Digital Art Zone

 
     
DS4 Pro- What is this feature called and is there a way to turn it off?
Posted: 27 August 2012 01:37 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  615
Joined  2008-07-16

I’m seriously about to have one of those flashing light induced epileptic seizures that they always warn us about in video games…
Is this feature called surface selection?
When you move the cursor around the screen and material zones or prop parts become a highlighted orange…. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD is there a way to stop it? I know Poser does it too, but at least it is more of a wireframe or outline style… Moving around the screen on a large model to check for flaws is brutal.

Thanks in advance for any help on this subject…. seriously.

Image Attachments
SurfSelect.jpg
 Signature 

VISIT MY ShareCG FREEBIE GALLERY

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2012 01:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  326
Joined  2011-01-22

If I had access to my computer I’d be able to tell you in a second.

But yeah, you can definitely turn that off.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2012 01:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18

Hi…

Yes that’s the Surface Selection tool. on the Tool bar just select the one that looks like an arrow, which is the Node Selection tool or which ever other tool you prefer.

Arrow - node
Three cards - surface
Arrow with rings - universal manipulator
Bone - active pose

Can’t remember them all off hand though

Hope this helps… smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2012 02:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  326
Joined  2011-01-22
niccipb - 27 August 2012 01:57 PM

Hi…

Yes that’s the Surface Selection tool. on the Tool bar just select the one that looks like an arrow, which is the Node Selection tool or which ever other tool you prefer.

Arrow - node
Three cards - surface
Arrow with rings - universal manipulator
Bone - active pose

Can’t remember them all off hand though

Hope this helps… smile

Actually, prior to changing my settings, I recall the yellow highlight used to appear with the arrow node selected as well.

There’s a way to turn that off, but I forget exactly where the options settings are without having it in front of me :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2012 02:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18

You may be right on that… going by memory at work right now…

The tool setting can be changed in the Tool Settings pane (windows>panes(tabs)>Tool Settings)

Select a Selection Tool from the tool bar and then look at the setting in the Tool Settings pane. I believe it’s in a Drop-down menu

Hope this Helps… smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2012 02:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  615
Joined  2008-07-16

AH HA! YES! Thanks!... I got it… I’ll mess with the settings another time, but for now I set it to 5% opacity.  This is an eyeball and synapse saver! Thank you!

Image Attachments
SurfSelect2.jpg
 Signature 

VISIT MY ShareCG FREEBIE GALLERY

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2012 05:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8377
Joined  2007-11-06

Window > Tabs > Tool Settings, change Node Highlighting: Draw Style to Bounding Box Only.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 04:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2005-01-08
fixmypcmike - 27 August 2012 05:49 PM

Window > Tabs > Tool Settings, change Node Highlighting: Draw Style to Bounding Box Only.

Many thanks to your reply and the forum search tool. I was about to go whackadinghoy crazy every time I move my cursor over an item in my scene and have that yellow monstrosity selector come up. No offense to the development team of course. Been working with Studio since 2005. =^.^=

 Signature 

System specifications:
AMD FX 8150 3.61ghz
16GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3-2133 RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate X64 SP1
ASUS GTX 780 GPU
DS 4.6.0.18 Pro X64
DS 3.1.2.32 Advanced X64

Profile