Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 8
1
Poser Newbie Thread
Posted: 27 May 2012 02:19 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2088
Joined  2003-10-09

Ok, I’ve been working in Poser since version 3. Poser is my main go to program when it comes to 3D. So I figured I’d start a thread for anyone new to Poser or anyone who has Poser questions they need help with. Anyone is welcome to offer helpful hints, tips or general Poser knowledge.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 06:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  76
Joined  2007-09-10

I inadvertently overwrote ALL my PROP FILES that came with Poser 8 yesterday with the prop file of an old content folder I was trying to move into my Poser 8 Runtime Folder.  How can I recover those Prop Files? I am wiling to delete Poser 8 from my hard drive and then install it again since I am just beginning to use Poser I don’t have any new content yet that I will lose by doing this. However, before attempting that solution I thought I’d ask if there is an alternative and also will Poser allow me to reinstall? (I have a Mac OS X.). Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 11:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2088
Joined  2003-10-09

i’m rather unfamiliar with Macs, but i can try to help.

I believe the Poser 8 program and content had separate installers, so you should be able to recover it just by reinstalling the content portion

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 11:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7681
Joined  2006-03-19

I’m unfamiliar with Poser 8. I went from 7 to 2010 then 2012. But with 2010 the content was a separate installer. You can go to their website and see if it is offered.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 01:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5592
Joined  2005-08-29
Xfitz - 27 May 2012 06:10 PM

I inadvertently overwrote ALL my PROP FILES that came with Poser 8 yesterday with the prop file of an old content folder I was trying to move into my Poser 8 Runtime Folder.  How can I recover those Prop Files? I am wiling to delete Poser 8 from my hard drive and then install it again since I am just beginning to use Poser I don’t have any new content yet that I will lose by doing this. However, before attempting that solution I thought I’d ask if there is an alternative and also will Poser allow me to reinstall? (I have a Mac OS X.). Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

First I ahev to say that even as I have Poser 2010 I’m not a “Poser user”. But it sounds like you moved something to your Poser xx(Runtime/Libraries/ that was named Props and it was overwritten.

If you have TimeMachine active and backup of that directory you would be able to just restore from a previous timepoint, othewise I know there is a P8 Content Update download, but I think it require the original content to be intact.

I would say Reinstall P8; I dont remember if the installer has a separate installer option for content only.

/ Totte

 

 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 10:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2088
Joined  2003-10-09

got it figured out yet Xfitz?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 10:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2088
Joined  2003-10-09

I am planning on doing some tutorials and such for this thread, but i’m kind of waiting till they fix the image resize thing so I can post larger images

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 06:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  76
Joined  2007-09-10
LycanthropeX - 30 May 2012 10:04 AM

got it figured out yet Xfitz?

Am re-installing both Poser 8 and Daz 4 and hopefully that will get me back to the starting line. I have learned that I should back up my files.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 06:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  622
Joined  2004-12-14
Xfitz - 30 May 2012 06:32 PM
LycanthropeX - 30 May 2012 10:04 AM

got it figured out yet Xfitz?

Am re-installing both Poser 8 and Daz 4 and hopefully that will get me back to the starting line. I have learned that I should back up my files.

Separate runtimes are your friend.

 

 Signature 

“Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored” - Aldous Huxley

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 June 2012 02:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2088
Joined  2003-10-09

I have my runtime backed up in a few places

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 June 2012 10:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7681
Joined  2006-03-19

I’ve got a couple runtimes and backed up in two different places.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 12:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  130
Joined  2008-05-26

If I change my background color in Poser(9) and render it/‘save it (as png) how come the bg color is not kept? It changes to whitish.  Is it because it is saved as png?  Is there a way I can get my preferred choice of bg color to be saved as part of the scene?

 Signature 

Never let ‘em see you sweat wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 05:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2088
Joined  2003-10-09

png format makes the bg transparent, try saving as a jpg

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 05:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2088
Joined  2003-10-09

i use the png format a lot because i like to render my scenes in bits and pieces, then paste them all together in a 2D ap like photoshop, paint shop pro or gimp.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 07:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  130
Joined  2008-05-26
LycanthropeX - 08 June 2012 05:52 AM

png format makes the bg transparent, try saving as a jpg

I figured as much.  I didn’t realize there is an option to save as a jpg.  I thought Poser only saves in png.  Duh@me!  Many thanks.

 Signature 

Never let ‘em see you sweat wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 07:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  130
Joined  2008-05-26
LycanthropeX - 08 June 2012 05:53 AM

i use the png format a lot because i like to render my scenes in bits and pieces, then paste them all together in a 2D ap like photoshop, paint shop pro or gimp.

And thanks for this tip as well.  I never thought of doing that, which actually makes a lot of sense!

 Signature 

Never let ‘em see you sweat wink

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 8
1