Digital Art Zone

 
     
Repositioning Multifigures
Posted: 21 August 2012 09:52 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  375
Joined  2012-08-14

Okay, after several fruitless ‘searches’ thru the forums I have to ask another ‘noobie’ question.

I’ve spent the last couple of hours posing 2 figures but now I need to move/reposition them.
How can I ‘group’ (for lack of a better word) them? I would like to be able to move them together as one unit.
There has to be a way, I just haven’t discovered it.

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions/responses.

 Signature 

Brotherlobo aka A.E. McCullough
Self-published Author and Hobbyist Designer

Checkout my website @ http://www.aemccullough.com
or on Amazon @ A.E. McCullough on Amazon
or ‘like’ me on Facebook @ A.E. McCullough on Facebook
or on deviantArt @  Brotherlobo @ deviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 10:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07

Create a null then parent them both to the null and move the null. Make sure you check “parent in place”. And if you mess it up, Ctrl-Z is your friend.

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 10:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7068
Joined  2006-03-19

You can parent them together. Open the scene tab and select “Genesis and drag it underneath the other and they will be parented

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 11:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  375
Joined  2012-08-14

Thanks….the ‘parenting null’ worked.

 Signature 

Brotherlobo aka A.E. McCullough
Self-published Author and Hobbyist Designer

Checkout my website @ http://www.aemccullough.com
or on Amazon @ A.E. McCullough on Amazon
or ‘like’ me on Facebook @ A.E. McCullough on Facebook
or on deviantArt @  Brotherlobo @ deviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  987
Joined  2012-01-29

Just a dumb question: what is a “null” and how do I create it in DS?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 12:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14619
Joined  2009-01-22

Create Menu, New Null. It’s just a Place in your scene used for things like just mentioned. Then you can move and rotate ect..

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile