Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
No underenvironment lighting after Daz 4.5 pro install
Posted: 08 September 2012 12:36 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2011-03-22

I didn’t see this problem so I’m going to ask it anyone knows why I can’t seen to find the uberenvironment (presets, or anything) in the lighting preset tab.  This is the case in both Daz 4 and 4.5, and happened right after installation of daz 4.5. (I had daz 4 pro installed before I installed 4.5)  I can’t seem to find what caused this or even where the files themselves are located to see if they are still there.  If anyone can help I would greatly appreciate it.

(Sorry if this question is better posed in a different area…)

Comp specs:
geforce 550 ti
amd 4 core 3.6 processor
windows pro 64-bit
8 gig ram

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2012 03:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6616
Joined  2005-08-15

The Uber presets are part of the DS4P install, and you will find them in DAZ Studio Formats > My Library > Light Presets > omnifreaker.  Uberenvironment2 and UberareaLight are both there.  There is a problem with the Area light at the moment, but I am hoping it will be fixed in the next version.  DAZ 3D are aware of the problem.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2012 04:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2011-03-22

Thanks JimmyC, I never looked anywhere but the lighting tab so it’s great to know they are still there!

(I did find that out too when I loaded an older scene I created and the uberenvironment loaded correctly.)

I’m sure they’ll get around to fixing it soon.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 07:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  73
Joined  2005-01-14

No freaking way. No UE means no DS, I use it for all my renders. I’ll stick to 4.0.47 for now. Thank heavens I read this before upgrading.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 07:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Uber lighting is in DS4.5pro. I just used it last night. Smart Content>Defaults>Presets>Lights

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 08:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3236
Joined  2007-06-22

UberArea lighting isn’t working in DS4.5 one of the reasons a lot of pepole arn’t upgrading.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 08:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

I know the Uber Area light is broke but the Uber Enviroment 2 still works.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 October 2012 11:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  148
Joined  2012-07-29
Jaderail - 09 September 2012 08:20 AM

I know the Uber Area light is broke but the Uber Enviroment 2 still works.

hoo,,, good to know it’s broke was wandering why when I tried applying it to a sphere I created and than trying to render the scene it would simply crash - and there I was thinking I must be doing something wrong -anyone knows if this is going to get fixed ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 October 2012 11:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3236
Joined  2007-06-22

It has been fixed

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 October 2012 12:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6616
Joined  2005-08-15
scorpio64dragon - 23 October 2012 11:36 AM

It has been fixed

It has indeed, I believe that it was fixed in 4.5.0.137, but it did not work in 4.5.0.114.  I think that is correct.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 October 2012 01:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Works wonderful in 4.5.1.6 I just did a Uber Area light render yesterday with it.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 October 2012 02:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  148
Joined  2012-07-29

amm so probably I did something wrong ...was trying to set a background to my scene - came across a post in the forum of adam -that it can be done with the area light
so I created a sphere scaled it down -100 , changed the z rotation to 180 , selected the surface and the sphere applied the area light to it - than changed the diffuse, ambient and color maps of the sphere to a picture i had in my computer 1920 x 1440 in size .

I wanted that the sky image I applied to the surface will show in the render - so I created a null object - than I parent the sphere to the null and scaled the null to be bigger than my model in my scene - tried to render and crash .

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 12:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3236
Joined  2007-06-22

I just tried it and it worked ok for me. Make sure that ambient is set to on and has a value.

Why it would crash I don’t know. Is there a crash report or does the log give any hints.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 06:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  148
Joined  2012-07-29

I reported the crash to bugs.daz3d.com I hope I’ll get to the core problem of why this crashes keep happening randomly

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 11:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7920
Joined  2009-05-14

I do the same making an Mesh Light Sphere and I too cannot complete a render even when the Samples of the lighting is set to 16 and low quality Render settings. It is part of the memory issue some of us are having. I can render out the exact same scene with DS4.5.0.49 RC2. It was one of the scenes I used to test the latest versions.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 12:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  148
Joined  2012-07-29
Szark - 24 October 2012 11:53 AM

I do the same making an Mesh Light Sphere and I too cannot complete a render even when the Samples of the lighting is set to 16 and low quality Render settings. It is part of the memory issue some of us are having. I can render out the exact same scene with DS4.5.0.49 RC2. It was one of the scenes I used to test the latest versions.

I wander if this is graphic card memory problem or computer memory problem , 8 RAM need to be enough for this kind of render.
when I try to render scenes who are more complex with hair , clothing ,and even one complete world loaded to the scene all together I’m not getting any crash .

I noticed that this crashes happens only when I start changing the Map Diffuse. or other Maps and textures I apply to the surface of my objects in my scenes

I was told by support what making this crashes Is I use older version of Pwsurface , but I updated to the latest version long before this crashes ever happened -so this something else . wish I know what . My guess is there are still old files of daz were not uninstalled properly from older versions who probably still creating conflict in my system. I have no idea where or how to find them and remove them .

anyhow at least most of the times it works ok. and when I use UE and changes the maps of it it works ok and no crashing . so for now i’ll stick to use this .

 

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1