 September 2012 12:59 AM

Not a stupid question at all. In fact it’s more of a stupid implementation in Carrara. The way you’re supposed to do it according to the manual is to find the shader in the Sequencer under Master Shaders. Makes sense, right. Change a shader name in the sequencer, where you do animations. Absolutely ridiculous, and something that caused me anguish for a long time.

Anyway, when you find it in the sequencer you click on it, and on the right hand side of the interface a General tab will pop up, which shows you how many instances there are of it, and allows you to change the name with an editable box. You could also find it in the Shaders tab of the thingy on the right hand side (Properties panel), but in a scene of any size with a large number of shaders the update of that can be on the order of weeks, and it’s pretty useless.

Thanks on that.  I had a pretty long named shader that I wanted to apply Anything Glows to, and just felt like shortening down to four letters.  That is really inane… why not just give the ability to name them in the shader room, on the top level of the shader tree?  The mind boggles.

Profile