Digital Art Zone

 
     
I have two questions please.
Posted: 27 May 2012 08:32 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2008-10-05

As for my first question, and I assume Carrara can do this, (Maybe with the layers thing.), is can I render Victoria 4, and all her clothes and accesories I have on her and the rest of the production frame transparent, or do I have to do that in post?

And number two.  I know this has been addressed before, but with the changeover and all to this new forum I am temporarily lost, lol.  Anyway, I am making a pier.  And I duplicated the first board of the deck all the way to the end.  But as you all know, that looks very fake.  How do I randomize the woodgrain setting from board to board?  (Sorry, no rendered pictures yet red face )

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 08:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  938
Joined  2006-06-12

Hello Misticwolf

If I understand you correctly, you want to render V4 clothed in a frame by herself?

Yes, you can do that a few different ways.

If you plan on putting a background in later, you can make a greenscreen background, then fade that out in post. That is what I do when I have wanted to do something of that nature.

 Signature 

There is a serious tendency toward capitalism among the well-to-do peasants.
Mao Tse-Tung

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 09:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2008-10-05

Thank you.  I have done this method before.  It works ok with the post software I have available.  I was just hoping Carrara could have output it with an opaque background.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 09:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  265
Joined  2005-08-20
tsarist - 27 May 2012 08:58 PM

Hello Misticwolf

If I understand you correctly, you want to render V4 clothed in a frame by herself?

Yes, you can do that a few different ways.

If you plan on putting a background in later, you can make a greenscreen background, then fade that out in post. That is what I do when I have wanted to do something of that nature.

Okay, why a greenscreen? Why not join the 21st century and the digital revolution and just turn on the Alpha Channel?

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 10:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1639
Joined  0

In the Assembly Room, click on SCENE and remove any backdrop or background
-
in the render room under FILE FORMAT tab:
render as PNG, and click on the two alpha options

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 10:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2008-10-05

Awesome.  Thanks, I am off to try that right now!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 11:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2008-10-05

That worked awesomely!  Massive amounts of thanks!  Pictures to follow when done.  I am working on a cover for my wife’s first book.

Profile