Digital Art Zone

 
     
Why does DAZ 4.5 not work for me?
Posted: 21 August 2012 02:22 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2011-01-20

So yeah, I create a new scene, add genesis, save, exit, reload, and this is what I end up with:
http://toykat.com/img/wtf.jpg

Image Attachments
WHAT_IS_THIS.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 03:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15734
Joined  2003-10-09

Looks as if it is not finding the content - please open your Content Directory Manager (Edit>Preferences>Content Library), expand the current set and then the entries under DAZ Studio, Poser and other formats, and take a screenshot - then post it here. Also please tell which operating system you are using.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 03:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2011-01-20

I looked a bit at the log, and found this:

Edit: Added a space between % and 20 to try and avoid auto-unescape… The Space between % and 20 is NOT in the log files

WARNING: fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(1677): Could not find geometry definition: /data/DAZ% 203D/Genesis/Base/Genesis.dsf#geometry.

Notice anything “off”? (Also, this isn’t the only line that has a warning like that - Looking at the filesystem (Assuming /data is “rooted” in M:/DAZ/DS4PointFive (See below), the files DO exist (That is, the semi-unescaped version of that string)) - I’m assuming the #geometry is just a nice way of telling me that it’s looking for “geometry” inside the file.
Unless there’s some obscure formatting going on in the log, I think “DAZ 3D” might be misinterpreted as “DAZ”% 203"D” and not “DAZ”% 20"3D” by whatever is reading it…

In any case, content library paths:

DAZ Studio Formats:
  M:/DAZ/DS4PointFive
  Z:/Contents_Private/DAZStudio3/content

Poser Formats:
  Z:/Contents_Private/DAZStudio3/content
  Z:/Contents_Private/Daz Stuff/Downloads
  M:/DAZ/DAZ4PointFive

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 04:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2011-01-20

I have now tried installing DAZ Studio 4.0.3.47 and whaddayaknow, IT WORKS…
I’m guessing this is a bug in 4.5, which REALLY sucks, because I actually wanted to try 4.5 for a bit longer than one un-save-able project…

Anyways, would appreciate any sort of input / workaround if anyone knows of any for 4.5 which would allow me to save and load files…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 04:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15734
Joined  2003-10-09

The content paths look right, but people have been saving scenes successfully in 4.5. I can see no reason for the file to fail to load - since the .duf file doesn’t embed proprietary data, as long as the geometry hasn’t been edited, could you post a simple scene file (just a Genesis on its own, if that gives the issue) for me to test?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 04:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2011-01-20

Here ya go…

http://toykat.com/randomstuff/test.duf

“Error Message:
The filetype you are attempting to upload is not allowed.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 05:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15734
Joined  2003-10-09

Well, the scene opens correctly for me so the issue doesn’t appear to be there. But I really can’t see any problem with your paths, either, So I’m afraid I have no idea what’s going on.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 05:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2011-01-20

Question: Does your log file show the same weird output as mine?
Maybe some issue with C/C++ libs on my machine… who knows o.O

Also, this issue happens in both the 64 bit and 32 bit version of the newest DAZ Studio 4.5 (Freshly downloaded earlier today).

Edit: Also. I’m running version: 4.5.0.114 - Is your’s the same as well?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 05:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2011-01-20

After reinstallation upon reinstallation I am now getting the same error message as the guy in: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/4953/
I suspect this is the exact same issue, the reason it may have been overlooked is the fact that the forum auto-unescapes (Meaning % 20 (Without the space) gets converted to a space as it should be, which does not appear to happen in DAZ Studio 4.5.0.114 at the moment).

Anyways, I’m really getting pissed off at this, I just bought the Genesis Evolution Morph package and the Catgirl for Genesis before I discovered that 4.5 was broken for me.
Can’t get the Morphs to work on 4.0 which is really getting me annoyed at the moment x_x

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 06:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2011-01-20

No clue what exactly happened, but I just loaded a file succesfully…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 07:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15734
Joined  2003-10-09

Good.  in URIs appears to be expanding correctly for me (the paths in DSON files use URIs, which have the same character limits as URLs, hence the s and other hex codes).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 April 2013 10:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  98
Joined  2012-06-28

I found a probable cause of the bug!

Many Genesis product found on MY LIBRARY generate that error

I manually COPY folder DATA, People, content,, from “My Library” to root folder and most of them now work
Also:
I noticed after copy folder, many ICON appear where they not see in My Library install!


Daz Version 4.5.1.56 pro (64Bit)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 April 2013 07:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15734
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes, the Data folder should be in the root of the content directory.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 April 2013 11:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1384
Joined  2004-06-13

Did you install the new Genesis Starter Essentials?

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile