Digital Art Zone

 
     
Apply visual style shaders?
Posted: 28 May 2012 06:36 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  28
Joined  2010-12-07

How do I apply visual style shaders?  Id like to apply them to genesis or H4 A4.  I tried drag and drop and when I went to render it was stuck on optimizing for 2 hours.  I also tried to double click, but then it said I had to select something in the scene.  I selected genesis, but then the visual shaders were no longer an option.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 07:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14441
Joined  2003-10-09

Select the area you want to apply the shader to with the Surface selection tool. To apply a Shader preset you need to select the item, and on the item the surfaces you want to take the shader - the Surface Selection tool does both, though you can also select items as usual and then surfaces from the list in the Surfaces pane.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 11:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  28
Joined  2010-12-07
Richard Haseltine - 28 May 2012 07:44 AM

Select the area you want to apply the shader to with the Surface selection tool. To apply a Shader preset you need to select the item, and on the item the surfaces you want to take the shader - the Surface Selection tool does both, though you can also select items as usual and then surfaces from the list in the Surfaces pane.

Thanks Richard!  A couple more Daz 4 noob questions if you dont mind and one more about the shaders.
Do you know how they get color on the eyebrows in the promos using the visual style shaders? I bought the Anime eyes for A4 H4 here in the Daz store but it doesnt seem to apply to genesis.

As for Daz 4, if a genesis outfit isnt completely covering a part - for instance I took the default shirt, dialed in genesis woman and v5 and enlarged the breasts but there was alot of poke through on the underside, how can I fix this?  I used to use auto fit in Daz 3but its not an option now.  When I converted a piece of clothing to genesis from V4, it morphed fantastically but the open morphs on the buttons were no longer there, is this unavoidable?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 12:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14441
Joined  2003-10-09

I’m not sure how the eyebrows were done - may have used something like the Geensis Eyebrow set, or it may be an image map or even props.

If there isn’t a smoothing Modifier applied, or if there is but there’s no Collision target set, you can set the clothing to smooth and collide with Genesis - that helps a lot in many cases. However, I have seen that when there is a smoothing modifier and the xmoothing iterations are set high - it ends up trying to smooth the breasts out of the clothing, and the collision detection can’t compensate. If there’s a Mesh Smoothing group in Parameters for the clothing go to it and check the Smmothing Iterations - if it’s over 6 or so it may need to be lowered.

The Release Candidate for DS4.5 does preserve morphs when using Auto Fit.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 12:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3262
Joined  2007-06-22

You will need to reapply the texture maps manually

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 11:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2009-01-05
Richard Haseltine - 28 May 2012 07:44 AM

Select the area you want to apply the shader to with the Surface selection tool. To apply a Shader preset you need to select the item, and on the item the surfaces you want to take the shader - the Surface Selection tool does both, though you can also select items as usual and then surfaces from the list in the Surfaces pane.

How come this doesnt work for me ?

I dont have a clue about this side of things and im trying to figure it out… I cant seem to find the help i need anywhere, been looking all day and all the documentation says is:-

To use a Visual Style preset that you’ve downloaded, simply select the surface you wish to apply it to, apply an official preset first (such as Visual Style Base), and then apply the preset you downloaded. The preset requires that the shader already be applied before it can be used, hence why we apply an official preset first.


it does not explain it the basics, and is confusing….


The error log says:- Failed to load script file!


This is what im trying to figure out:- http://www.daz3d.com/shop/new-releases/visual-style-shaders

im trying to use the Presets that come with it

and the PDF Document pretty much starts right off as if you know what the hell you are doing… and I have no clue what to do with the Visual Style Base that it talks about, there is nothing that tells me how to use it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 June 2012 08:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14441
Joined  2003-10-09

Did you apply the base preset first, as in the section you quoted? What version of DS are you using - if, as I suspect, the files are binary they won’t work in versions of DS older than the one that created them.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 June 2012 10:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2009-01-05

How do I apply the base preset ? ive tried and all I get is an Error

I use Daz 3D Pro, so if the product is out of date for the Pro version, I may have to get a refund for this

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 09:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7723
Joined  2006-03-19

DAZ Studio Pro 4.0? Make sure you have the figure selected before applying a shape.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 02:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14441
Joined  2003-10-09

To find which exact version you are using go to help>About DAZ Studio and look in the top-left corner. The current version is 4.0.3.47, if you have an older version you may need to update. Check the readme for applying the base shader - the technique will be the same as for applying one of the presets, so you select the surfaces you want, apply the base preset, then apply the special effect preset you want.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 04:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2009-01-05

I am using Daz 3D 4 Pro, 4.0.3.9… using the 64Bit Pro, think that would have anything to do with it ?

tho, I thought it was the updated version, will see if i can find the updated version and try again

but otherwise I was doing what you said here to apply the base shader and base presets, but it just kept telling me there was a script error in the log file

so will hunt for the updated version and try that

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 05:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14441
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes, I’m pretty sure you need the update -asuming you bought your copy through the store, which I think must be the case for that version, you can just reset your order from your Itemised Order History.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 07:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2009-01-05

yep reset and downloaded the updates, and seems to be working now ! 

No errors popping up and I can see the presets loading ok, just have to play with it now and see what I can do with it now

Thank you for all the Help Richard !

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 08:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  681
Joined  2004-11-12

Just gonna quickly say a couple of things:

1) The quote part of the documentation about “The preset requires that the shader already be applied before it can be used, hence why we apply an official preset first.” only applies to Visual Style presets downloaded separately made by other users (none currently exist). All presets included in the product itself can be used straight off the bat.

2) To use eyebrows, there are three main methods:

First of all, Hitomi comes with a pair of 3D conforming eyebrows for toon renders. These can be shaped and have their own shaders applied to them. These are the ones I commonly use.

However, if you’re using SnowSultan’s Anime Eye Textures on Genesis, you will need to do some manual adjustment. They were created for Aiko4, who originally had a separate Eyebrow layer which Genesis no longer has. If you’re using any version of Daz Studio 4 before version 4.5, you’ll need to use the Layered Image Editor to combine the eyebrows you want with the face textures you want. If you’re using version 4.5, you can create a Geometry Shell and use the eyebrow presets on that (essentially emulating Aiko4’s now missing Eyebrow layer).

If you’re using a texture that has eyebrows painted on, such as Jason or Jasmine, simply reapply the textures manually after applying the shader.

Profile