Digital Art Zone

1 of 2
Input on a possible Cover Design
Posted: 26 August 2012 05:48 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  425
Joined  2012-08-14

Greetings all. I would like to get some input/feedback on my latest idea for a cover design.

This is primarily planned for an eBook novella (shorter than a novel but longer than a short story) featuring one of the sidekick characters from my Sci Fi novel ‘The Last Spartan: Different Paths.’ I’m putting the finishing touches on this story before it goes to editors and test readers next week.

Since I am a self-published author with limited funds, I’ve had to create my own cover designs. The first cover below, was the one I created in Photoshop using purchased items from Dreamstime. It is for my novel which came out in March (how I wish I had found DAZ back then). The cover isnt perfect but then, I wasn’t using DAZ and had to cobble it together. I might re-work this cover soon but atm it is still selling well. And as the old saying goes, if it isn’t broke, don’t touch it.

The second one, ‘The Last Spartan: DJ’s Tale’ is the new cover. Looking for input and suggestions for it.

Thanks.

Image Attachments
Last-Spartan-eBook-Cover-2.jpgDJs-Tale-Cover-1.jpg
 Signature 

Brotherlobo aka A.E. McCullough
Self-published Author and Hobbyist Designer

Checkout my website @ http://www.aemccullough.com
or on Amazon @ A.E. McCullough on Amazon
or ‘like’ me on Facebook @ A.E. McCullough on Facebook
or on deviantArt @  Brotherlobo @ deviantArt

Posted: 26 August 2012 07:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  959
Joined  2006-06-12

Hello A.E

I like the first cover.
In The second cover, the characters don’t stand out. They are too dark and blend in so much they really don’t catch my eye.

If you want, PM me. I can make a nice cover for you and won’t charge you (especially if I have what I need already on my computer).
Yep. Free.
All I ask is you give me credit for the work.

Signature