Digital Art Zone

 
   
9 of 25
9
Carrara Academy for Light of Heaven
Posted: 08 October 2012 08:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 121 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1817
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi LoH smile

Depending on how much an object is deformed by modifiers, the Hot-point (centre axis) will change to stay in the centre of the object, which is why the deformed terrain is above the level where the flat terrain was.

There’s no such thing as the floor smile but there are a couple of ways to move things to a specific point in carrara..
.. try this.

Select the terrain object,.. Switch to the Directors Camera (if you’re not already using it),. then press ” 0 ” (zero)
this will Zoom the camera to fit the selected object into the view.

you can then manually position the terrain where you need it.

Or,..You can hit “Caps lock” and then adjust the position of any object’s (hot-point) (the three R,G,B, arrows) without moving the object.
this allows you to position the hotspot on a specific point in the model, then you can move the model where you need it.
You can Hit Caps lock again to “lock the hotspot”.
once the hotspot is locked, you can move it to position the object where you need it in the scene.

Use the split views, if you need to move things around in the scene, since it gives you an “overall” view of the scene from the Top, Left, front etc…
and it’s much easier to select and move objects in a BIG way when you’re not looking through your camera1.

Use the Directors Camera a much as possible for working in the scene,.
If you find a nice view / angle,. you can save that position in the Camera menu,. then change to your main camera, and load that saved position,. ..

another way to adjust the terrain is to use the “motion” tab on the right, which gives you the numeric values for X, Y, and Z,. you can adjust the Z (height) there.

Or you could create an object,... EG: a Target helper object,.  then select your terrain and go to EDIT / ALIGN
you’ll get a little pop up window with three arrows,. you can click on any, or ALL of the arrows to align the objects to the same point.

In the terrain editor, there’s also a “filter” to Zero the edge of a terrain,. as when you add terrain generators like Mountain, they deform the sides of the terrain ,(so it can be Seamlessly tiled) .

If this isn’t what you need,. you can add a “Zero edge filter” which will level the edges of the terrain, and allow you to adjust the filter effect

I hope some of that makes some sense to someone.. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 10:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 122 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1008
Joined  2007-04-08

Now you all in trouble, boys and girls!  The king of dumb questions has a new toy.  Yeppers, I am now the proud owner of Carrara 8 Pro.  Well, I will be when I download it, it’s a monster!

 Signature 

You’re never too old for metaballs!  ~Michael Frank

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 01:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 123 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7181
Joined  2009-07-13

lol! you found the thread already!!
I just suggested in “new hope” you come here!!! tongue rolleye

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 124 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1008
Joined  2007-04-08
wendy♥catz - 08 October 2012 01:05 PM

lol! you found the thread already!!
I just suggested in “new hope” you come here!!! tongue rolleye

Way ahead!

It’s not downloading properly though, all my downloads are finishing prematurely (hey, happens to the best of us at some point!)

I’ll try again in the morning.  Might be because I’ve absolutely rinsed my broadband today!

 Signature 

You’re never too old for metaballs!  ~Michael Frank

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 01:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 125 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15266
Joined  2003-10-09

Don’t forget to at least clear your cache before you try another download attempt. PArt downloads have a terrible habit of lingering in the cache, causing subsequent attempts to fail at around the same point.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 02:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 126 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1817
Joined  2004-08-24

Light of Heaven,... smile

I completely forgot about Sparrowhawke’s (drop to floor) plugin (FREE) at http://www.sparrowhawke3d.com/
it should be part of the Beta plugin pack (zip file) at the top of the main page.

smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 03:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 127 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1008
Joined  2007-04-08
chohole - 08 October 2012 01:16 PM

Don’t forget to at least clear your cache before you try another download attempt. PArt downloads have a terrible habit of lingering in the cache, causing subsequent attempts to fail at around the same point.

Yeah, fallen foul of that before, but now I’ve got most of it in full chunky goodness I think.  Still downloading the main program.

 Signature 

You’re never too old for metaballs!  ~Michael Frank

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 06:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 128 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  607
Joined  2011-01-13

WHAT?!  Did I read that right?

Andy, let’s have a drink to celebrate this day when the great BlumBlumShub obtained CARRARA 8 PRO! That leaes Jeff and Anne to crack. raspberry

 Signature 

An expert is just an experienced novice.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 06:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 129 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  607
Joined  2011-01-13
chohole - 05 October 2012 07:10 AM

Andy, Is that snail available in poser format ? or even OBJ as long as it has material zones.

Not sure if Andy saw this, so I thought I’d bump it up for Cho.

 Signature 

An expert is just an experienced novice.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2012 12:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 130 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  607
Joined  2011-01-13

Where do I stick the .dat and .mcx files?

 Signature 

An expert is just an experienced novice.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2012 01:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 131 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1008
Joined  2007-04-08
LightofHeaven - 08 October 2012 06:37 PM

WHAT?!  Did I read that right?

Andy, let’s have a drink to celebrate this day when the great BlumBlumShub obtained CARRARA 8 PRO! That leaes Jeff and Anne to crack. raspberry

Well, I wouldn’t say I’m great, but yep, got me Carrara 8 Pro, and hoping to get 8.5 when she’s released.  I’ve got the beta but I don’t know how stable she is so not actually installed!

 Signature 

You’re never too old for metaballs!  ~Michael Frank

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2012 02:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 132 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  607
Joined  2011-01-13

I never installed it. I don’t like betas. Mostly because they tend to crash or freeze, or so I’ve heard.

 Signature 

An expert is just an experienced novice.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2012 02:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 133 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1008
Joined  2007-04-08
LightofHeaven - 09 October 2012 02:20 AM

I never installed it. I don’t like betas. Mostly because they tend to crash or freeze, or so I’ve heard.

Well that’s why they’re betas.  It’s our job to throw as much crap at it as we can and try to break it, so that we can tell them what we were doing when it broke.

 Signature 

You’re never too old for metaballs!  ~Michael Frank

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2012 03:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 134 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  607
Joined  2011-01-13

The funny thing is, C8Pro just crashed on me.

It seems to do that when I go in the shader room after leaving a scene open and doing nothing with it for a day or so then start a new scene. I end up having to reboot my computer or Carrara will keep crashing in the shader room. Everything else works fine until then.

 Signature 

An expert is just an experienced novice.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2012 04:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 135 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1817
Joined  2004-08-24

HI All smile

The C8.5 beta is pretty stable,. we’re coming to the end of the current beta development, but as with all programs, they can crash.
Beta’s should be used for “testing” (messing around) rather than serious projects, so there’s no risk of losing important work.

The beta is designed to allow you to have Both programs installed at the same time.

It should be installed to a different folder,. (it’s Not an upgrade)  it has a different serial number, uses different folders, and creates a different preferences file, this all makes it easier to test the beta against the full version, and to install / un-install it.
So,.. if you’re curious, and want to have a look at how Genesis functions in C8.5, with “Smart content” or how well your files transfer from Daz Studio in the new DUF format into Carrara, ..go for it. smile


LOH smile

There are some known issues in C8 with shader preview refreshing causing hangs or crashes while the user is adjusting things while that’s happening,.. if that makes any sense.

Oh,.. I got the message about the snail from cho,. and we’re good smile  ..but thanks for bumping it   smile

Profile
 
 
   
9 of 25
9