Digital Art Zone

 
   
13 of 51
13
New Daz-OptiTex Dynamic Clothes thread [Commercial]
Posted: 11 September 2012 03:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 181 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2009-04-21

I’m another one who hasn’t fully made the jump to Genesis yet-DS4 doesn’t always behave well on my system (although I guess I can try the 4.5 updates and see if that helps), and there aren’t enough geewhiz awesome new characters being made for V5 and M5 to tempt me yet.  But I own enough V4/M4 dynamics and have access to enough freebies to where I’m not feeling terribly left behind, if that makes any sense.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 05:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 182 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  451
Joined  2006-12-31

I don’t use Genesis either, usually I compose my scene in DS3 and use DS4 just to drape dynamic clothings and render the scene.
I was reading this thread here: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/7181/ and I think some dynamic shipwreck/castaway style pants, shirts, dresses etc., for both male and female, would be interesting. No problems if they’re for Genesis, I can always use them on Gen4 figures without conforming

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 05:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 183 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1436
Joined  2010-03-15
Silvhe - 11 September 2012 05:14 PM

I don’t use Genesis either, usually I compose my scene in DS3 and use DS4 just to drape dynamic clothings and render the scene.
I was reading this thread here: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/7181/ and I think some dynamic shipwreck/castaway style pants, shirts, dresses etc., for both male and female, would be interesting. No problems if they’re for Genesis, I can always use them on Gen4 figures without conforming


That’s an idea ... compose the majority of my scene in DS3, then hop over at the last minute to DS4 for the newer Dynamics. How does it affect the older Dynamic, that may have already been animated in the scene?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 06:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 184 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  451
Joined  2006-12-31
AidanaWillowRaven - 11 September 2012 05:24 PM
Silvhe - 11 September 2012 05:14 PM

I don’t use Genesis either, usually I compose my scene in DS3 and use DS4 just to drape dynamic clothings and render the scene.
I was reading this thread here: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/7181/ and I think some dynamic shipwreck/castaway style pants, shirts, dresses etc., for both male and female, would be interesting. No problems if they’re for Genesis, I can always use them on Gen4 figures without conforming


That’s an idea ... compose the majority of my scene in DS3, then hop over at the last minute to DS4 for the newer Dynamics. How does it affect the older Dynamic, that may have already been animated in the scene?

Yes, I do that mainly because I have my content categorized in DS3 (can’t really understand that metadata thing) and the Camera Pointer plugin that wasn’t never updated to DS4. If I have to use animated drape I do it all in DS4, I never tried to export it from DS3. I tend to avoid animated drape whenever possible, though smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 06:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 185 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1830
Joined  2005-12-31

Yes, I do that mainly because I have my content categorized in DS3 (can’t really understand that metadata thing) and the Camera Pointer plugin that wasn’t never updated to DS4

If your dead set to keep your old categorizing from 3 you can always put anything not for genesis there. Genesis stuff does have to go in 4. And while I could be wrong, I think the reason they never updated the camera pointer is because it was incorporated in 4.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 06:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 186 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1436
Joined  2010-03-15

Now, Genesis clothes do not need to be used on genesis, do they? I can still use them on v4 if I open my scene in DS4 after completing everything but the drape, right? I’m assuming the animated drapes work the same way they do in DS3?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 06:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 187 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  451
Joined  2006-12-31
Khory - 11 September 2012 06:21 PM

Yes, I do that mainly because I have my content categorized in DS3 (can’t really understand that metadata thing) and the Camera Pointer plugin that wasn’t never updated to DS4

If your dead set to keep your old categorizing from 3 you can always put anything not for genesis there. Genesis stuff does have to go in 4. And while I could be wrong, I think the reason they never updated the camera pointer is because it was incorporated in 4.

Keeping my old categorization from DS3 is a real must, I have so many things in my content folders that a re-categorizing will last months. For the Camera Pointer, well… probably I have to read the DS4 manual more thoroughly, I didn’t know that LOL Seriously, DS4 has some (very few) functions of the Camera Pointer but no, it isn’t incorporated in it.
Apologies to Martin, we’re going a bit Off topic

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 06:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 188 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1436
Joined  2010-03-15
Silvhe - 11 September 2012 06:13 PM
AidanaWillowRaven - 11 September 2012 05:24 PM
Silvhe - 11 September 2012 05:14 PM

I don’t use Genesis either, usually I compose my scene in DS3 and use DS4 just to drape dynamic clothings and render the scene.
I was reading this thread here: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/7181/ and I think some dynamic shipwreck/castaway style pants, shirts, dresses etc., for both male and female, would be interesting. No problems if they’re for Genesis, I can always use them on Gen4 figures without conforming


That’s an idea ... compose the majority of my scene in DS3, then hop over at the last minute to DS4 for the newer Dynamics. How does it affect the older Dynamic, that may have already been animated in the scene?

Yes, I do that mainly because I have my content categorized in DS3 (can’t really understand that metadata thing) and the Camera Pointer plugin that wasn’t never updated to DS4. If I have to use animated drape I do it all in DS4, I never tried to export it from DS3. I tend to avoid animated drape whenever possible, though smile


Yeah, I customize my ‘filing’, too. I can’t find anything while in DS4 ... lol ... stuff I just saw in DS3, that I know I have. I don’t have time to spend finding every little thing that I need for a scene. At $700+ per book cover, that often needs done in 48 hours, and I tend to want at least four hours a night of sleep, I just can’t afford to hunt n peck.


I do, however, like how I can export something as a cr2 file, rather than always an obj. But that only works part of the time, too.

 

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 06:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 189 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  451
Joined  2006-12-31
AidanaWillowRaven - 11 September 2012 06:37 PM

Now, Genesis clothes do not need to be used on genesis, do they? I can still use them on v4 if I open my scene in DS4 after completing everything but the drape, right? I’m assuming the animated drapes work the same way they do in DS3?

I don’t have any Genesis clothing but I think it should work, you can’t conform a Genesis item on V4 but an animated drape (or posing the clothing independently) should be ok. Yes, the animated drape is the same as in DS3

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 06:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 190 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1436
Joined  2010-03-15
Silvhe - 11 September 2012 06:47 PM
AidanaWillowRaven - 11 September 2012 06:37 PM

Now, Genesis clothes do not need to be used on genesis, do they? I can still use them on v4 if I open my scene in DS4 after completing everything but the drape, right? I’m assuming the animated drapes work the same way they do in DS3?

I don’t have any Genesis clothing but I think it should work, you can’t conform a Genesis item on V4 but an animated drape (or posing the clothing independently) should be ok. Yes, the animated drape is the same as in DS3


I don’t have any gen clothes, either, but if I can find a work-around, allowing me to use gen clothes on V4/M4, I’d have more options open to me.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 08:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 191 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  311
Joined  2003-10-09
OptiTex - 06 September 2012 11:52 PM
Ikyoto - 06 September 2012 04:49 PM

Towels. Male and female towels that are essentially cloth tubes that wrap around the chest or hips and have a slit in the side where they over lap. Something like http://www.daz3d.com/shop/v4-towel-set

A version for men and women would be something I’d buy right off.

One of the PA’s is working on this, I will ask when this will be expected to be ready.

The free skirt works, but I’ve never seen my wife walk from the shower to the bedroom with a towel only around her waist…. come to think of it, I usually don’t wrap one around my waist unless someone happened to leave an area rug hanging on the rack. I’ve got a LOT of waist to wrap.

 Signature 

Disrupting trains of thought since…. ohhh shiney!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 09:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 192 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8971
Joined  2007-11-06
Silvhe - 11 September 2012 06:41 PM
Khory - 11 September 2012 06:21 PM

Yes, I do that mainly because I have my content categorized in DS3 (can’t really understand that metadata thing) and the Camera Pointer plugin that wasn’t never updated to DS4

If your dead set to keep your old categorizing from 3 you can always put anything not for genesis there. Genesis stuff does have to go in 4. And while I could be wrong, I think the reason they never updated the camera pointer is because it was incorporated in 4.

Keeping my old categorization from DS3 is a real must, I have so many things in my content folders that a re-categorizing will last months. For the Camera Pointer, well… probably I have to read the DS4 manual more thoroughly, I didn’t know that LOL Seriously, DS4 has some (very few) functions of the Camera Pointer but no, it isn’t incorporated in it.
Apologies to Martin, we’re going a bit Off topic

I categorize in DS3 and then migrate the database to DS4, use the same categories.  Only thing I categorize in DS4 is .dsf/.duf files, and I categorize them into the same category structure I use in DS3.

Some of the Camera Pointer features were incorporated in DS3 and DS4.  Sadly, it doesn’t sound like DreamLight is interested in updating his plugins.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 10:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 193 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1347
Joined  2010-03-01
eblank - 11 September 2012 12:26 PM

I just uploaded 7 simple textures for the Granddad Shirt: http://www.sharecg.com/v/64652/view/21/DAZ-Studio/7-simple-textures

I just wanted to say thank you Martin and eblank for some wonderful freebies. Having the Granddad Shirt has filled a hole in M4’s wardrobe.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2012 10:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 194 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  56
Joined  2009-04-20
Silvhe - 11 September 2012 05:14 PM

I don’t use Genesis either, usually I compose my scene in DS3 and use DS4 just to drape dynamic clothings and render the scene.
I was reading this thread here: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/7181/ and I think some dynamic shipwreck/castaway style pants, shirts, dresses etc., for both male and female, would be interesting. No problems if they’re for Genesis, I can always use them on Gen4 figures without conforming

sure

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 03:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 195 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  627
Joined  2007-12-04

lost notices for the thread again - but need to say thank you for updating the freebies to genesis, very grateful! smile

 Signature 

Follow me on facebook, check out my website or find my freebies here.
Don’t forget to have a look at The Wizard’s Library, my multi-figure Daz scene.

Profile
 
 
   
13 of 51
13