Digital Art Zone

 
     
Installing content on Mac Mountain Lion
Posted: 11 September 2012 08:14 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  46
Joined  2007-07-27

I’m trying to install some old content on a new Mac running the latest version of OSX 10 Mountain Lion 10.8.1.

I’ve downloaded and installed Daz Studio 4.5 with no problems and added the Genesis starter items. I’ve also added Michael 4 from archived copies of original Daz installers.

However when I try to do the same for other content I have such as “Hiro 4” and “Ethnic faces” the installer fails with the message “can not finish installation as the file does not exist”.

I have no option but to click “OK” to this and the installer then quits and nothing is installed.

How I can re-install all my original content when I only have the Daz installers?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 09:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6425
Joined  2005-08-15

Well, Hiro 4 and probably the Ethnic Faces too, need to be installed into the same runtime folder as M4   H4 is a morph of M4, and the installer looks for M4 before installing.  That is all I can think of for the moment.

The same applies to V4, her morphs, A4, G4, SF4 etc, need to be installed into the same runtime folder as V4, including Morphs++ as well in both cases.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 07:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  46
Joined  2007-07-27

The problem I’m having is it doesn’t matter what Directory I choose from the Installer it still refuses to instal. As it’s the original Daz installer that worked on earlier versions of the Mac OS I can only assume that it’s the Daz’s Installer that is not compatible with Mountain Lion.

So I won’t be buying any new content as I’m not going to know if it will work or not.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 07:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6425
Joined  2005-08-15
Jon-3D - 12 September 2012 07:33 AM

The problem I’m having is it doesn’t matter what Directory I choose from the Installer it still refuses to instal. As it’s the original Daz installer that worked on earlier versions of the Mac OS I can only assume that it’s the Daz’s Installer that is not compatible with Mountain Lion.

So I won’t be buying any new content as I’m not going to know if it will work or not.

As stated previously, you can’t ‘choose’ a directory to install Hiro 4 into.  It MUST be installed into the same runtime folder as Michael 4, or it wont install.  Find out which folder M4 is installed into, and give the installer the path to the folder which ‘holds’ that runtime folder, and it should install OK.  I can’t see that it is a problem with Mountain Lion at this stage, since the other files installed correctly.

Are you sure that M4 installed correctly?  Can you see a runtime folder structure that Michael is installed into.  Can you load M4 on his own before you try to install anything else?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 10:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  46
Joined  2007-07-27

I installed Michael M4 first and the Runtime Folder was installed correctly and I could load Michael without problems.

When I tried to install Hiro4 the default setting seemed to be correct but it always failed whatever I did.

However, I’ve solved my problem, all-be-it by a rather roundabout route. I did exactly the same installation on an older Mac at work running OSX Leopard.

This time everything worked OK and I then copied the Runtime Folder and replaced the one on my Mac at home.

Studio 4.5 is now seeing all my content and is working fine.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 11:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6425
Joined  2005-08-15

If this is a bug, and it looks very like it, you should report it through the Mantis Bug Tracker, so that the devs will at least know about the problem.  I haven’t heard of any other ones, but Hiro is not all that popular.  Perhaps another Mac user could try this as well?

https://bugs.daz3d.com/main_page.php

Above is the link to the Bug Tracker, you have to open a new account there, your DAZ 3D login and password wont work.  It only takes a few moments.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 03:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  116
Joined  2009-09-18

I was wondering if the old installer issue was ever resolved or is Snow Leopard the last functioning OS?  I hope not as I really need to upgrade to get on iCloud and I’d rather not have to learn Poser.  Do the old installers work on Lion or Mountain Lion.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 03:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13925
Joined  2003-10-09

Older content has been moved into zip files (actual zip archives, not just a zip wrapper for the installer) and so should work with any OS version.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 04:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  116
Joined  2009-09-18
Richard Haseltine - 22 September 2012 03:50 PM

Older content has been moved into zip files (actual zip archives, not just a zip wrapper for the installer) and so should work with any OS version.

WONDERFUL!!!  cool smile
Thanks Richard, as always you are the light in the darkness.  Downloading the upgrade from Snow Leopard now!

Profile