Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 3
2
Cyborg M4
Posted: 03 September 2012 12:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  433
Joined  2012-04-01

I was just about ready to press the buy button, when I saw this comment at facebook:
“David Thompson downloaded no probs.. doesn’t work in Carrara though! :-(”

Can anyone try this in Carrara?

Assuming the thread is about
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/new-releases/cyborg-model-4

 Signature 

Everything about Carrara: http://www.carraracafe.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 September 2012 01:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  557
Joined  2004-11-04

Hi Folks, I’m glad everyone is playing with it. The Fit to figure is with M4, he comes in with his feet already posed and not zeroed. So, when you fit him to the Cyborg, the feet get over posed. Zeroing M4 before fitting him to the Cyborg should take care of any problems.

Also, with some of M4’s poses, there are key issues with the trans x,y,z (ie: k 0 0 .2876276) which causes the feet and hands to detach. Daz didn’t want to fix every M4 pose so I made a forced .cr2. If you use this .cr2 in DS4+ it will ast you if you want to use limits (yes).

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?6c42g80mo246ng3

I tried to make this model as compatible with M4 as possible, just take note, some poses have junk saved in them that may have undesired effects. Also, he has a lot more bones (parts) then M4 wink

 Signature 

DZ FIRE’S
MASTER MODELS

Click HERE to get started.
Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 September 2012 02:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2007-08-12

I had a lot of fun playing with this guy today. It’s definitely the type of character I tend to enjoy. smile A larger version is over at DeviantArt: http://fav.me/d5dkmwd

Image Attachments
cyberdoom_web.jpg
 Signature 

William ’ Shaggy’ Chrapcynski
http://www.bsodcomic.net

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 08:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16

I thought you were going to make a Genesis version of this.

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 09:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2011-05-15
3drendero - 03 September 2012 12:45 PM

I was just about ready to press the buy button, when I saw this comment at facebook:
“David Thompson downloaded no probs.. doesn’t work in Carrara though! :-(”

Can anyone try this in Carrara?

Assuming the thread is about
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/new-releases/cyborg-model-4

Works fine in my Carrara. Here’s a quick render.

Flipping through the shaders and textures trying to locate the half-M4/half-cyborg doohickey.

He reacts exactly to M4 animations and poses as well.

 

Image Attachments
Cyborg_Test.jpg
 Signature 

Swing by and Subscribe: http://www.youtube.com/dumpprep

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 09:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2011-05-15

I dunno much about polygons and all that business, but for some reason this guy renders hella fast! :D

I usually do more toon-style rendering stuff, which I’m sure I’ll do with him, so I’m not a crazy texture person. But for as fast as he renders, considering he’s metallic, it’s pretty awesome. smile

 Signature 

Swing by and Subscribe: http://www.youtube.com/dumpprep

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 10:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2011-05-15
DzFire - 03 September 2012 01:34 PM

Hi Folks, I’m glad everyone is playing with it. The Fit to figure is with M4, he comes in with his feet already posed and not zeroed. So, when you fit him to the Cyborg, the feet get over posed. Zeroing M4 before fitting him to the Cyborg should take care of any problems.

Also, with some of M4’s poses, there are key issues with the trans x,y,z (ie: k 0 0 .2876276) which causes the feet and hands to detach. Daz didn’t want to fix every M4 pose so I made a forced .cr2. If you use this .cr2 in DS4+ it will ast you if you want to use limits (yes).

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?6c42g80mo246ng3

I tried to make this model as compatible with M4 as possible, just take note, some poses have junk saved in them that may have undesired effects. Also, he has a lot more bones (parts) then M4 wink

Hiya—I’m trying to find how to blend this figure with M4. Not seeing it anywhere. Is it some special device? I only use Carrara.

I could probably layer M4 and this character, link them in the hierarchy and then “invisible” M4’s arms and legs, but that wouldn’t help me on the face. How’d you make that happen?

Thanks! smile

 Signature 

Swing by and Subscribe: http://www.youtube.com/dumpprep

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 10:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  557
Joined  2004-11-04

For the face, in DS I used a magnet to push the face/head in. First time I used one and took about a minute to set up.

 Signature 

DZ FIRE’S
MASTER MODELS

Click HERE to get started.
Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 01:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  433
Joined  2012-04-01

BCRice, thank you for the quick answer.

Just bought the CyberM4 and did my first Carrara render of him, looks ok for a 5 minute job, but some of the leg pistons got detached…

/Edit Could not resist, added another pose, some pistons are loose again..

DzFire, could you explain once more what sort of bugs the attached file above will help with?

Image Attachments
cyberm4_elitescene.jpgcyberm4_elitescene2.jpg
 Signature 

Everything about Carrara: http://www.carraracafe.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 01:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  557
Joined  2004-11-04
3drendero - 04 September 2012 01:00 PM

BCRice, thank you for the quick answer.

Just bought the CyberM4 and did my first Carrara render of him, looks ok for a 5 minute job, but some of the leg pistons got detached…

/Edit Could not resist, added another pose, some pistons are loose again..

DzFire, could you explain once more what sort of bugs the attached file above will help with?

You zeroed the figure. When that happens, it turns off the point at function for the pistons. Zero pose shouldn’t have that affect. You’ll need to save your pose, delete the figure and reload the figure and pose. wink

 Signature 

DZ FIRE’S
MASTER MODELS

Click HERE to get started.
Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 01:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2011-05-15
DzFire - 04 September 2012 10:24 AM

For the face, in DS I used a magnet to push the face/head in. First time I used one and took about a minute to set up.

Ah, gotchya. In Carrara we have something similar. I’ll give it a go. Thanks

 Signature 

Swing by and Subscribe: http://www.youtube.com/dumpprep

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 02:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2011-05-15

Did a super quick animation test of him. Again, he renders super fast. I’m going to have to look at the piston issue as well by his neck. But he’s fun regardless. wink

Go ahead and click HD.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ixgpZltihJs

 Signature 

Swing by and Subscribe: http://www.youtube.com/dumpprep

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 02:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  557
Joined  2004-11-04

Just remember, don’t zero the figure or the pistons will break and if asked, use the limits. The pistons and shafts need the ‘point at’ function enabled. smile

 Signature 

DZ FIRE’S
MASTER MODELS

Click HERE to get started.
Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 02:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  557
Joined  2004-11-04

Quick animation if you haven’t seen it already.

http://youtu.be/YpSG59McF0s

 Signature 

DZ FIRE’S
MASTER MODELS

Click HERE to get started.
Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 02:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  433
Joined  2012-04-01

Still having issues with detached pistons, though I can only follow your latest instruction partly.
I close down everything, load Cyborg, load M4 General Pose and instant busted piston. No zeroing, no nothing.

Still a noob in Carrara so I have not learned to save a pose, if that is essential.
Trying in Daz studio now… Yes, flawless in Daz Studio, seems to be an issue with Carrara 8.1 Pro, trying the 8.5 beta some other time…

 Signature 

Everything about Carrara: http://www.carraracafe.com/

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2