Digital Art Zone

5 of 10
Free Software that Makes Life Easier
Posted: 13 March 2013 01:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2010-08-25

I’m surprised it hasn’t been mentioned yet, but Evernote is incredibly useful for 3D and just about everything else.  I keep finding new ways to use it - I think it might be the “killer app” for Internet/mobile.

Although I use it for a lot of things, I first started using it when I got into CG to try to manage the overwhelming amount of information and tips I found on various 3D programs.  Now, when I find an interesting thread on a forum or a blog, instead of bookmarking it, I use the web clipper to add it to Evernote.  I have a separate notebook for all my CG reference stuff.  I’m a software engineer, so I use it the same way for tech-related reference stuff, which is even more overwhelming than all the CG info out there.

Some other ways I use it:

- as a to-do list.  I struggled with this for a long time, and even read a couple of books on implementing GTD.  I ended up using the instructions at The Secret Weapon (Google it) and that has worked for me

-whenever I get an idea for anything, I jot it down in Evernote.  They have clients for every platform, so I can do this whether I’m on my Mac, or my phone.

- I buy a LOT of ebooks, usually from Amazon, but sometimes from publishers directly (especially for tech books).  For reading, I still prefer to use the Kindle app on my laptop or phone (oddly enough, I rarely use my actual Kindle).  But in addition, I always upload a PDF version to evernote.  That way, when I’m searching for something specific, the results will include any references in books I have as well as my other notes (such as web clippings).