Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
[DS4.5, Genesis] I think I broke something in joints system
Posted: 23 August 2012 11:09 PM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4767
Joined  2011-10-04

Okay, so here’s the thing:

1) I created a character, a pudgy elderly gnome. This involved lots of various different Genesis-based morphs, including DieTrying’s free morphs, but most were DAZ’s own.
2) I posed the character, did some tests etc. and did regular saving. Couple of times I had to close DAZ Studio due to Windows being up its usual hijinks, such as begging for a reboot or so. Character loaded fine.
3) Today, I noticed the Beautiful Hands package in store, grab it, install it (while DS is closed, note) and then load up my character. Instead of having a charming yawn where I left the character, his right arm is sucked into his body. Okay, maybe something happened? I uninstalled the product, loaded again, same thing happens. I reset the pose, save, try again, and still it keeps happening.
4) I loaded up a plain Genesis, and test what happens when I put the arm a-swinging. Nothing as extreme happens, but something is clearly messed up.

So, um. Does anyone have any recommendations how I should proceed? I’m guessing it might be the freebie morph set that is doing this. But I need those DieTrying’s morphs for elderly face and body, but am I able to bake a full-body shape morph out of the knob-twisting I’m done, and just toss the dialed features away and then erase those morphs that are likely messing up things? Or would I still suffer the same fate?

Image Attachments
genesis_borken.pngspooky_genesis.png
 Signature 

Remembering Jaderail. Rest, my friend.
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 11:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

I followed you here from the stupid thread. That’s more broke than I’ve ever pulled off.

TIP, check if any of the third party morphs load with a value set above zero. Some of them are shipping with values set which are then auto loaded into the base genesis.

EDIT: Looks like a bad shaping morph to me. It must be auto loading.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 11:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4767
Joined  2011-10-04

I checked, they didn’t, they claim to start with 0 (but we know that numbers can be filthy liars). Even so, I’m pretty sure I can point my finger that way and scream J’Accuse.

 Signature 

Remembering Jaderail. Rest, my friend.
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 11:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4767
Joined  2011-10-04

Okay, I removed the morphs, and I’m still getting bizarro results in base Genesis. o_O I have the original character saved as a Hexagon project, so I can transfer it to DAZ Studio as a full morph, but I’m apparently doing something WRONG because I’m still getting bizarro (even more so than above) results with the morph applied… funny thing is that the facial morphs work just fine, but rotating arms etc is just *broken*.

So, here’s what I did:

1) Pick right collar, “bend” up to 12.
2) Pick right shoulder, “bend” up to max (75) and “front-back” to max (75).

Is anyone else getting “taffy Genesis” out of it? Or is it just me?

Image Attachments
taffy_genesis.png
 Signature 

Remembering Jaderail. Rest, my friend.
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 12:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  708
Joined  2012-02-12

Check your bones by clicking on genesis then on the joint editor

If your morph involves some scaling up or down, bones also must follow this scaling. If not, then try dial the morph at 100% and all other morph at 0, then Edit->figure->rigging->adjust rigging to shape (don’t adjust bone orientation). If the rigging is oK then, you can do an ERC freeze and resave the morph

Just be carefull not to have overwritten some bad rigging on genesis. Test it without any morph and eventually reinstall DS default content if there is something wrong

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 12:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4767
Joined  2011-10-04

Oh, good point! I’m going to check the base Genesis first, just to see that it hasn’t been struck by rigging fault.

 Signature 

Remembering Jaderail. Rest, my friend.
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 12:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  708
Joined  2012-02-12

Just did what you did on shoulder and collar. I have the same result so it don’t seem to me your base Genesis has any problem. Genesis just isn’t perfect

Image Attachments
24-08-2012_08-11-18.jpg
 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 12:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4767
Joined  2011-10-04

Phew, thanks. And bone-scaling seems to help here—I have to scoot, but once I’ve done the grocery run, I will go on with testing; I will need some help with the morph-importing (if anyone can toss a good link for “exporting character morphs from Hexagon” while I’m gone, it would be appreciated—I’m unsure about if I need to make it DeltaAdd or DeltaMultiply or whatnot and then how to save it), I would really appreciate it a lot.

 Signature 

Remembering Jaderail. Rest, my friend.
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 12:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  708
Joined  2012-02-12

I don’t work a lot with hexagon but there is a brigde between DAZ Studio and Hex that worked for me so it should work for you too

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 02:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4767
Joined  2011-10-04
Takeo.Kensei - 24 August 2012 12:29 AM

I don’t work a lot with hexagon but there is a brigde between DAZ Studio and Hex that worked for me so it should work for you too

Yeah, that’s not the problem…

This is the problem. I have no idea what I’m supposed to pick here and if I need to pick more options somewhere and how to save the final morph with rescaled bones.

Image Attachments
helpwhatdoichoose.png
 Signature 

Remembering Jaderail. Rest, my friend.
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 03:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4767
Joined  2011-10-04

Okay—it really seems that the size was the one that futzed the character, so I reinstalled the morphs and went back to original set-up. (Even so, it would be handy to know how to do those permanent character morph thingees in future, so I have to research.)

I resized my character’s joint set up, as told above and tested that the arm more or less rotates the way it is supposed to do (it still has a tendency to vanish into pudgier bits of stomach, but that’s stomach’s fault at that point).

I just need to know—is this how it is supposed to look like after adjusted rigging? With kinda ummm double-boning? Swimming trunks are there for everyone’s benefit, as there are things the world isn’t ready to see and what’s seen cannot be unseen…

Image Attachments
isthisnormalandokay.png
 Signature 

Remembering Jaderail. Rest, my friend.
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 04:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13606
Joined  2003-10-09

No, that looks very wrong.

As for the ERC stuff, you need that only if you are wanting to make a JCM or the like, where setting something else automatically triggers the morph.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 08:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4767
Joined  2011-10-04
Richard Haseltine - 24 August 2012 04:58 AM

No, that looks very wrong.

Okay, so, um, how do I proceed to fix it?

I…
1) selected the gnome
2) went to joint set-up tab
3) right-clicked on my gnome
4) picked edit -> adjust rigging to shape
5) pressed OK

And that’s when those double-bones came around. Am I doing it wrong?

As for the ERC stuff, you need that only if you are wanting to make a JCM or the like, where setting something else automatically triggers the morph.

Ah okay! smile

 Signature 

Remembering Jaderail. Rest, my friend.
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 10:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

4) picked edit -> adjust rigging to shape

in many case you can adjust rigging to shape almost.

but if you change so much shape,(eg child shape)

  it can not adjust good.

so now your figure joint position (blue color)  is far from you want.

and, you do not have double bone.

the red one is original (it means before you change the bone rigging)
and it is not fixed now. (it means you did not save the change rigging)

so if you memorize> memorize figure rigging , the your rigging is fixed.

but in this case you should not fix it.

you need to arrange your bone correctly. then memorize it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 10:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

if you do not mind I want to ask you.

do you want to make the morph for genesis?
or if you make morph for another your handmade figure ?

one of your bones set seems original genesis rigging.
if you want make morph for genesis,
and the shape is far from original genesis, (in this case)

you need erc freeze. to rig move with your morph correctly.
and in this case you need not memorize> memorize figure rigging
at all. 

because it change the original rig positon.
(ofcourse if you do not save the figure, the rigging can not saved)

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 11:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

eg if you want to make morph like eirlian child,

1. I set morph child and change genesis shape.
send hexagon by hexagon bridge.

2 you change the shape or scale as you like

3 in ds if you hope to change shape from genesis original shape, one controller
top menu>figure>zero figure. ( or as you like, you just need to reset and keep genesis original shape)

4 from hexagon use hexagon bridge then export the shape to genesis.

5 the window open for name the morph, you just set name. (need not tweak option now)

6 now you have morph controller under parameter tab>morph loader.

7 set value 100 or 1

8 open joint editor tab, 
then as you say, try to edit adjust riggin to shape.
in my case it goes good.  check my img

9 if you feel good, you need erc freeze to save the rigging move with your morph.
it take more time how to set it with safety…  if someone need, i would up.

Image Attachments
mychildmorph.JPG
Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1