Digital Art Zone

 
     
Need help with rope animation
Posted: 27 May 2012 12:55 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2008-05-23

The original idea was to have a guy running with a bungee cord on his back that is anchored down at a wall like when you’re in one of those blow up bungee runs. The “bungee cord” is made of a multi segment cord with bones attached in regular intervals.

I want to be able to pin the cord to the wall and the runner so that when I pull on the actor with the active pose tool, the cord follows. The effect of gravity and stuff will be neglected for the moment, as well as the stretching of the bungee cord making it just a rope attached to the runner for right now.

Is there a proper way to do this?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 02:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4608
Joined  2004-07-01
blonny82 - 27 May 2012 12:55 AM

The original idea was to have a guy running with a bungee cord on his back that is anchored down at a wall like when you’re in one of those blow up bungee runs. The “bungee cord” is made of a multi segment cord with bones attached in regular intervals.

I want to be able to pin the cord to the wall and the runner so that when I pull on the actor with the active pose tool, the cord follows. The effect of gravity and stuff will be neglected for the moment, as well as the stretching of the bungee cord making it just a rope attached to the runner for right now.

Is there a proper way to do this?

you can’t just pull the actor - you will have to keyframe it yourself

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 09:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2008-05-23

I get pretty close to what I want by making the chest a parent of the rope, but when the chest moves the whole rope moves as well. When I pin the end of the rope to the wall and move the other end freely with the active pose tool it moves like how I want it to.

The problem is that I need permanent pinning so that no matter what the rope will not move at all from the wall and I can move the runner. If there’s no way to do this then, I guess I’m out of luck.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 10:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7169
Joined  2009-07-13

no help but you CAN do it in Carrara!

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile