Consistent crash in v4.5.0.114 pro

TheGreatESCapeTheGreatESCape Posts: 0
edited August 2012 in Daz Studio Discussion

Dell Inspiron M5010
AMD Phenom II N870 Triple-Core Processor 2.3 GHz
6GB RAM
Win 7 x64

Every time I set 3 0r 4 custom textures on the genesis model, the program crashes; must have tried it over 30 times. I've tried it slow and fast with almost everything else disabled on the system... Is this a known issue, or am I uniquely bestowed this wonderful glitch?


Thanks for taking the time to look,
~Eric

Adding an update 08/29/2012
I've gotten the same error seemingly at random a few times as well now. Found a workaround for now... simply set the compatibility mode for DS 4.5 pro to Vista SP 2, and I haven't had a crash since. Unfortunately, the speed of processing operations slowed way down as well. Still hoping to figure out exactly what's causing the blip and fixing it, but at least I can get things done for now. I'm posting this in case anyone else is having similar issues and might benefit..

Post edited by TheGreatESCape on

Comments

  • JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,356
    edited December 1969

    What does the log file say after the crash? Help > troubleshooting > View Log File.

    Are there any error messages?

  • TheGreatESCapeTheGreatESCape Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    What does the log file say after the crash? Help > troubleshooting > View Log File.

    Are there any error messages?

    Sorry, here's some specifics"

    via windows error report I get this (There's no record in the DAZ's log. It just cuts off and then the program start-up procedure repeats when I start it back up):
    Two Separate incidents.
    "
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: DAZStudio.exe
    Application Version: 4.5.0.114
    Application Timestamp: 502addc2
    Fault Module Name: QtCore4.dll
    Fault Module Version: 4.8.1.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4fb31765
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 0000000000153a1c

    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: DAZStudio.exe
    Application Version: 4.5.0.114
    Application Timestamp: 502addc2
    Fault Module Name: QtCore4.dll
    Fault Module Version: 4.8.1.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4fb31765
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 0000000000153182

    "

    Whole lot of crashing goin on :)

    As you can see, same culprit and exception code.

  • BejaymacBejaymac Posts: 1,044
    edited December 1969

    Your on a Dell craptop, so chances are it's your graphics chipset/card that's the problem.

    Start DS and go "Help > Troubleshooting > about your video card" and post here the first 6 lines you see in there.

  • TheGreatESCapeTheGreatESCape Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Bejaymac said:
    Your on a Dell craptop, so chances are it's your graphics chipset/card that's the problem.

    Start DS and go "Help > Troubleshooting > about your video card" and post here the first 6 lines you see in there.


    Here... a little more than the first 6 lines:

    "

    Current OpenGL Version:
    3.3.9833 Compatibility Profile Context


    OpenGL Provider:
    ATI Technologies Inc.


    Hardware:
    ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250


    Features:

    MultiTexturing
    Supported

    Shadow Map
    Supported

    Hardware Antialiasing
    Supported

    OpenGL Shading Language
    Supported

    Pixel Buffer
    Supported


    Pixel Buffer Size
    Not Enabled


    Maximum Number of Lights
    8

    Number of Texture Units
    8

    Maximum Texture Size
    8192 x 8192
    "

  • adamr001adamr001 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    On any of your custom textures, are you using less than 16bit color depth? Are you using pngs, jpgs, or tifs?

  • Sphinx MagooSphinx Magoo Posts: 317
    edited December 1969

    I have an odd question: Does this happen only with a specific product? Could you apply this custom texture to a different product without ill effect?

    (Sorry. Two questions, I know.)

  • TheGreatESCapeTheGreatESCape Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    adamr001 said:
    On any of your custom textures, are you using less than 16bit color depth? Are you using pngs, jpgs, or tifs?

    Hey... I am using 24 bit jpegs, or rather trying to :)

  • adamr001adamr001 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Okay, shouldn't be an issue with those. We know there are issues with 4 and 8 bit PNGs though. If you want you can PM me and I'd be happy to test those textures on my system to see if I can duplicate your crashing.

    Otherwise, you probably need to head over to http://bugs.daz3d.com (make an account if you don't have one already, it's different from your store/forum login, but I recommend you use the same name) and file a crash bug.

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel