Digital Art Zone

 
     
Aniblocks gone
Posted: 23 August 2012 02:01 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

I downloaded and installed the release version of studio 4.5.
First thing I went to do is try out the dynamic clothing DUF to carrara; still doesn’t work for me.  And what did I find? Well it wasn’t my aniblocks, the install deleted them, poof, gone, no place to be found on my machine.

Deleted about 2 paragraphs, it would have just gotten this thread pulled. I can have a bad opinion of DAZ, I just can’t voice it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 02:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7095
Joined  2009-07-13

odd, where were they installed?
have you got your content in program files? this could be the cause of all your issues.
if in documents or an external drive like me, they should have been untouched.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 02:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8381
Joined  2007-11-06

You need to install Genesis Starter Essentials.  The default content and application are now in separate installers.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 02:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Downloading it now, but how does genesis content effect content that is already installed?

Bets my missing aniblocks aren’t there?

Wendy, somethings I let install were DAZ wants them, studio specific items mostly. So that is where my aniblocks should be, folders and all are gone. Didn’t touch the few free ones I have, just the ones from DAZ for studio.

Edit to add: and there went my 4 trys at downloading. That A in DAZ stands for aggravation.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 03:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Ok, got them back, but I am still mystified why after several installs of studio 3, studio 4, and all the 4.5 betas the new 4.5 was the first one to do anything with them.

Or why when I pointed the installer to my library it still dumped it all in my studio folder.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 04:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8381
Joined  2007-11-06
ManStan - 23 August 2012 03:27 PM

Ok, got them back, but I am still mystified why after several installs of studio 3, studio 4, and all the 4.5 betas the new 4.5 was the first one to do anything with them.

Because previously the default content was built into the application installer, so it always got uninstalled and reinstalled.

ManStan - 23 August 2012 03:27 PM

Or why when I pointed the installer to my library it still dumped it all in my studio folder.

That is a mystery to me, it installed to the place I told it to.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 05:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07

And you need to reset/install Dynamics Clothing Control separately for dynamics to work.

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 07:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07
cridgit - 23 August 2012 05:10 PM

And you need to reset/install Dynamics Clothing Control separately for dynamics to work.

I don’t have it,DCC. Clothes worked fine.

But, how do I go back to the beta? Installing this build screwed something up and now carrara wont open/import a DUF, just get an I/O error..
Let me guess, now I have to wait for an update to the C8.5 beta, right?

DUF from the previous release candidate did and still do open fine, so what did DAZ screw up in the release version?


MAN, why the F do I even bother?

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 05:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  58
Joined  2008-02-01
ManStan - 23 August 2012 07:19 PM
cridgit - 23 August 2012 05:10 PM

And you need to reset/install Dynamics Clothing Control separately for dynamics to work.

I don’t have it,DCC. Clothes worked fine.

But, how do I go back to the beta? Installing this build screwed something up and now carrara wont open/import a DUF, just get an I/O error..
Let me guess, now I have to wait for an update to the C8.5 beta, right?

DUF from the previous release candidate did and still do open fine, so what did DAZ screw up in the release version?


MAN, why the F do I even bother?

 


And this is why I walked from DAZ..

 

 Signature 

DaRkWyNdE/Tigrestripe
—————————————————————————————————————————————
There is no reality. Everything is just a render of your imaginiation.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 05:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7095
Joined  2009-07-13

were (and how, Poser walk designer presumably)  did you walk to?

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 02:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  932
Joined  2006-06-12
wendy♥catz - 25 August 2012 05:13 AM

were (and how, Poser walk designer presumably)  did you walk to?


You need help Wendy.
LOL!

 

 Signature 

There is a serious tendency toward capitalism among the well-to-do peasants.
Mao Tse-Tung

Profile