Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 3
1
DAZ|Studio 4.5 wont’ save .DUF
Posted: 07 September 2012 11:40 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2008-05-03

This is weird but lately DAZ|Studio 4.5 hasn’t been saving any of my scenes after I render or when I add things to the stage. It opens a window and lets me input the filename but when I go to press save it doesn’t save at all.

I am curious is this a bug or is there a way to fix it. I’d be grateful if anyone can help me to solve this problem, it’s really annoying.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2012 04:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7082
Joined  2005-08-15

What leads you to believe that the scenes are not being saved?  Where are you saing them to, what folder? 

If this was a common problem, we would have heard of it by now I think.  What OS are you using?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2012 08:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2008-05-03

When I click save it doesn’t work, it doesn’t even says it’s saved of appears in the My Documents folder.

I am using Windows 7 32bit OS

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2012 08:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7082
Joined  2005-08-15

You are really not giving much information to work on!

When you save as a DUF, you get a Windows dialogue asking you where you want to save it.  You select a folder, click on Save, and that is the end of the dialogue, it will not tell you that it has saved anyway.

When you click on Save what happens exactly?  Have you looked in the Log File just after this has happened, Help > Troubleshooting > View Log File?

What items are in the scene when you are trying to save it?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2012 09:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1925
Joined  2010-10-10

I use to have that happen in DS4, after telling it where to save etc,  I clicked on the Save button but nothing happened, it just sat there. I found that had to just leave it and wait until it did whatever it needed to do. Sometimes 5 minutes! Think it must have been something to do with memory.

perhaps this is also your problem.

 Signature 

Wendy

My website: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk

Tutorials: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk/view_products.php?cat=10

PLEASE NOTE:
My items are NOT to be used on Second Life website.  They have recently changed their TOS and are legally able to take/steal anything uploaded and resell/redistribute to items.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2012 10:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2008-05-03

I am bad at explaining things but whenever I click the save button nothing happens at all, and when I click cancel it shuts the dialogue box and when I look in the My Documents folder I don’t see the file and when I try to save it again It still won’t work in any other folder.

My computer specs are as followed
Windows 7 Home Premium
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Service Pack 1

Rating: 4.6
Processor: Intel (R) Pentium(R) CPI G850 @ 2.90GHz 2.90GHz
Installed memory (RAM): 4.00 GB (2.92 GB usable)
System type: 32-bit Operating System
Pen and Touch: No Pen or Touch Input is available for this Display

Not sure if this helps as I copy/pasted this from the system information section of my computer.

So I am not sure if it’s because the OS just doesn’t like DUF files or if DAZ|Studio 4.5 hates Windows 7 or something. I guess I’ll downgrade back to 3.2 of DAZ|Studio if this keeps up.

In the scenes I normally have an Aiko3 mdoel, The Hairstyle I chosen (normally the Jonia Hair), The Victoria 4 Ice Skating Outfit (Converted to fit Aiko3), and a Cube Primative that I was using as a stool for Aiko3 to sit on the way the models in the magazines pose.

When I went to save the scene it doesn’t save and for some odd reason if the scene is empty without any models, props. ect it save the blank stage. So I am wondering if this is a glitch or if DAZ|Studio is not built for my computer to accept it. I’ve never had problems before with the older version but this newer one is more trouble than it’s worth.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2012 11:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7082
Joined  2005-08-15

It sounds to me that you are not giving the Scene enough time to save.  Click on the Save button, and leave it for a while to see if anything more happens, pressing cancel will do nothing but cancel the save.

You could try saving the scene with just A3, then try with A3 and the Hair.  Something may be causing a problem.

Have you managed to save any other scenes?

Did you look in the Log File to see if there is anything in there?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 08:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2012-02-10

-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 06:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2010-01-14

OK guys It is not just him. I recently upgraded to daz 4.5 and when i first save a scene it saves as a .duf instead of a .daz. when I then open the resulting .duf file and make changes or add items and then save them, when I go back to reopen the duf file it did not save.

I have tried saving save as, I have saved and waited till it says its done. I have tried clicking new and then choosing to save scene at the prompt then waiting till it finishes saving and clears the screen, Heck I have even tried closing the program choosing save scene at the prompt and and them waiting till the whole program closes down then reopening daz and opening the scene i just saved and still nothing that I changed from the original save was kept. It’s right back to the way it was before I spent an hour editing the scene.  I have tried it with several different files and the only way I can get it to save the changes is to give the file a whole new name which of course leaves me with multiple copies of the same file cluttering my file system and that is not for making a Happy camper. 

 Signature 

“We’re born alone, we live alone, we die alone. Only through our love and friendship can we create the illusion for the moment that we’re not alone.”

Orson Welles

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2012 03:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7082
Joined  2005-08-15

I cannot replicate that behaviour at all, on Win 7 64 bit.  I have saved a scene, as a test, four times, each time adding to the scene.  I have pressed ‘New’, reloaded the scene, and it is as it should be.  I also added more things, exited DS4, reloaded DS4, reloaded the scene, and once again, it was as it should be.  Do you always get a warning about overwriting the previous file when you save with the same filename?

Where are you saving your Scenes to?  Does the Log File give any indication taht it has not saved correctly?

What version are you using, Help > About DAZ Studio?  Is it the 32 bit or 64 bit version, and what OS are you using?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2012 04:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  949
Joined  2007-01-04

Going on a bit of a wild hunch but if you go “Edit > Preferences > General tab” do you see anything in the authorship information window ?

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2012 04:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7082
Joined  2005-08-15

I saw a post in these forums where that was put forward as a possible cause for Save/Save As problems, but I don’t have any authorship information in my Preferences either, and I don;t have any problems saving.  It is possible that it could be a problem for some users on some setups.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2012 05:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15717
Joined  2003-10-09

The only thing authorship does is allow you to save your own scenes without having to go through a file dialogue. Without authorship info every save works as a save as. Not being able to save at all sounds like a different issue.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2012 07:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2010-01-14

good morning folks

first off thank you for the help. now on to it.  I am using win 7 64 on a athlon p340 2.20ghz with 4 gig mem. my literary is on an external 500 gig Western digital my book . the problem i seem to have narrowed down to files that were originally saved as .daz files that i have modded and then re-saved as .duf’‘s .  when i go back and mod them some more by adding content that was saved also as .daz when i try to save it says do i want to overwrite the previous file. I answer yes it finishes its stuff and when I go back and reopen the file I find it did not save any of the previous changes.

my situation is that i am in the middle of making a commic book and have many sceans and charicters saved so I don’t have to make them from scratch each time I make a new page. as I start a new page I pull up a sean and then add charicters. change clothing and so on and so forth. not all of this can be done at one time so i have to save and come back later to finish and what I am finding is all the work I do in the previous session is not getting saved . very frustrating.

I hope this helps you to reproduce this bug and you can help me out.

btw there is no error message ond no indication of a problem in the log file.

 Signature 

“We’re born alone, we live alone, we die alone. Only through our love and friendship can we create the illusion for the moment that we’re not alone.”

Orson Welles

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2012 07:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2010-01-14

also no I do not have any authorship

 Signature 

“We’re born alone, we live alone, we die alone. Only through our love and friendship can we create the illusion for the moment that we’re not alone.”

Orson Welles

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2012 07:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7082
Joined  2005-08-15
seratfsg - 15 September 2012 07:47 AM

good morning folks

first off thank you for the help. now on to it.  I am using win 7 64 on a athlon p340 2.20ghz with 4 gig mem. my literary is on an external 500 gig Western digital my book . the problem i seem to have narrowed down to files that were originally saved as .daz files that i have modded and then re-saved as .duf’‘s .  when i go back and mod them some more by adding content that was saved also as .daz when i try to save it says do i want to overwrite the previous file. I answer yes it finishes its stuff and when I go back and reopen the file I find it did not save any of the previous changes.

my situation is that i am in the middle of making a commic book and have many sceans and charicters saved so I don’t have to make them from scratch each time I make a new page. as I start a new page I pull up a sean and then add charicters. change clothing and so on and so forth. not all of this can be done at one time so i have to save and come back later to finish and what I am finding is all the work I do in the previous session is not getting saved . very frustrating.

I hope this helps you to reproduce this bug and you can help me out.

btw there is no error message ond no indication of a problem in the log file.

I am not really clear what you are doing here

the problem i seem to have narrowed down to files that were originally saved as .daz files that i have modded and then re-saved as .duf’‘s .  when i go back and mod them some more by adding content that was saved also as .daz

How are you adding the content?  Are you merging a .DAZ file into a .DUF file?  That may be your problem.  Why not open and save any .DAZ files that you want to use as the new .DUF files first, then try merging them?


EDIT:

I just tried this myself.  If I open a .DUF scene file, and merge in a .DAZ file, it save for me as expected when I resave it again.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 3
1