Digital Art Zone

 
   
5 of 5
5
Daz Dynamics or Optiex thread?
Posted: 09 November 2012 06:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1155
Joined  2005-07-29
AidanaWillowRaven - 01 June 2012 08:05 PM

Since there still isn’t an Optitex/Daz Dynamics thread, I’ll show off my latest work here :D


I must say again ... I absolutely love Daz Dynamics. The only thing I could possibly complain about is there isn’t more to throw my money at ... lol.


More medieval / gothic / period styles, please, Martin :D :D :D For V4, M4 & K4. And I know you’ll only make them for DS3 for so long, but as long as you do, I’m buyin’ :D


This is the Maiden Fair Gown for Daz.

Wow! Stunning gown!

 Signature 

<End of transmission from Oz>
TUTORIAL - Creating a Genesis/G2F/G2M Full Body Morph for DAZ Studio Pro 4.6 by RKane_1
TUTORIAL - Creating a Genesis Partial Body Morph in DAZ Studio Pro 4 Using the DForm Tool by RKane_1
TUTORIAL - Applying Shaders by RKane_1 (as stolen blatantly from Jaderail)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 06:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 62 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1301
Joined  2010-03-15
RKane_1 - 09 November 2012 06:22 PM
AidanaWillowRaven - 01 June 2012 08:05 PM

Since there still isn’t an Optitex/Daz Dynamics thread, I’ll show off my latest work here :D


I must say again ... I absolutely love Daz Dynamics. The only thing I could possibly complain about is there isn’t more to throw my money at ... lol.


More medieval / gothic / period styles, please, Martin :D :D :D For V4, M4 & K4. And I know you’ll only make them for DS3 for so long, but as long as you do, I’m buyin’ :D


This is the Maiden Fair Gown for Daz.

Wow! Stunning gown!


It’s possibly my favorite gown :D Of course, I modified the transmap to show off more cleavage, but I absolutely love how it drapes and flows :D I am a huge fan and promoter of Martin’s work. Kinda why I panic when I can’t get it to work ... lol.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 06:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 63 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5211
Joined  2005-04-16
AidanaWillowRaven - 09 November 2012 05:56 PM
mjc1016 - 09 November 2012 05:37 PM

I know I can’t change your mind…but, V4/M4 and all their associated content work in 4.5…you just don’t get all the bells and whistles associated with Genesis if you use them, exclusively.

One, I don’t personally like the look of Genesis. I won’t really get into it in Martin’s thread or any other, because every time I do I earn enemies and get publicly chastised while at the same time I get dozens of secret emails from those that agree with me for the same reasons I was dumb enough to voice before. Genesis has a long way to go before I make that switch.

Two, I am not the only person to mention that a lot of the old runtime simply disappears once DS4 is open. Many people have mentioned in this forum and others that they put their scenes together in DS3 so they can find everything then open the all but draped and rendered scene in DS4 just for finish up, which looks like what I’ll have to do here since the $400 job that is waiting on me to do a simple drape of the a Daz Dynamic dress is waiting on my to get Daz to answer their phone so I can get the files I paid for ... lol.

I don’t mean to be dumping my frustration on ya’ll, none of this, including my prejudice against the ‘advancements and improvements’ made to Daz over the last year-plus have tarnished my view a bit. I just get testy when my livelihood is being messed with. Even a few days of a product not doing what I paid for it to do affects not only publishing deadlines but my reputation as a freelance artist. I get a little melodramatic.

Anyway, I can’t wait until Monday, so I guess I finish everything but the drape in DS3, then re-open the scene in DS4.5 to animate it, since that was the only version of the clothing control that was re-set.

Please save your scene elsewhere before you try to open it.  I think 4.5 doesn’t do well with 3.0 scene files.  I tried a few days ago and 4.5 crashed trying to open the scene file.  I was quite disappointed.  I don’t know if it damaged it in the process or not, but I thought I’d warn you just in case that also happens.

Dana

 Signature 

Old post count: 7511

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 07:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 64 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1301
Joined  2010-03-15
DanaTA - 09 November 2012 06:59 PM

Please save your scene elsewhere before you try to open it.  I think 4.5 doesn’t do well with 3.0 scene files.  I tried a few days ago and 4.5 crashed trying to open the scene file.  I was quite disappointed.  I don’t know if it damaged it in the process or not, but I thought I’d warn you just in case that also happens.

Dana

Ugh! Thanks for the tip.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 07:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 65 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
DanaTA - 09 November 2012 06:59 PM
AidanaWillowRaven - 09 November 2012 05:56 PM
mjc1016 - 09 November 2012 05:37 PM

I know I can’t change your mind…but, V4/M4 and all their associated content work in 4.5…you just don’t get all the bells and whistles associated with Genesis if you use them, exclusively.

One, I don’t personally like the look of Genesis. I won’t really get into it in Martin’s thread or any other, because every time I do I earn enemies and get publicly chastised while at the same time I get dozens of secret emails from those that agree with me for the same reasons I was dumb enough to voice before. Genesis has a long way to go before I make that switch.

Two, I am not the only person to mention that a lot of the old runtime simply disappears once DS4 is open. Many people have mentioned in this forum and others that they put their scenes together in DS3 so they can find everything then open the all but draped and rendered scene in DS4 just for finish up, which looks like what I’ll have to do here since the $400 job that is waiting on me to do a simple drape of the a Daz Dynamic dress is waiting on my to get Daz to answer their phone so I can get the files I paid for ... lol.

I don’t mean to be dumping my frustration on ya’ll, none of this, including my prejudice against the ‘advancements and improvements’ made to Daz over the last year-plus have tarnished my view a bit. I just get testy when my livelihood is being messed with. Even a few days of a product not doing what I paid for it to do affects not only publishing deadlines but my reputation as a freelance artist. I get a little melodramatic.

Anyway, I can’t wait until Monday, so I guess I finish everything but the drape in DS3, then re-open the scene in DS4.5 to animate it, since that was the only version of the clothing control that was re-set.

Please save your scene elsewhere before you try to open it.  I think 4.5 doesn’t do well with 3.0 scene files.  I tried a few days ago and 4.5 crashed trying to open the scene file.  I was quite disappointed.  I don’t know if it damaged it in the process or not, but I thought I’d warn you just in case that also happens.

Dana

I’m not sure if I’m just lucky or what, but I’ve had no problems with any of my DS3 scenes in 4.5.  I’ve even had some with elements that won’t load in DS4.5 (like the LuxrenderDS IBL light…it uses a deprecated method of creating a sphere) load and open with no problem.  In fact, I’ve saved the sphere as a scene subset, so I can use that IBL (mostly those presets) in 4.5.

What is is that people have in the scenes that’s causing so many fits?

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 08:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 66 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5211
Joined  2005-04-16

I wish I knew.  All I know is that I’ve seen others say the same thing.  I haven’t done really much with it, so my experience is not a true litmus test.

Dana

 Signature 

Old post count: 7511

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 November 2012 06:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 67 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  803
Joined  2007-01-08

The clothes changed in 3.0.1.73 (or something like that?), and we had a new version of the plug-in and had to redownload all clothes, remember? The scenes made before that do not work anymore, but that happened even in later versions of DS3, let alone in DS4.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 November 2012 08:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 68 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5211
Joined  2005-04-16
ReDave - 10 November 2012 06:22 AM

The clothes changed in 3.0.1.73 (or something like that?), and we had a new version of the plug-in and had to redownload all clothes, remember? The scenes made before that do not work anymore, but that happened even in later versions of DS3, let alone in DS4.

Since you didn’t quote, I don’t know if you’re talking to me or not.  The scene that crashed on me had no dynamics in it.

I think that older versions of things like this should be kept available for people who can’t run the newest, greatest versions of things.  Not everybody has a brand new computer.

Dana

 Signature 

Old post count: 7511

Profile
 
 
   
5 of 5
5