What exactly is this new worldbase item? I don't see any information about it in the forums

BiakoBiako Posts: 309
edited August 2012 in The Commons

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/new-releases/the-all-new-worldbase-xt-lushlands
Has anyone tried it out?

It looks enticing... but I wonder how well it runs on average to decent machines :-S


Do you just keep adding worlds or landscapes to it? How does it work.

I must know! :)

Post edited by Biako on
«134

Comments

  • deathwispdeathwisp Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    I have the original world base. It seems to work fine. Basically it is a background and ground layer that stretch wide.

    I am wondering if the original is compatible with the new backgrounds?

  • BiakoBiako Posts: 309
    edited December 1969

    deathwisp said:
    I have the original world base. It seems to work fine. Basically it is a background and ground layer that stretch wide.

    I am wondering if the original is compatible with the new backgrounds?

    Oh, so it's backgrounds. I see. Hm...

  • JaguarEllaJaguarElla Posts: 10,639
    edited December 1969

    I have Worldbase extreeme and the villiage addon, it is a skydome with a morphing terrain actually, like a huge cyclorama, good for animation, works well in Poser, not so much in Carrara though I have used it, need to modify bits like add glow to the sky texture and replicate spotlights on it to get it right.
    I have used it in iClone but you lose the morphing, have to choose your prefered shape before exporting the obj.
    My version only worked properly in Daz studio 3 by opening the pz3, have not tried it in 4.

  • zigraphixzigraphix Posts: 2,768
    edited August 2012

    I too would like to know if this is compatible at all with the previous Worldbase Xtreme Kit, which I have....

    Post edited by zigraphix on
  • JOdelJOdel Posts: 2,148
    edited December 1969

    I suspect you can use the old textures on both, but can't say for sure. I don't have the old one. The info indicated that it's chiefly for Poser. I get the impression that this new one is a re-work that takes advantage of the tech advances since DAZ Studio 2. In any case, the old DAZ textures sound like they re more low-res.

  • JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited August 2012

    I just read all three packs, the two add on packs say they need the New XT lush to work. Nothing mentioned about the older sets. I like the looks of this set I might just leap while the leaping is good.

    Post edited by Jaderail on
  • JOdelJOdel Posts: 2,148
    edited December 1969

    Yeah, the Lushlands is the new base set. I'm leaping too. Nice to have an environment that I can plop Andoria City into.

  • adamr001adamr001 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Pretty sure that this is new morphable geometry and is a different UV set than the original (it looks much, much bigger).

  • zigraphixzigraphix Posts: 2,768
    edited December 1969

    It's tempting. I'm on a very low budget this year, but I do find myself needing outdoor environments, and I suppose I shouldn't just always use Fober's The Lake and The Hills.... I'd like more information about the light sets, though. I see DS lights in the main package, but not the Winter and Desert add-ons, though it says "Light variations are included in the new DAZ Studio scenes, Ambient Occlusion is not available in DAZ Studio by default." (Eh? Doesn't UberEnv ship with DS now?)

  • JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Installed and Tested. DS4 only for the DS files. Loads Very fast and Renders very fast. Looks GREAT!

  • ZelrothZelroth Posts: 698
    edited December 1969

    hmm, perhaps I'll get it then. I need to be a bit choosier this year. Spent way too much money the last few months and wasn't ready for the PA sale to spring up. But scenery is definitely a more "needed" than other items may be.

  • JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    I just have to show this off. Default Hires load file, 12mm camera and Hi Render Settings. Rendered in about 5 minutes in DS4.5P.

    XT_Lush.png
    1000 x 1000 - 1M
  • wsterdanwsterdan Posts: 635
    edited December 1969

    Jaderail said:
    I just have to show this off. Default Hires load file, 12mm camera and Hi Render Settings. Rendered in about 5 minutes in DS4.5P.

    Very nice, thanks for posting! I was going to wait on it, but your sample and comments sold me on "now". ;-)

    Walt Sterdan

  • CypherFOXCypherFOX Posts: 2,343
    edited December 1969

    Greetings,
    I'm on the fence about this one also; all the renders, including the one above, look 'dark'. Add to that the lack of UberEnv support, and I start getting fidgety.


    Can someone render a daylit scene, with a person in it, to see what it looks like?


    -- Morgan

  • BiakoBiako Posts: 309
    edited December 1969

    Jaderail said:
    I just have to show this off. Default Hires load file, 12mm camera and Hi Render Settings. Rendered in about 5 minutes in DS4.5P.

    Not bad.

    Is it possible to mix a scene like this with one of Stonemason's cities? Cause that would be phenomenal for a superhero render.

    I really like how the sky looks. :)

  • JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Is it possible to mix a scene like this with one of Stonemason's cities? Cause that would be phenomenal for a superhero render. :)Yes, you can and yes it would.

    Can someone render a daylit scene, with a person in it, to see what it looks like?

    Here you go, DS scene three, Light setting three, default camera with light set to Ray Traced Shadows.

    Title: Following the Prey.

    XT_Following_Prey.png
    1000 x 1000 - 2M
  • CypherFOXCypherFOX Posts: 2,343
    edited December 1969

    Greetings,
    Thanks @Jaderail! There's still a slightly odd cast to the image, but it looks solid. Cyclorama, Millenium Environment, meet your new friend... ;)

    -- Morgan

  • ZwytZwyt Posts: 55
    edited December 1969

    I just bought the base set a couple of hours ago and I have been playing around with it some. I have to say that it is really nice and at the price that it is at right now it is even nicer. In just the tinkering with it that I have been able to do in the past hour and a half to two hours I can conclude the following.

    The skies and landscapes both look amazing.
    The lighting is good with the light sets at default but I found that better results can be achieved with a little bit of light tweaking (raising the intensity for some lights to give the scene more of a "daylight" look. Turning some kind of shadows on for the main light, they are off by default in all of the scenes that I tried.)
    Sometimes I found the image still rendered a little dark even after tweaking the lights (though further experimentation in this area may fix this), so what I did on a couple of images was run the rendered image through a light weight photo program like Irfanview and auto adjust colors and maybe sharpen the image just a tad.

    This set is just what I had been looking for though, it is a lot better than a cyclorama unless you just like using cycloramas. I can envision a lot of growth for this product as well. It is fertile ground for the creation of compatible light sets to get just the right feel, new scenery and props. All in all a very fine product.

    Charles

  • CathyMCathyM Posts: 193
    edited December 1969

    I too purchased this product and have been trying it out - I think it makes amazing scenery with it's provided light set, but when I try to go offroad and use a different light set (one that uses uberenvironment) I am running into problems. I'd really like to be able to use this set with these other light sets so I can change the time of day or the color, or just light up the foreground object I have put into the scene better. Does anyone know what is causing these lines to appear, and how I can fix it, other than obviously not using uberenvironment/alternate lighting? Thanks! :-) -Cathy

    Fence.jpg
    480 x 361 - 39K
    Hash_Marks.jpg
    480 x 361 - 40K
    What_Are_the_Lines.jpg
    748 x 358 - 79K
  • KhoryKhory Posts: 2,571
    edited December 1969

    Does anyone know what is causing these lines to appear, and how I can fix it, other than obviously not using uberenvironment/alternate lighting? Thanks!

    I don't have the product yet but that does remind me of an issue I was having with some dynamic clothes I was working on a while ago. It would happen when I really jacked up the smoothing in the surface settings and an uberenviroment light was used. I can't remember if displacement came into play as well or not. You might check the smoothing parameter and see if it is set really high.

  • PennamePenname Posts: 224
    edited December 1969

    I get those same lines with any other skydome when I use any uber environment lighting.

    I have the original Worldbase and I love it. They do warn that the grassy ground textures are tiled for DS and I found that a tweak to the tiling made them look much better than their default totally out of focus out of the box base.

    I also found the original very slow to navigate in because it's so huge.

    Cyclos can be sized up a bit but are definitely better for smaller sets, so I'm definitely considering this new one. . . Thanks for all the information, everyone.

  • IvyIvy Posts: 1,882
    edited September 2012

    http://www.daz3d.com/shop/new-releases/the-all-new-worldbase-xt-lushlands
    Has anyone tried it out?

    It looks enticing... but I wonder how well it runs on average to decent machines :-S


    Do you just keep adding worlds or landscapes to it? How does it work.

    I must know! :)

    one of my most favorite background props. works great in Poser and daz3 I can;t tell you how it works in daz4.5
    its works terrific in animation also.
    I used it in my Diane Dublin animation. i would highly recommend it

    Post edited by Ivy on
  • jerhamjerham Posts: 121
    edited December 1969

    Jaderail said:
    I just have to show this off. Default Hires load file, 12mm camera and Hi Render Settings. Rendered in about 5 minutes in DS4.5P.

    Not bad.

    Is it possible to mix a scene like this with one of Stonemason's cities? Cause that would be phenomenal for a superhero render.

    I really like how the sky looks. :)

    See below for an example. Was just experimenting with it and the stonemason Winter kingdom, already like this very much. It has some great possibility's :-)

    Stonemason.jpg
    1280 x 720 - 845K
  • verlsnakeverlsnake Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Is it a 360 degree environment ? So that I can use it without camera headaches in interactive Web 3D content ?

  • MelanieLMelanieL Posts: 1,784
    edited September 2012

    I really like this - have just downloaded the basic set at present (pretty large files) but a quick play impressed me so I just bought an add-on (not yet DL). Here's some quick examples - and yes, it is 360 degree capable, though the lights are directional so in some directions things look pretty dark unless you modify them.

    ETA: Having just seen jerham's quick Winter image, I'm glad I just bought the Snowlands expansion!

    WorldBase-Out-of-Box-2.jpg
    800 x 800 - 421K
    WorldBase-Out-of-Box-1.jpg
    800 x 800 - 401K
    Post edited by MelanieL on
  • DaleCar_06ae99e4f4DaleCar_06ae99e4f4 Posts: 141
    edited December 1969

    I'm getting some light patchwork in the mountsin background as well. Just added a distant light, with raytraced shadows on. It looks real good except for the faint lines. Probably have to take those out with a smudge brush

    A_walk_in_the_desert_LR.jpg
    2000 x 1032 - 331K
  • RenpatsuRenpatsu Posts: 802
    edited September 2012

    In my view something is definitely off, as I see dark marks above the trees even when using the default lighting of an unmodified !WorldBs-XT-1Def.daz scene when looking through the MAIN camera.

    When using UE2 I was able to get the lines on the hills/sky removed by using shaders that can disable occlusion, so e.g. UberSurface2, pwSurface2, but the marks above the trees remain and so far I couldn't figure out how to repair this.

    Edit: I am using Daz Studio Pro 4.5.0.114 at the moment.

    WorldBase.jpg
    600 x 480 - 177K
    Post edited by Renpatsu on
  • SpottedKittySpottedKitty Posts: 3,415
    edited December 1969

    Just bought and installed the lot, but I have no idea what I'm doing. There are way too many options identified from one another only by a string of letters, especially in the D|S lights folder. And with the latest (let's be honest) downright stupid idea by DAZ of not including the readme in the download, and now not including a link (that I can find, and if it even exists) to the online readme on the DAZ site...

    Anyone know what they're doing with this otherwise excellent set, or are we all just blundering along?

  • CathyMCathyM Posts: 193
    edited December 1969

    Hi Spotted Kitty! I know what you mean about being lost trying to decipher what the different settings mean - I think this product would benefit greatly by a basic user manual - but I do think it's definately worth buying and trying to figure out on your own!

    I did find a read me at http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/read_me/index/14880/start - but it seems to have basically the same info as the product page - maybe even LESS info.

    I think this product has ALOT of options that I don't even know how to use. :red: It certainly does produce some beautiful pictures, and I have been wishing for a product that had the middle ground options that this does. It has some really stunning skies as well. Maybe if we all keep adding hints here we can help each other with problems.

    I found turning off smoothing in the surfaces tab on the mountains and middle area (I think the fog) can SOMETIMES get rid of the hashmarks, if you are using uber lighting. Adding Uber lighting and/or light sets that use them can really add to rendering time too. The lights that come with the set seem really good, unless you want a night-time or special effect picture.

    Sorry I couldn't be of more help - it's fun trying out the different scenes though :) -Cathy
    Here's the Snowlands Pak readme: http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/read_me/index/14890/start
    And the Desertlands Pak as well: http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/read_me/index/14889/start

  • jerhamjerham Posts: 121
    edited September 2012

    Just bought and installed the lot, but I have no idea what I'm doing. There are way too many options identified from one another only by a string of letters, especially in the D|S lights folder. And with the latest (let's be honest) downright stupid idea by DAZ of not including the readme in the download, and now not including a link (that I can find, and if it even exists) to the online readme on the DAZ site...

    Anyone know what they're doing with this otherwise excellent set, or are we all just blundering along?

    Are you using the smart content and shaping tabs?

    If so i would want to suggest to use the Content library instead (DAZ Studio Formats->Props->Magix-101->Worldbase-XT) for applying mats, lights etc, they are better grouped and have a extra icon with what part to selects. For the shaping i prefer the parameters tab, i find these also clearer to use (select WB-Base in the scene and worldbase in the parameters tab).

    EDIT: Also keep in mind, if you installed both the DS File and the Poser file. The Poser specific lights also show up in the smart content in DAZ. The poser package contains an additional 8 lights (with names like 1Def-1Sun+IBL). These will not show if using the content library

    Post edited by jerham on
Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel