Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
Strange Problem with Transfer Utility
Posted: 03 September 2012 08:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  105
Joined  2003-10-09
kitakoredaz - 03 September 2012 09:29 AM

would not you try to change other option of transfer utility?
eg check off transfer morph from projection template.


I just tried that, but got the exact same result.

kitakoredaz - 03 September 2012 09:29 AM

and which ever you check remove unused bones option,
they often remain some bones which has no means of target figure

(so you get some no use pare bones r thins or l thins,,etc

I don’t see a “remove unused bones” option anywhere… where is that?

kitakoredaz - 03 September 2012 09:29 AM

have you ever seen duplicate ID erroer when you saved your transfered figure?,

Nope!

kitakoredaz - 03 September 2012 09:29 AM

you can check the bones weight map assigned how,,
and you can check and delete scale weight map,,  select the bone in scene tab,
I think,, if you delete scale weight map, assigend vertexs must be default scale,,
by wieght map tool.

I unfortunately have no idea what is going on there… I don’t hang out in that “build” screen, though it looks pretty interesting… and somewhat scary!  wink

I really appreciate the suggestions, y’all!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 September 2012 09:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18
twalling - 03 September 2012 08:18 PM
niccipb - 03 September 2012 01:52 AM

Hi twalling…


If there is a morph you do want, then what I would do is load the original V4 version, dial the morph to 100% and export as OBJ, then use MLP to load the morph into the ‘auto-fitted’ version.

Hope this helps… smile

It looked like this was going to work, I exported the V4 version with the morphs dialed up to 100% as an OBJ, then I autofitted the shorts to Hitomi and then transferred the morphs over to the autofitted version of the shorts.  It worked, but when I dialed in the morph, the shorts reverted to the pre-autofitted shape… with the morphs applied, but still conforming to V4’s shape, not Hitomis.


Hi…

Yes that was most likely going to happen… the original morphs were shaped off of V4 and importing them in through morph loader has applied those shapes. ( Should have mentioned that before, sorry… red face )

Running items though the transfer utility to retain the morphs (or auto-fit in 4.5) does adjust them against the default Genesis to some degree, making them abit more useful, however this use of the transfer utility is a work-around and not it’s intended purpose. That’s why things like this can happen along with the extra bones.

The transfer utility in 4.0 can be really fussy about only transferring morphs. Sometimes it doesn’t really want to do it without transferring everything else.

If you can’t get the morphs that you want, can I suggest applying a smoothing modifier to the shorts to get a better fit to the Hitomi shape.

Or you can try to fix the “abdomen” bone in the original V4 version of the shorts. There is probably something there that is causing the transfer utility to drop the parameters.

nicci… smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 September 2012 11:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

I think you have triax figure which riged and weight mapped badly but keeping original morph ,(I know you got it)
and you have good auto-fitted triax clothing but it is without original morphs of clothing.

I think you can transfer only original morphs from corrupted clothing ,,
to your auto-fitted figure, by transfer utility. I think.rolleyes

source = your corrupted figure , target = your good auto-fitted figure,
then transfer only morphs from source,,,

I think morph is just delta of vertex movements, so it can not effect the default shape of target figure.

I do not mean you should use transfer utility, but I answer some question,,

1 about transfer utility extended options

many case as you know Extended options visible , after you set source figure, and target figure,
and select the one of general option in transfer utility tool window.

you can choose “Remove unused bone” option by “weight maps” (general option)
(in ds 4.5, but I remember there were same option,in ds 4.0, 3 pro, but it can not work perfectly)


2 I understand,, but there is nothing you scare when you just tweak your figure about many tools, (ofcourse you need to save before,,)
so try to remove some bone, manually,
and if the figure exprode, you just delete it , and load again ^^;  do not care at all!! 
no need scare anyting without save the bad status.

window tabs>joint editor or open tool setting pane. and select joint editor (bone mark,,)

you can remove, adjust or make new bones by joint editor,,,

select the bone in scene tab, and on 3D view , where you want,  right click>delete>delete bone

and if adjust rigs to the figure shape, edit>adjust Rigging to the shape,,

4 about weight map tool,,,
window tabs>weight map Brush or select weight map Brush in tools tab.

you can adjust or make new weight map of each node(bones)

if you select bones on scene tab , (I recommend select node in scene tab)
you can see bone name on weight map pane. (like a picture)

one bone(node) has some weight maps, (x,y,z triasix, and scale, buldge,,
but now you just think about scale weight maps.

check, the bone name ,(in this case abdoman (not visible?)))
then select “scale” on weight map tool pane.

if the scale prolbem is caused from the bone,  there must be scale weight map.
or not?!!!!

if there is scale map, and you can select it,,
you do not need to think about “unused maps” button. now

just select scale, ( click) then, push “Remove selected”
exproded? ><;  or??

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2012 10:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18
kitakoredaz - 03 September 2012 11:44 PM

I think you have triax figure which riged and weight mapped badly but keeping original morph ,(I know you got it)
and you have good auto-fitted triax clothing but it is without original morphs of clothing.

I think you can transfer only original morphs from corrupted clothing ,,
to your auto-fitted figure, by transfer utility. I think.rolleyes

source = your corrupted figure , target = your good auto-fitted figure,
then transfer only morphs from source,,,

I think morph is just delta of vertex movements, so it can not effect the default shape of target figure.

I do not mean you should use transfer utility, but I answer some question,,

1 about transfer utility extended options

many case as you know Extended options visible , after you set source figure, and target figure,
and select the one of general option in transfer utility tool window

This should work and preserve the auto-fitted shape, the only problem would be if the scaling problem of the abdomen bone has changed the shape of the morphs.

It’s worth a try… smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2012 08:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  105
Joined  2003-10-09

I’ve just tried that, but when I tried to pick the “corrupted” figure as the source file, it does not show up in the drop-down menu as an option.  The autofitted version does, but the original does not.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2012 10:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

I am so sorry ,,because now I have not 4.0.3,,
so I can not try same as you do,,,

and think,,,  have you saved the auto-fitted figure as figure or prop?

in 4.5 we can save it as new triax figure for genesis,,so it is useful.
it means never return default shape if you have the figure “unfit” to genesis.
after once saved it as figure,, I do not remember if we could save it in ds 4.0.3.

you said import the shape obj by morph loader and applied it to hitomi shaped
auto-fitted clothing,, but if you can save the auto-fitted clothing as new figure for genesis,

you just make morph for genesis shape by your saved obj, the figure can auto follow after you change genesis,
with hitomi shape. ( though I think you understand already such things ,)

and could you save the broken figure as figure or prop file? not only save as daz sean.
because sometimes when I tweak again reformed figure by tranfer utility,
I need seved figure for right working,  not figure on the scene after transfered or just change triaxed,,

I want to see,if you may show how bones are arranged about corrupted figure,,
with scene tab hierarchy and 3D view,by pic.

but many case, leave it alone for a while and challenge again ,
you may find better answer I think.,,

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2012 12:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  907
Joined  2007-01-04

Jeez, no offence but this is like the blind leading the blind.

Lets go back to the start and do a simple spot of debugging.

Load your converted clothing, the one your having problems with, into an empty scene, does it load in properly or does it deform ?

You mentioned that it converts properly with autofit in 4.0, so if it loads in properly then start spinning morph dials and see if any of those cause the issue, if it loads deformed then check each morph to see if any are dialed, or get drastic and delete/move the items Morph folder from within the data folder structure, DSF file types only (just incase you’ve been foolish enough to save it as a .DAZ scene file).

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2012 06:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  105
Joined  2003-10-09
Bejaymac - 05 September 2012 12:40 PM

Jeez, no offence but this is like the blind leading the blind.

Lets go back to the start and do a simple spot of debugging.

None taken, but I’m just new to this and it’s the only error I’ve encountered with using the Transfer Utility.

Bejaymac - 05 September 2012 12:40 PM

Load your converted clothing, the one your having problems with, into an empty scene, does it load in properly or does it deform ?

You mentioned that it converts properly with autofit in 4.0, so if it loads in properly then start spinning morph dials and see if any of those cause the issue, if it loads deformed then check each morph to see if any are dialed, or get drastic and delete/move the items Morph folder from within the data folder structure, DSF file types only (just incase you’ve been foolish enough to save it as a .DAZ scene file).

The item converts perfectly with autofit in 4.0, but unfortunately autofit only makes the clothes fit, you lose the morphs.  That’s why I’ve been using the transfer utility.  I am usually able to get a perfect fit AND keep the morphs with that, but not with this one particular item.

I really do appreciate everybody trying to help out on this one!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2012 09:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  105
Joined  2003-10-09

Just by way of update, I’ve officially surrendered on this one.  I’m sure it’s some sort of glitch with that “abdomen” bone that the Transfer Utility does not like, but it seems like there isn’t an easy fix.  Maybe version 4.5, if I feel brave enough to upgrade, after the GenX plugin is updated, might be the solution.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2012 10:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Just a up date. The AutoFit in DS4.5P now keeps Morphs. That was fixed.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2012 04:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  0

Before final surrender try one more thing.
Go into the weight map editor and delete the scale weightmap from the abdomen bone.
I had the exact same problem with a clothing I made for V4 ages ago and just tried it on Genesis..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 September 2012 05:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2010-10-05
twalling - 08 September 2012 09:01 AM

Just by way of update, I’ve officially surrendered on this one.  I’m sure it’s some sort of glitch with that “abdomen” bone that the Transfer Utility does not like, but it seems like there isn’t an easy fix.  Maybe version 4.5, if I feel brave enough to upgrade, after the GenX plugin is updated, might be the solution.

hey, i think i may be able to help with your issues, im pretty good at troubleshooting, if you want me to help, download teamviewer and skype me at kokorosenshi

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2