Digital Art Zone

 
   
5 of 13
5
DAZ Studio 4.5 Release Candidate Available Now
Posted: 28 May 2012 09:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  151
Joined  2008-11-18

Really confused as to why DAZ keeps making new features and neglecting the old ones that are bugged.
Reading over this thread it is obvious that the new features are flawed too.
Please stop it please,
Please stop adding new things and fix the old broken ones please.
.
Why the new Duff Files? They should at least be a choice for us if we want to use them or not.
I never had problems saving things with the other file types, why in the world would you remove the old file types and replace them with something flawed?
.
What I’m waiting for;
Add new (clothing) projection templets like dresses, shoes, hair etc. to the Transfer Utility
.
Option to remove the new list in the library, the one that has the “Formats” “Products” “Categories”  and such, I am not using the metadata so this new list only slows me down when I need to switch between the Studio and Poser Library’s
.
Simultaneous “Docked View Controls” and the “Camera Cube” like we once could in DS3?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 10:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 62 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  140
Joined  0
Richard Haseltine - 28 May 2012 07:15 AM
RCDeschene - 28 May 2012 06:26 AM

Anyone else getting error windows claiming Duplicate IDs when applying Smart Content onto Genesis?

Yes, this is an issue with some older content. The files may have been updated - many have - but if not I do have a fix script that deals with most of them here http://www.4shared.com/zip/oY0vbkJk/Fix_Duplicate_IDs.html

Not shure if it should be, but 4shared is asking me to ‘join or login’ when I try to download the file.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 01:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 63 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  131
Joined  2010-05-06
_____(Z)_____ - 28 May 2012 09:48 AM

Why the new Duff Files? They should at least be a choice for us if we want to use them or not.
I never had problems saving things with the other file types, why in the world would you remove the old file types and replace them with something flawed?

You can still save as *.daz using File/Save As/Deprecated/Scene (or Ctrl+Shift+S)
Those files seem to be real *.daz-files and work. smile

At first I was happy about the new files, cause it seemed that there was a real workflow with Carrara.
I’m still full of hope. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 01:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 64 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  23
Joined  2007-04-10
Richard Haseltine - 28 May 2012 07:05 AM
takezo_3001 - 27 May 2012 06:11 PM

Since the search function isn’t, errr…. Functioning, I would still like to post this question…

Is it possible to install a DS 4.5 Standard 32/64 along with my DS 4 Pro 64? As I think it would be better to allow this setup, especially since the majority of DS users here already have DS Pro 64 installed along with all of their plugins.

No, since they are different versions of the same application (the difference is which add-ons are enabled, and in fact your Pro serial will make the RC Pro too).

Thanks for that bit of info, I figured that was the case, just needed some confirmation. BTW, Congrats on your new promo!

Image Attachments
!_TZOKHEGIN2.jpg
 Signature 

^                      ^
This is my avatar…

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 06:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 65 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  42
Joined  2012-02-28
_____(Z)_____ - 28 May 2012 09:48 AM

Why the new Duff Files? They should at least be a choice for us if we want to use them or not.
I never had problems saving things with the other file types, why in the world would you remove the old file types and replace them with something flawed?

An unified file format is an enormous improvement, I, for one, welcome the change. Now I hope there is some reworking on the folder structure.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 07:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 66 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2007-09-04

I’m simply amazed at all the issues people are having with this version, it makes me pause before grabbing this.


I would like to make a general statement to DAZ as a whole, when putting out new versions of the program it’s not that difficult to have it install into a new program folder to allow one to run the older stable version along side the newer version. I have both DS3A and DS4Pro (the latest prior to the RC one) install on my unit and both work perfectly side-by-side at the SAME TIME, content folders are shared in My Docs and settings are of course separate in the AppData folders same could be easily done within the same major version numbers.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 03:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 67 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6128
Joined  2006-02-20
FroschGott - 28 May 2012 03:54 AM
fixmypcmike - 27 May 2012 10:04 AM

A number of items were updated in March and April for this issue—if resetting the download doesn’t give a newer version, please report it on the Bug Tracker.

Is there any list of updated files around?
In fact I don’t want to reset my downloads on a regular base in hope there might be any update.

The old update forum:
http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewforum.php?f=91

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 04:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 68 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  131
Joined  2010-05-06

Ah, thanx.
I’m gonna have a glance over it. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 05:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 69 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  95
Joined  2010-12-25

Just wondering, what use has the new Push modifier? It creates some depth on the mesh depending on how high you set the value there, but what use is intended for this one?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 07:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 70 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14716
Joined  2003-10-09
tekun - 28 May 2012 07:30 PM

I’m simply amazed at all the issues people are having with this version, it makes me pause before grabbing this.


I would like to make a general statement to DAZ as a whole, when putting out new versions of the program it’s not that difficult to have it install into a new program folder to allow one to run the older stable version along side the newer version. I have both DS3A and DS4Pro (the latest prior to the RC one) install on my unit and both work perfectly side-by-side at the SAME TIME, content folders are shared in My Docs and settings are of course separate in the AppData folders same could be easily done within the same major version numbers.

There seem to have been relatively few issues, as long as users allow for the fact that plugins need updating (but there weren’t many plugins updated to DS4 anyway). DS4.5 will also coexist with DS3 - what it won’t coexist with is an earlier version of DS4 - you need to remember that DS is more tightly linked to other things (such as the CMS) and has had content updates which may not be backward-compatible with the previous builds (and the CMS means you can’t have multiple content setups).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 07:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 71 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14716
Joined  2003-10-09
heinz0r - 29 May 2012 05:42 AM

Just wondering, what use has the new Push modifier? It creates some depth on the mesh depending on how high you set the value there, but what use is intended for this one?

I quoted some comments on this from the old thread at one point, but I’m not sure where the post has gone. It’s useful for making a quick body suit, or a hair overlay, or anything else where you want an offset copy of the base mesh.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 08:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 72 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  57
Joined  2005-11-13
Kyrla - 28 May 2012 09:42 AM
Kyrla - 27 May 2012 11:05 AM
Vos1327 - 26 May 2012 09:51 PM

Beregar—how’s this for a mess?  I installed 4,5 and now all of the .duf files are opening like this.  I only upgraded to 4.5 because I was having issues with the Supersuit—it kept crashing Daz 4.  At this point, I want my 4.0 back—this is miserable. Is it possible to reinstall DAZ 4?

I have the same mess with Victoria 5. All is fine but after saving and reloading the DUF file Victoria looks like the same like in Vos1327 picture.
Is there a way to fix that???
It can’t be that we always have to load the figure new, position it, put clothes on and and and…after saving and reloading.

no help for this???

It’s apparently fixed in a newer version if the root cause is same. I removed 4.5 but actually just reinstalled it after some kind soul pointed out here you can still save the files in older format. It actually seems to be a save format issue so if you keep saving the files in daz format instead of duf format while using 4.5 they work fine.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 09:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 73 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2010-11-24

thank you beregar - I will try that:-)

But I really wonder why nobody of the admins is helping and saying something to that…...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 01:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 74 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  64
Joined  2003-10-09

I not sure if this has been asked yet but, I had a quick question is there suppose to be a serial code for Mimic Live?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 02:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 75 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  145
Joined  2009-03-13
Fay68 - 29 May 2012 01:34 PM

I not sure if this has been asked yet but, I had a quick question is there suppose to be a serial code for Mimic Live?

GOOD QUESTION!

I would also like to know about Mimic Live. Infact…I’ve been asking about it for SEVERAL MONTHS now but it’s all good.

I would really, REALLY like an answer as to where Mimic Live is, I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve downloaded Mimic. It seems like a really nice plugin… Wish I could Actually USE IT!

Any help on Mimic is more than welcomed.

yep…

Profile
 
 
   
5 of 13
5