Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Shader help please?
Posted: 23 August 2012 09:38 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2011-05-15

So for awhile now I’ve been doing a sort of bandaid fix it way to exchange complete textures/shaders on clothes and skin. Basically I would take a complete mat for a character or a shirt or whatever, I would replace the mats in the actual file folder with the mats I wanted to use, and that’s that. When I choose the mat from my content library, instead of the mat that’s listed appearing, my new mat is uploaded.

But now I’m getting to the point where I really need to know how to do this the correct way.

I know how to change a color/texture for an arm or a chest or a foot or whatever, but if I wanted to apply an entire mat to a character or piece of wardrobe, how would I go about doing that from, say, the shader interface?

Additionally, I’d love to know how to make the mats I create actually appear with little 91x91 icons in my actual library like all of my purchased textures do.

Any help with any of this is very much appreciated! smile

 Signature 

Swing by and Subscribe: http://www.youtube.com/dumpprep

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 01:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1810
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi BC Rice smile

I thing what you want is,. How to save a “Global” shader,.. which includes multiple shader setting in one item.

You can Drag the Multicoloured ball at the Top of the shader list, and drop it into your My Shaders section of the browser,.
this will create the Thumbnail icon, and allow you to name the new shader.

The shader can be applied in the same way, by reversing the process and dragging a “Global shader” from the browser, and dropping it onto the Multi-coloured ball at the top of the shader list.

Pic to help.

Image Attachments
glabal_shader_save.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 07:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  137
Joined  2005-10-11

Great graphic 3dage! How’d you do that??

Thanks for the shader tip. wink

 Signature 

My YouTube channel 
www.blenderportal.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 09:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1284
Joined  2008-01-01

Just to add - be sure to drag it onto the ball exactly as 3dage showed - don’t know how many times Carrara has frozen on me when I’ve got careless and dragged a high definition shader across the corner of the workspace.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 08:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1810
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi MegaCal smile

Thanks smile

I use a vector graphics program called Xara Designer pro X ( www.xara.com )
it’s really fast, and really easy to use.

The arrow was created with a few clicks, and then shaped by dragging the straight edges to bend them to where I wanted them.
The Fills, Transparency, and Drop shadow, are all very simply done by dragging with the appropriate tool.

Designer pro, also has a bunch of “photo” tools, and can use Photoshop Plugins as “live effects” on vector shapes or images, although it’s primarily a Vector graphics program it allows you to work with images in ways that even photoshop doesn’t, and while I’m not suggesting it’s a replacement for PS, it has the ability to Open and Save layered PSD and PDF as well as all the standard image and vector formats, Xara Designer Pro is a great program to have in your tool box.

quick example of image manipulation in xara.

Image Attachments
cal3d.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 01:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  137
Joined  2005-10-11

Hi 3dage!  LOL  I like it….very cool! smile

I used to use Xara 3D when I was doing web pages…..all the Xara apps are
pretty neat…...intuitive, user-friendly with great effects.

I haven’t used Xara Designer, but it looks very impressive. wink

 

 Signature 

My YouTube channel 
www.blenderportal.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 02:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  137
Joined  2005-10-11

3dage,

thanks for the facelift mate! smile

 Signature 

My YouTube channel 
www.blenderportal.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 August 2012 01:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2007-12-06

Quick question here, I’m still learning the in’s and out’s of Carrara

How do I get Carrara 8.5 Pro to recognize older shaders that are in .ds format? I just downloaded three shader packs off ShareCG (metallic, basic human skin, and an ultimate shader pack), but none of them show in the shaders in Carrara.

I need a glass shader that I can tint to a nearly-black color, yet still retain a hint of it’s transparency, while still being reflective, and I can’t use these new shaders if Carrara won’t recognize them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 August 2012 04:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0
KnightStalker000 - 28 August 2012 01:26 PM

Quick question here, I’m still learning the in’s and out’s of Carrara

How do I get Carrara 8.5 Pro to recognize older shaders that are in .ds format? I just downloaded three shader packs off ShareCG (metallic, basic human skin, and an ultimate shader pack), but none of them show in the shaders in Carrara.

I need a glass shader that I can tint to a nearly-black color, yet still retain a hint of it’s transparency, while still being reflective, and I can’t use these new shaders if Carrara won’t recognize them.

This would literally take less than 10 seconds to create in Carrara’s shader tree:

color = 0
highlight = 70 (or a specific color if you want the glass to have a tinted sheen)
shininess = 0
reflection = 30
transparency = 20

I’d start with these numbers and adjust as needed. For metallic the settings are similar but no transparency and you might use a color in the color channel. There are also MANY metal and glass shaders that come with Carrara’s Native Content. If you have installed it, you will find them under logically named folders in the SHADERS tab in the Browser.

I have a skin shader tutorial on my website if you’d care to take a look which explains the highlight/shininess controls on skin.

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 August 2012 04:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1810
Joined  2004-08-24

HI KnightStalker000 smile

The .ds format is a Daz Studio format, so, Carrara 8 and previous versions, won’t read those. They’ll only work as intended in Daz Studio.

In the Carrara 8.5 (beta) version, you can import Material Presets from Daz Studio 4.5, saved in the new .duf (Daz User File) format.
So, it may be possible to transfer those shaders across,.. However, you may still need t adjust some of their settings in Carrara.

most 3D programs have slightly different shader engine’s and renderers, so, shaders being imported from one program may need some adjustments in another program, normally it’s things like the Bump level, the shininess and highlight, and perhaps transparency or alpha channel.

The main shader elements, for example: the images used in Texture based shaders,. or the values used in simple colour based shaders, will transfer easily, but some complex shader settings may not transfer well, since Daz Studio uses the Renderman shader library

Carrara has a powerful set of shader functions and with a little bit of thought or on-line research, you can reproduce most materials.

You can find lot’s of Carrara shaders (.cbr) for free on sites like shareCG , there are some great simple example shaders in the “Carrara Native Content” which you can use as a starting point, to see how it’s done, or to adjust and save, to create you’re own variations.

Try adjusting one of the sample coloured glass shaders to try to make your Dark Glass.


Hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 August 2012 07:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2003-10-09

HI, I have a related Poser question…

What I DO understand, Poser “Materials” don’t xfer over to Carrara. 

To get these into Carrara you need to save the Poser file with materials applied then open it in Carrara where they can be saved, etc.

In the Poser Runtime folder, there is a “Textures” folder where I see some textures (JPG and PNG files labeled by shader domain) for a Smith Micro Poser figure that I want to use in Carrara.  In Poser these show up in Materials as an icon to apply to the figure but since they are Mat files, don’t show up in Carrara.  I know this but looking for workaround solutions…

Is there a way to go into this Poser Textures folder within Carrara and apply them directly to the figure as a shader domain group or is the best solution using the file export/import method?  Thanks everyone in advance for your help.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 August 2012 09:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0
3DPixLA - 31 August 2012 07:31 PM

HI, I have a related Poser question…

What I DO understand, Poser “Materials” don’t xfer over to Carrara. 

To get these into Carrara you need to save the Poser file with materials applied then open it in Carrara where they can be saved, etc.

In the Poser Runtime folder, there is a “Textures” folder where I see some textures (JPG and PNG files labeled by shader domain) for a Smith Micro Poser figure that I want to use in Carrara.  In Poser these show up in Materials as an icon to apply to the figure but since they are Mat files, don’t show up in Carrara.  I know this but looking for workaround solutions…

Is there a way to go into this Poser Textures folder within Carrara and apply them directly to the figure as a shader domain group or is the best solution using the file export/import method?  Thanks everyone in advance for your help.

If you can save the MAT file as a PZ2, Carrara will be able to use it from the content browser.

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 August 2012 09:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4794
Joined  2006-08-27

Try adding the Poser runtime to your Content Browser and see if they show up.


Edited to add: As Holly mentioned, the Poser .mat files should be available. It’s the D/S native content that doesn’t translate with versions earlier prior to the current version of Carrara’s 8.5 beta. However, if the shader is based on image maps, you can open the maps and build the shaders within Carrara. You might need to have D/S or a reference image open to compare various settings such as specular settings, bump etc. But it is possible.

Image Attachments
Picture_1.png
 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 September 2012 12:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2011-05-15
3DAGE - 24 August 2012 01:27 PM

Hi BC Rice smile

I thing what you want is,. How to save a “Global” shader,.. which includes multiple shader setting in one item.

You can Drag the Multicoloured ball at the Top of the shader list, and drop it into your My Shaders section of the browser,.
this will create the Thumbnail icon, and allow you to name the new shader.

The shader can be applied in the same way, by reversing the process and dragging a “Global shader” from the browser, and dropping it onto the Multi-coloured ball at the top of the shader list.

Pic to help.

So I’m still not certain that this answers my question. This seems more like the second part to the answer. smile

If I duplicate the M4 MAT and then duplicate it, and then I make changes to that duplicate MAT, how can I make it so when I choose M4 I can upload that new changed MAT to my character? Doing it shader by shader won’t work, and it looks like to create a new shader like the example you have to go shader by shader.

Like I said, right now, for my V4 characters I just take a MAT that I’ve purchased and change it. So when Carrara accesses the MAT for that specific morph, I’ve already switched it out in the file with the new one I’ve change. But with M4 I don’t have (and don’t want to have to purchase) a bunch of different morphs just in order to load complete MATs, ya know?

So how do I do what you’ve done here (create a new shader) without changing things shader by shader? The only thing I can think is to create a folder called, like, CHARACTER ONE. I can then have that folder in textures and have the original M4 MAT missing. So that way when it prompts to look for the MAT I can direct it to the new folder, where all the names will be in line with tr original M4 character. After info that I can set and save the shader, I think?

Is that the only way to do it or is there a better (easier) way?

 Signature 

Swing by and Subscribe: http://www.youtube.com/dumpprep

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 September 2012 08:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1810
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi BC Rice smile

The way that you apply the Carrara shader is a SINGLE drag and drop from your “my shaders” in the browser, onto the multicoloured ball (global shader) at the top of the shader list. this applies all the individual shaders for that figure.

If you think of a complex multi-shader like an M4 or V4 shader list,... all the individual shaders for the face, eyes, arms, etc. are all being held in a single container.. which is the “Global shader”. so by dragging and dropping a single Carrara “Global shader” onto the shader list for your figure,. you apply the complete multiple shader list to all of the shading domains in that figure.

If I duplicate the M4 MAT and then duplicate it, and then I make changes to that duplicate MAT, how can I make it so when I choose M4 I can upload that new changed MAT to my character?


If you load up M4, then adjust any of the shader settings, textures, values or colours, then you’ve created a “New shader” there;‘s no need to make a duplicate shader, and then adjust the settings in the duplicate

Once you’ve adjusted a set of shaders to your liking, you would save that new “Global shader”
You can then apply it to another figure by dragging it from your browser, onto the shader list for that figure.

Morphs and Shaders are completely different things.
Morphs change the geometry shape,
Shaders change the surface appearance.

Doing it shader by shader won’t work, and it looks like to create a new shader like the example you have to go shader by shader

 
If you want to change the settings in a multi-shader, then by definition you would need to edit / adjust the individual shaders in the multi-shader, then save the results as a new global shader, then you can apply that to whatever you want

If you want completely different “Texture maps” in your shader, then you need to change the maps used in all of the individual shaders, then save it as a global shader.
It’s a little bit of work, but if you want to make something that’s unique, then it’s worth the time.

So how do I do what you’ve done here (create a new shader) without changing things shader by shader?


Adjusting each of the individual shaders, in a multi-shader, is the only way to change how that shader appears when it’s applied to a figure,.
If you don’t adjust any of the individual shader settings, and save it, then all you’ve done is made an “exact duplicate” of the original shader.

The only thing I can think is to create a folder called, like, CHARACTER ONE. I can then have that folder in textures and have the original M4 MAT missing. So that way when it prompts to look for the MAT I can direct it to the new folder, where all the names will be in line with the original M4 character.

If I’ve read this correctly,...
You’re looking for a way to either create a new “Poser MAT” or replace the default Poser MAT, so that when you load M4 into a scene, it loads the figure with your new MAT.

This can only be done within Poser.  ( and it’s really not a good idea )
Carrara doesn’t create Poser “MAT” pose files.

Carrara Creates .CBR Shaders (which are essentially the same thing) you can apply a different shader to a figure simply by drag and drop from your My Shaders in the browser. ( Carrara comes with a set of High resolution shaders built for M4 and V4).

or by double clicking on a Poser material pose, in your Content browser.

so whether you load the M4 with it’s default Materials / shaders, and replace those with you’re own custom material / shaders made and saved in Carrara,.. or replace them with a set of Materials / shaders you’ve purchased from the store, is academic .
the method of application is the same,.  and the method of creation is the same.

In Carrara, you’d adjust the individuals settings of each shaders in the Multi-shader, and save the results as a single global shader.
In Poser, you’d adjust the individual shaders settings and save all of these as a single Poser “Mat” file.

The only difference would be that a “NEW” set of shaders purchased from the store would contain a “NEW” set of texture maps, ans possibly morphs to adjust the face and body of your figure.


Hope that makes sense.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 September 2012 01:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2011-05-15
3DAGE - 01 September 2012 08:33 AM

Hi BC Rice smile

The way that you apply the Carrara shader is a SINGLE drag and drop from your “my shaders” in the browser, onto the multicoloured ball (global shader) at the top of the shader list. this applies all the individual shaders for that figure.

If you think of a complex multi-shader like an M4 or V4 shader list,... all the individual shaders for the face, eyes, arms, etc. are all being held in a single container.. which is the “Global shader”. so by dragging and dropping a single Carrara “Global shader” onto the shader list for your figure,. you apply the complete multiple shader list to all of the shading domains in that figure.

If I duplicate the M4 MAT and then duplicate it, and then I make changes to that duplicate MAT, how can I make it so when I choose M4 I can upload that new changed MAT to my character?


If you load up M4, then adjust any of the shader settings, textures, values or colours, then you’ve created a “New shader” there;‘s no need to make a duplicate shader, and then adjust the settings in the duplicate

Once you’ve adjusted a set of shaders to your liking, you would save that new “Global shader”
You can then apply it to another figure by dragging it from your browser, onto the shader list for that figure.

Morphs and Shaders are completely different things.
Morphs change the geometry shape,
Shaders change the surface appearance.

Doing it shader by shader won’t work, and it looks like to create a new shader like the example you have to go shader by shader

 
If you want to change the settings in a multi-shader, then by definition you would need to edit / adjust the individual shaders in the multi-shader, then save the results as a new global shader, then you can apply that to whatever you want

If you want completely different “Texture maps” in your shader, then you need to change the maps used in all of the individual shaders, then save it as a global shader.
It’s a little bit of work, but if you want to make something that’s unique, then it’s worth the time.

So how do I do what you’ve done here (create a new shader) without changing things shader by shader?


Adjusting each of the individual shaders, in a multi-shader, is the only way to change how that shader appears when it’s applied to a figure,.
If you don’t adjust any of the individual shader settings, and save it, then all you’ve done is made an “exact duplicate” of the original shader.

The only thing I can think is to create a folder called, like, CHARACTER ONE. I can then have that folder in textures and have the original M4 MAT missing. So that way when it prompts to look for the MAT I can direct it to the new folder, where all the names will be in line with the original M4 character.

If I’ve read this correctly,...
You’re looking for a way to either create a new “Poser MAT” or replace the default Poser MAT, so that when you load M4 into a scene, it loads the figure with your new MAT.

This can only be done within Poser.  ( and it’s really not a good idea )
Carrara doesn’t create Poser “MAT” pose files.

Carrara Creates .CBR Shaders (which are essentially the same thing) you can apply a different shader to a figure simply by drag and drop from your My Shaders in the browser. ( Carrara comes with a set of High resolution shaders built for M4 and V4).

or by double clicking on a Poser material pose, in your Content browser.

so whether you load the M4 with it’s default Materials / shaders, and replace those with you’re own custom material / shaders made and saved in Carrara,.. or replace them with a set of Materials / shaders you’ve purchased from the store, is academic .
the method of application is the same,.  and the method of creation is the same.

In Carrara, you’d adjust the individuals settings of each shaders in the Multi-shader, and save the results as a single global shader.
In Poser, you’d adjust the individual shaders settings and save all of these as a single Poser “Mat” file.

The only difference would be that a “NEW” set of shaders purchased from the store would contain a “NEW” set of texture maps, ans possibly morphs to adjust the face and body of your figure.


Hope that makes sense.

No, it does, but I’m just not seeing how it’s possible to use, in Carrara via the Shaders tabs, say, M4’s Neck, Head, Torso MAT item. Like, each one of those things has a separate shader. So if I take the Neck, Head, Torso MAT and duplicate it and then change it, there’s no way for me to upload that MAT to the Shader tabs profile. I can choose Neck or Head or Torso, but if I upload the combined Neck, Head, Torso MAT to that single shader, it’s a mess.

I *think* the way is going to have to be like I described, though I’ll have to test it when I have time. I think it’s going to be about taking the existing M4 MAT, duplicating it, changing it, replacing the changed MAT with the new MAT from a separate folder designed for that specific character, and then once the new global shader makes that connection, I can save it and it can re-link to that folder if necessary, but more likely it will just save the shaders as shaders and won’t even rely on the MAT after that point.

My M4 MAT has to be manually referenced every time I load him anyway because I have it in a separate folder than was suggested at install. But once you reference a single MAT within whatever duplicate M4 folder you choose, Carrara automatically populates the remaining shaders so long as you don’t change the name of the shaders.

So basically, if you want 10 different M4 complete character MATs, it’s just about taking that original content folder and duplicating it 10 times and referencing whatever folder you need when you input M4. The *problem* comes in when you want two M4s with different MATs in the same render, because Carrara will see all M4s as having the same shaders and will load M4 with the shaders it originally referenced.

But like I said, I think if we save the uploaded MAT as a new Global Shader like you referenced, I can take care of that final issue.

(NOTE: when I keep saying “MAT” I’m meaning, say, the JPEG that contains M4s arms, legs and nails, etc)

 Signature 

Swing by and Subscribe: http://www.youtube.com/dumpprep

 

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1