Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Troubles with “Footsteps”  product.
Posted: 10 September 2012 07:05 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  149
Joined  2012-07-20

Hello!

I hope I’m posting this in the right place.  I recently purchased the “Footsteps” product, and though I am able to load round and square fields, as well as their surfaces, whenever I select the surface in Scenes, and then try to load the tool for making footprints, tracks, etc. as described in the ReadMe, DAZ 4 tells me that something in the scene must be selected, even though it is.  Anyone aware of a solution?  As it stands now, I can’t use the product to its full functionality.

Thanks for reading!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 September 2012 08:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Link to the Product. Footsteps is not enough information.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 September 2012 08:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  226
Joined  2003-10-09
Jaderail - 10 September 2012 08:08 PM

Link to the Product. Footsteps is not enough information.

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/footsteps-tool

—Walt Sterdan

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 03:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15247
Joined  2003-10-09

I have a link to a tutorial document included in my download   ReadMe’s/FootstepsTutorial.htm

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 07:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5569
Joined  2006-02-20

There is this:
http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/artzone/azproduct/8423
But it is outdated ... the bug in DS3 is fixed, by the way.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 08:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2283
Joined  2007-12-07
Kerya - 11 September 2012 07:48 AM

There is this:
http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/artzone/azproduct/8423
But it is outdated ... the bug in DS3 is fixed, by the way.

But seems to be back in DS4.5

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 08:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Hmm… never saw or tried this tool. Looks very interesting. To bad multi tracks are broke again in 4.5.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 09:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15247
Joined  2003-10-09

Copy of the text in the tutorial. 

The Footsteps tool ...

The footsteps tool allows you to create realistic tracks in a high resolution plane. The set comes with two large fields designed for this. There is a square and a disk. Both fields include morphs for varied terrain and a second layer to limit the depth of the prints. The ground layer can also provide a different texture at the bottom of the print.

Any prop or body part named “Surface” will work if it’s polygon density is high enough. That’s the tool’s magic word. Just select that prop and load the tool. The magnets will lock onto that prop. The automatic nature of the magnets does not work in studio but it’s very easy to connect the magnets (deformers).

Requirements ...

  The Nerd3D Footsteps Tool
  A Nerd 3D Surface Such as the included Disk or Square Field
  Poser 6 or newer or DAZ Studio 2.3 or newer.

Loading the Tool ...

The surface figure or “Field” must be loaded before the Footsteps Tool, just like a normal magnet or deformers. In Poser all the magnets will automatically connect to the “Surface” part of the figure. DAZ Studio users will need to do this manually.

To connect the deformers in Studio

  Select the Surface part of the field figure
  Open the Add Nodes dialog
  Select all the magnets in the tool
  Click Accept

If you need several tools to create the length of path you want it will probably be easier to add all the nodes at once.
Magnets Setup

Path Setup ...

The path of the effect is easily setup using the Easy Pose dials in the Control Element. (The big cone) if you need more detailed control you can select any of the boot props for individual print adjustments.

The EasyPose dials should be fairly self explanatory.

  Right - Left All: Uniform curve of path
  Up-Down All: Curve the path up a hill
  Left-Right S: Make an “S” curve
  Up-Down S: Make a vertical S
  Stride Length: More space between steps

Some of the Track Details can be found in the individual prints as well.

  Print Size: Scales the print uniformly
  Print Length: Makes the print longer
  Print Width: Makes the prints wider
  Track Width: Moves every other print to make the prints farther apart
  Track Angle: Moves all the prints side to side
  Toe In: Moves every other print the opposite direction. Can create a herring bone effect
  Depth All: Makes the prints deeper.

In most cases you won’t want or need to directly change the magnets. In Poser you can keep them hidden by selecting Display > Deformers > Hide All from the menus

Some tricks ...

  If you want to create a solid path, a tire track or snow board path for example, turn the Print length way up. Start with a setting of about 10. Then turn track width, Toe in, and track angle to 0.
  If you want variation between the prints you can make changes to each print by selecting it’s control “Boot” and adjusting dials in there.
  If you need a larger area you can fit 2 Surface Fields together. When working in Poser make sure the correct surface is selected before loading the foot step tool.
  If posing is sluggish turn the surface off till you are ready to render.
  In DAZ Studio don’t forget to hide the foot step tools prior to rendering. They won’t show in Poser but they will show in Studio.
  The Footstep Fields will work with many existing scenery and sets. Just replace the “ground” of the set with the Footstep Field.

Super advanced scene integration trick ...

It’s possible in to create a texture from an existing set to apply to the Footsteps Fields. This requires advanced skill in Poser or Studio. Here’s a brief rundown.

  Load the set you wish to integrate with
  Load and position the Footstep Field you want to use
  Select the TOP camera and position in so the Field EXACTLY fills the frame. EXACTLY!
  Hide the Field figure and every thing but the set you are integrating with.
  Set one light to pure white and straight above the scene. Turn off or remove other lights.
  Render the scene from the Top camera and at high resolution (3000 x 3000)
  Save that render
  Apply it to the Surface of the Field as the diffuse texture.
  The Studio version has 3 UV sets, make sure the default set is selected. (The others are for tiled textures)
  Restore the textures on the set.

That will give you a texture closely matched to the existing set’s texture. If you want to get really detailed you can copy bump and other maps. Temporarily change the bump map on the set so they are the diffuse texture for the set and render that too.
Rendering ...

In Studio be sure to hide the Path and Print Tools before rendering. You can hide the whole tool with one click in the Scene Tab. Click the eye icon next to the Footsteps figure in the scene hierarchy list. This isn’t necessary in Poser they will be hidden automatically. DAZ studio users may want to convert the Surface to SubD (Edit > Convert to SubD ... ) this increases the number of polygons and produces a smoother effect. This takes a few minutes and will increase render times.

Poser owners should make sure “Smooth Polygons” is checked in render options for FireFly. As with SubD in Studio this produces a smoother effect. The included materials take advantage of material room nodes so P4 rendering is not recommended.

FAQ

In Studio the Field Figures take like 5 minutes to load! You are using the Poser version of the figures. There is a Studio version that will load in seconds. The Studio version also contains alternate UV sets that are required to make the textures look right.

Can I use the Footstep tools on other sets? Maybe. The included surfaces are very high polygon and need to be for the footprints to show. If the ground of the other set has enough polygon density then yes.

Can I manually connect the magnets in poser? Yes, but it’s very cumbersome. Each magnets needs to be selected and then slick the “Add Element to Deform” button in properties. Choose the surface. Repeat for all 10 magnets. It’s easier to just delete the path tool, make sure the correct object is selected and then reload the path tool.

Happy rendering

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 01:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  149
Joined  2012-07-20

Thanks for replying, all.

I have the documentation, and studied it.  I am also using the correct version.  Still, when I try to load the tool for making footsteps, tracks, etc, via the Add Node function (in the D-Former Tab), DAZ does not seem to recognize that the Surface layer of the field is indeed selected.  So at that point, I can’t proceed further.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 01:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15247
Joined  2003-10-09

I can’t help you any further, sorry, I can get it working fine in Poser, and I don’t use DS red face

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 03:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13589
Joined  2003-10-09

It’s working for me.

I load the field, load the footsteps. Then I select the Surface bone (make sure you do have that, not the Ground as I did on my first attempt). Open the DForm pane, click Add node(s), click on each Mag entry on the list. Finally, select teh controller node of the footsteps and dial up the Depth All slider.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 03:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

AH Ha!! So it’s Multi Steps to get the Footsteps. Hmm… in the cart or not?

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 04:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7603
Joined  2009-05-14

Not to take away anything from this cool tool I just use some home made displacement maps. First one I ever did was Dino prints in mud and sand. Once you get a maker spot for orientation and starting point and size then it is fairly easy and timing consuming at first but cheaper and more flexible. Again this is a nice tool though I don’t have it. smile

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 07:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  149
Joined  2012-07-20
Richard Haseltine - 11 September 2012 03:07 PM

It’s working for me.

I load the field, load the footsteps. Then I select the Surface bone (make sure you do have that, not the Ground as I did on my first attempt). Open the DForm pane, click Add node(s), click on each Mag entry on the list. Finally, select teh controller node of the footsteps and dial up the Depth All slider.

Richard, that’s the problem.  I get as far as seeing the Add Node button, but when I click it, the app says “This action requires that an item in the scene be selected.”  It is.  I seem to be unable to add a node in any scene and can’t sort out why.  I get the same Selection Error every time.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 07:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5569
Joined  2006-02-20

Ehm ...
Load Square Field
Load Footsteps
Go to scene tab and select Footsteps <——maybe it is this step?
Open DForm pane
Add nodes
Click (Better ctrl+click) on all magnets
accept

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 09:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  149
Joined  2012-07-20
Kerya - 14 September 2012 07:42 AM

Ehm ...
Load Square Field
Load Footsteps
Go to scene tab and select Footsteps <——maybe it is this step?
Open DForm pane
Add nodes
Click (Better ctrl+click) on all magnets
accept

Thank you… based on your suggestion, I actually got one footstep to work.  However, I’m still not clear on how to apply a tire track or other “pose” to the tool.  If the footprint is supposed to be lengthened, etc., to create a tire track as suggested in the ReadMe, the existence of a separate “pose” called Tire Track seems a bit cryptic.  I don;t quite get that.  Some progress, though.  So close!

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1