Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
GoZ in Poser2012 -  review
Posted: 23 August 2012 08:33 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1767
Joined  2003-10-09

I tested yesterday GoZ in Poser2012 latest version build
well working with Gen4 was easy in and out ,importing morph for individual groups etc..
however there are some issues.

1 negative point of it is that the imported props and figures does not include the correct scale and space data of the objects , they land scaled down 1000% in the middle of the figure ( 10 times smaller as they should be ) , need to be adjusted manually with scale and correct space position .
If you work with simple prop yes but if you create clothing or fiber meshes that need to be accurate the way you made it importing manually will do the job for you better and quicker .

the verdict ?  thumb down on both hands
I was excited but no more as it does not improve any work at all ..

if they correct the 2 points allowing importing full body morphs and correct scale then yes it would be great
I was for plan to edit the plugin as well but did not succeed

but if you are going to make some new faces for your gen4 models then you can use it as well without any issues .
also rigged some imported fibers in Poser and it handle the fibers very well without any issues on bending , so no poly explosions, the fibers are fully flexible what is a plus ..I missing it in DS

you can’t have everything I guess smile

Cath

 Signature 

Just Released :The Aviatrix &  The Vampire Huntress
MEC4D PRODUCTS BY DAZ3D
MEC4D HOME

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 10:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2003-10-09

And you put in a bug report on it?

 Signature 

Renderosity. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?vendor=29771

Rendo Freebies. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/freestuff/index.php?username=ghostman

RDNA http://www.runtimedna.com/Ghostman/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 11:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1767
Joined  2003-10-09

No I don’t but that must be clear to everyone that used it once .. 
and for sure they already know about that

Ghostman - 23 August 2012 10:58 AM

And you put in a bug report on it?

 Signature 

Just Released :The Aviatrix &  The Vampire Huntress
MEC4D PRODUCTS BY DAZ3D
MEC4D HOME

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 11:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  188
Joined  2003-10-09

I use it for morphs and that works without any problem.
This is the first time I heard anyone telling that the scale is not correct, so I wouldn’t be too sure that SM knows about it. It does not hurt to report it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 12:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15775
Joined  2003-10-09

And if it’s a configuration issue or conflict on your machine, rather than a general bug, they may be able to help you fix it.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 12:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  198
Joined  2003-10-09

only time i’ve seen a scale difference is when the figure is imported using - File > import > ZBrush,  rather than using the Poser Goz link which is - Figure > Export Figure Mesh To Goz, which just updates the figure when sending from ZBrush back to Poser

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 01:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1767
Joined  2003-10-09

Do anybody read first before reply ? there is no problem importing morphs for the figure in Poser from Zbrush
Try to import modeled clothing or even fiber back into the scene and see what will happen , it will be not where it should be , manually no issues .. just for the new created stuff in zbrush

If i create hair for genesis in zbrush and hit the goz button it import the hair straight on the head, and what it does in Poser, it scale it down 10 times and place in the middle of the figure and not where it should land .and that is only the issue with the plugin I had ..

I found also many issues with the GoZ for DS and in the last build everything was fixed even request the option for having choice on the sub-d and it was added also , so not bs here .. not to mention who found the double ID issue

 Signature 

Just Released :The Aviatrix &  The Vampire Huntress
MEC4D PRODUCTS BY DAZ3D
MEC4D HOME

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 01:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1767
Joined  2003-10-09

I made for your video it is only for this thread as it is not listed under public, see for yourself

and maybe you can report as I don;t know where

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yMIjoQp-RnE&feature=youtu.be

 Signature 

Just Released :The Aviatrix &  The Vampire Huntress
MEC4D PRODUCTS BY DAZ3D
MEC4D HOME

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 02:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  188
Joined  2003-10-09

I already reported it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 02:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1767
Joined  2003-10-09

Thank you !

WimvdB - 23 August 2012 02:22 PM

I already reported it

 Signature 

Just Released :The Aviatrix &  The Vampire Huntress
MEC4D PRODUCTS BY DAZ3D
MEC4D HOME

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 02:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  188
Joined  2003-10-09

Your video was extremely helpful here. I did not even know that you could do that. Learned something new

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 02:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  198
Joined  2003-10-09

because you are creating the hair in zbrush and not using goz to export it from poser it is considered a new object so is imported as a new prop using the minuscule poser dimensions that the poser goz link uses, scaling the item to 1000% will bring it back to poser size. I’m not sure if there’s a way to correct the placement / scaling automatically.
But if you’re creating a new item then importing the Object has always been the usually way to get the items into Poser so wouldn’t that still be the case even with Goz.

The Poser Goz link is very new and it will need some teething problems ironed out and hopefully get some improvement

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 03:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15775
Joined  2003-10-09

Using GoZ to bring newly created items to the app at the other end is one of its purposes, it isn’t just for creating morphs/blend shapes.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 04:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1767
Joined  2003-10-09

If I have to do it manually then I don’t need GoZ , they should also include update of the morphs in case you want to fix something , DAZ got his GoZ excellent and the way it should work , it is a bridge fro import and export anything as Richard already mentioned so little waste of plugin if it works only half way , Poser do recognize the new geometry but forgot to check up the rest of the data , and trust me in detailed work nobody will waste time scaling and made placement if I can do it just in sec by importing the file manually so this option need to be fixed or removed , I am still curious how the import of the full body will affect the joins as Poser does not include rigging information in Morphs so it can get very nasty if you don’t keep an eye on the group edges while working on full body morph , we will see what next.

adzan - 23 August 2012 02:50 PM

because you are creating the hair in zbrush and not using goz to export it from poser it is considered a new object so is imported as a new prop using the minuscule poser dimensions that the poser goz link uses, scaling the item to 1000% will bring it back to poser size. I’m not sure if there’s a way to correct the placement / scaling automatically.
But if you’re creating a new item then importing the Object has always been the usually way to get the items into Poser so wouldn’t that still be the case even with Goz.

The Poser Goz link is very new and it will need some teething problems ironed out and hopefully get some improvement

 Signature 

Just Released :The Aviatrix &  The Vampire Huntress
MEC4D PRODUCTS BY DAZ3D
MEC4D HOME

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 04:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  198
Joined  2003-10-09

From reading of the Poser manual the current use of goz is specific to the creation of Morphs and Normal / Displacement Maps, they haven’t specified any other variations of it’s use.

How we use goz with other programs doesn’t seem to be how the Poser team envisioned we would use the first release of their Goz.  hopefully it’s a work in progress


you can just overwrite a morph if you want to update or change it, just use the same name for the morph and it will overwrite the old morph

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 07:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  47
Joined  2003-10-09

There is a work-around to this bug.  It isn’t perfect, but it let’s you get the job done until SM revs the GoZ plugin:

———————————Recipe——————————————————

In Poser:
    * Export a copy of your core figure as an .obj with default settings; then GoZ as normal to bring your figure into Zbrush.  This would be the Andybot in Mec4D’s video.  I call this .obj file a “dummy”.

In Zbrush:
    *  Create your new geometry by whatever means suits you (extract, fiber generator, etc.)  Clone this subtool.
    * Load the dummy .obj into Zbrush as a new tool (e.g. switch to a different tool like the zsphere or the polymesh)
    * Append the clone to your dummy.
    * Export the cloned subtool from it’s appended position as a .obj.

In Poser:
    * Import the new geometry into with no options checked on the import menu.

—————————————- End Recipe—————————————————

This only needs to be done for NEW geometry created in ZB.  Once you have brought the geometry back into Poser by the above recipe, you can use GoZ to sculpt up morphs for your new accessory without problems.  The scaling/position problem appears to be confined to newly created geometry in Zbrush (fibers, extracts, etc.)

Why this works:  The issue is a matter of scale/position.  The GoZ receiver on Poser’s side seems to get confused with a new piece of geometry it never saw before coming back from Zbrush and doesn’t apply the right settings.  By appending the new geometry to a dummy of the core figure, the scaling information is transferred to the subtools.  (You can see these parameters in the Tool -> Export section of the Tools pallet.)  By saving the geometry for the first time from ZBrush as an .obj and then bringing it into poser through the .obj import feature, the correct scale & position are applied.

I know it does add four more steps to GoZ’s traditional two, but they are not especially onerous.  Again, this is a fix for new geometry created in ZB.

-K

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1