Digital Art Zone

 
     
I can’t re-open saved scenes
Posted: 04 September 2012 01:21 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  59
Joined  2007-05-09

I’m using Daz 4.5 and every time I try to save a scene, it will tell me it’s successfully saved, and I can see it there in my library, but when I try to open it, it starts telling me that vital components are missing, it just tells me they’re missing and doesn’t give me any option to point it to the right directory, so then it opens half of a broken scene with no characters in it. This is getting really annoying. This isn’t even a case of stuff having gotten moved, I can save a scene, close it, and then open it again immediately and it gives me the exact same results.

So, what’s wrong with my saving function and how do I make it stop doing that?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 06:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2866
Joined  2004-04-14

Where are you saving the scene files to?

Where is your DAZ Content loacated on the hard drive (specifically where the Data folder is)

What is in the scene that you are saving?

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 09:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  59
Joined  2007-05-09

When I do ‘save as> scene’ it defaults to a .duf file, and if I check the ‘Save as type:’ drop, that’s the only format it shows as available. With a previous download of DS4, it was saving them as .daz files.

I’m saving them in My Documents>Daz 3D>Studio>My Library>Scenes, which is where the default settings on my installer set up the scenes folder.

This is happening with everything I try to save. They don’t have animation in them or anything yet, just posed characters.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 12:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14312
Joined  2003-10-09

Exactly what is it not finding - Poser content, or old DS content (.dso) or new DS content (.dsf)?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 01:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8697
Joined  2007-11-06

Go to Edit > Preferences > Content Library > Content Directory Manager, expand the DS and Poser formats, and post a screenshot.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile