Digital Art Zone

 
     
Carrara Complaints
Posted: 26 August 2012 12:01 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1059
Joined  2007-10-15

Well, since Stanley isn’t here I think we should all do our part to fill in and assume some of his duties. Which means complaints.

Well, not really, maybe some discussion of “I wish Carrara had…” or “I wish Carrara wasn’t so screwed up in this area…”. Y’know, stuff like that…

Okay, I’ll start…

If you’re gonna use any 3D app real seriously, you need to be able to sort thru and hide all the stuff you’re not using. Otherwise it makes your work (wait, make that “workflow”, cuz I know everyone here likes to use that term) very tedious and frustrating.

For example, when your character has a list of 3,586 morphs, and you’re only interested in 4 of them, there’s really no need to have to scroll thru all 3,586 of them just to find the one you’re using (ie, the one that’s set to something other than 0.0). Carrara now has a “filter” function that allows you to filter out some morphs, but that only gets you down to 1,263 morphs to scroll thru. You should be able to filter out/hide the morphs set at 0.0. Simple fix, infinite benefit, so the bang for the buck is astronomical. 

Another example: keyframes. There’s a filter in the Sequencer that sounds like it should filter out/hide all tracks that have no keyframes, but it doesn’t seem to do anything. Or anything useful. In any case, you should be able to show only those channels you’re actively working on, and get rid of/hide all the rest. Otherwise it’s just way too frustrating to even consider any serious animation work. If I’m only working on the Y rotation for the leg bones, why should I have to scroll thru 325,678 channels for all the bones and settings in the character? I shouldn’t. It’s just crazy.

Now, different subject. Forever it seems, I rarely/occasionally get a error when saving a scene, that says something useless like “Error on executing Save As”. Typical lazy programmer error message that tells the user absolutely nothing. AT LEAST give me some clues about where it scarfed. Maybe something like, “Error on executing Save As. It had something to do with textures, but that’s all I’m saying”. 

Okay, who’s next?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2012 05:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1387
Joined  2011-01-03
JoeMamma2000 - 26 August 2012 12:01 AM

I rarely/occasionally get a error when saving a scene, that says something useless like “Error on executing Save As”. Typical lazy programmer error message that tells the user absolutely nothing. AT LEAST give me some clues about where it scarfed. Maybe something like, “Error on executing Save As. It had something to do with textures, but that’s all I’m saying”.

Yeah, I have serious issues with that too. It rarely happens to me but damn do I get steamed when I see a useless error message. It is, as you describe, lazy programming.

Of course, my background in SQL Server has me spoiled. If a worker thread in SQL crashes, you usually get a helluva lot of information about exactly why it happened (admittedly, you may need Microsoft Support for some of it…but the data is there at least).

You raise a good point about about filtering morphs too.

I guess we can start hoping that Carrara 9 will have these improvements (due out some time just before I retire).

 Signature 

- Garstor
Australian-Canadian currently trapped in Texas (maintaining sanity with doses of Carrara, LightWave and PhotoShop)

My 3D art Flickr page for final or near-final images
My 3D art Flickr page for work-in-progress or experiments

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2012 08:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7682
Joined  2009-07-13

the single most annoying thing for me is not being able to see a 360 background image
even a pixellated version would help, having to spot render to line stuff up constantly gets old very quickly.
ok you can stick a huge sphere in with the image on in the glow channel instead but that does not work with shadowcatch.

otherwise, I’m cool cool smile

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2012 11:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  787
Joined  2003-10-09
wendy♥catz - 27 August 2012 08:37 AM

the single most annoying thing for me is not being able to see a 360 background image
even a pixellated version would help, having to spot render to line stuff up constantly gets old very quickly.
ok you can stick a huge sphere in with the image on in the glow channel instead but that does not work with shadowcatch.

otherwise, I’m cool cool smile

Yeah, I’ll second that one.  I usually just do a quick render, but that seems like a poor workaround.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2012 02:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

JOE MANN Is MANNLY giving you some payola to keep up the BEACHING for him in his absentee

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2012 04:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1059
Joined  2007-10-15

Okay guys, looks like Stanley is back, so as they say in the military:  “at ease” everyone. Thanks everyone for standing in for our buddy, and thank you for your service.

Profile