Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
4.5 is killing all of my old scenes
Posted: 21 October 2012 11:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

I’ve seen this work with load, resave then exit DS (clears mem and all pointers that have loaded) then restart DS and load new file. Just my two cents.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 03:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2010-07-28
Ippotamus - 21 August 2012 05:05 AM

Whatever you do, do NOT system restore back to your previous DAZ.
You will be sorry.
I am VERY sorry.

I’m going to have to re-install this hot freaking mess.

-

Well, managed to rollback my rollback and am right back where I started.

If there is no fix to the original errors I really need to know how to get back to 4.0 pro.
I use genesis almost exclusively, so this current situation is not working out for me at all.
Once again my DAZ experience is left with me just wanting things the way they were.  *sigh*

wait hold up how do you reinstall it without unistalling it ???

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 02:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2012-08-03

thanx fixmypcmike for the help.. characters are still un-pose-able tho.. they just deform when u move them…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 09:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8425
Joined  2007-11-06
vip808 - 28 October 2012 02:45 AM

thanx fixmypcmike for the help.. characters are still un-pose-able tho.. they just deform when u move them…

Is that with the Triax weights, or after converting them to a different rigging system?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 04:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2012-08-03

it is with Triax weights i dont know how to covert it to a different rigging system…fixmypcmike, what updates did Daz3d studio do in the last weeks that effected Genesis? do i need to buy that DYSON importer to make things work?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 06:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7624
Joined  2009-05-14

DSON files are for Poswer users wanting to use genesis etc in Poser.

A lot of genesis content has been updated, have you updated all your genesis morphs etc…see this thread for details Updated Genesis Products List & Thing To Be Aware Of

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 12:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

Hi,, vip 801,,  fixmepcmike ask you , because you said

it is happening only to my genesis characters the solution to my problem is to convert triax weight to general weight.. i dont know why but it works

,

I do not know why it can work, but it seems not good solution.
maybe you need not convert triax weight to general weight.

because of you have changed the genesis weight to general weight
I think if , you can not pose the genesis now,,,

do you have oliginal saved .daz file sitll?

lets try again, from start pointo.

first load ” your.daz” file.  and not touch anything.
ust save as.  “your.duf “file.

when you load the “your.duf” scene , it may broken. (your figure may exprode)
not need to change triax to general weight.

just save again the your.duf file as same name . your.duf
(you may need not the corrupted duf.file anymore, so you can overwrite it as same file name)

now you have broken figure icon for the twice saved duf file. but if you load it,
the exproded genesis problem will be removed.

this is your start point to remove your problem.

then,, next problem is, how poze your genesis.(if you can not poze genesis still)

when you load the, duf if you have no erroer message, (not important think about duplicate ID erroer now
you can remove them,, if you want, but it seems no refference about your pozign problem)

if you can not poze genesis about new saved.duf scene (without changing weight,,)

I want to check if you used many pins cothings and figure about pozing? or if the clothings set Enable smoothing on?

first just remove all pins,(if you used it)
and turned off Enable smoothing”  then what happen when you set new poze about genesis.
genesis will break ? or clothing will break?

edited>>

and what character morph do you apply the genesis for the scene?  y
if the morph file has problem, I think you can check it by log file from top menu
Help >trouble shooting>view log file

if the problem is from character morph, you need to download and reinstall new version of the product.
and set again the morph to the genesis in your scene.

if the problem is from your clothings,  you need to download and reinstall new version of the clothings.
you need to check, what item you have used for your scene. not think about all items which you have not used in your scene now.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 04:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2012-08-03

did what u said saved it as a character preset titled your.duf, closed DS4 reopened and loaded your.duf
character opens up with boobs, adjust the victoria 4 dial (funny i never used it building the character), then i tried posing the arm

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 05:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2012-08-03

oopps pic 1 and 2 are switched sorry the 2nd pic should have been the first

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 06:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13606
Joined  2003-10-09

The images had to be removed as they showed a nude figure - either show an untextured figure or give it some clothes.

Your problem appears to be that you have changed the shape enough that the joint centres are no longer within the mesh, and so you get weird distortions. You need to adjust the rigging to accommodate your morph:

Apply your morph, only - no pose or other morphs.

Edit>Figure>Rigging>Adjust rigging to shape.

Try some poses to make sure that is working.

Assuming the rigging is now right, make sure the pose is reset so you have only your morph and the adjusted rigging applied.

Right-click on the Property Editor’s tab to get the pane menu, select ERC Freeze.

From the drop-down lists at the top select Genesis as the figure and your morph as the control property. In the From the scrolling box at the bottom make sure that the only things checked are adjusted joint centres. Leave the options at the bottom of the dialogue checked, and click Accept.

You should now find that setting your morph also adjust the joints to avoid distortion. Assuming that is so, save your morph as a Morph Asset (File>Save as>Support Asset>Morph Asset).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 07:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

Hi,, smile then,,I can not clearly understand what you saved before,, and what you want to ^^;

I said,,, first load old .daz format scene file which you saved before,,it is scene file.
(so,, if you saved character dsf file etc ^^;?)

I said,, save the old.daz scene file as .duf scene file

usually you can find the problem when you open the saved duf scene file ^^;
I said do not touch the scene and save it as.duf scene file again.

I do not know why you save it as character preset duf?
I never said save it as character preest TT)

see picture,, character preset is the file to keep the material and shape(morph) value at that time
for genesis (or triax figure )you select in the scene,, so it naver save the pose.

and if you load the character preset to the genesis in the scene,
it apply (change) the saved value about material and shape with the figure in the scene.

next picture, I load new genesis, and apply the saved character preset.
i saved pozing monster as character preset.duf,  but mosnter just keep zero pozing.

if you do not select any figure, it may just load new genesis, and apply the saved value.
or you may see pop uo window, and may be asked “apply or load new figure”

so I do not know why you saved the character preset and aplly or load new genesis now ^^;

I think,,,  you better to check , not saved, but load new genesis.
and it can move poze without problem?

1 load new scene.
2 load new genesis.duf. (not apply preset file or etc,,)

then apply your morphs as same as your figure (it ugly bend and exproded) in the picture.
not need apply saved character preset,, or,, material ^^; adjust by controller only.

. then the morph shaped genesis can move well?

if there is problem,  it seems no refference with old scene. it is problem about genesis.duf and morphs etc.

Image Attachments
pozingmonster.JPGapplypreset.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 11:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2012-08-03

sorry kitakoredaz.. my bad.. ok i saved it as a a scene but it still has the same problem.. i opened a new scene. loaded a genesis.duf from the content library.. tried to pose it and it still explodes.. so tonight im gonna start from scratch and delete DAZ and reinstall latest Daz Studio and move on from there thanks for all the help guy..now i’m gonna cross my fingers and hope it works..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 09:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

I am sorry ,  Richard reply you, and I felt it has more sense about your problem.

while I am thinking how to guide you as I can, then click send message, already Richard has been replied you.
(his answer must be more useful than I reply ^^; I know,,)

so can you understand clearly ,what Richard said? I hope first you try what he said.

your moprh changed shape so much from base genesis shape, then the bones may not fit to the morphed shape.

I think most product morph can adjust rig with ERCfreeze, but if your morph can only change the shape,
and not adjust rigs to the shape,, the rigs keep the original positon, so if you move the bone(rotate) weight mapped mesh
move so much, that the geometry may brake.

I think,,, if you could not poze the figure befored your saved scene with tthe morph,,
or you rotate rimits of range,, it may broke,,

so Richard say,, you need to set ERC freeze and adjust the rigs for your shape,
when you use the morph, the genesis rig move to and fit to the shape.

you may need to change Display scene view bone property, of figure to check your morph how move bones,,
when you apply your morph, and check the bone,, you may understand,,
how they wrok or not,,

lets ask ,,  if you can not,,,,  I stlll watch this topic,, and hope you can enjoy ds 4.5.

Image Attachments
bonecheck.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 November 2012 06:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  50
Joined  2010-05-18

Sorry if this overlaps anyones comments, i haven’t read the whole thread…  Anyway.

I have had this a few times and the only way I found to get around it is to save the characters,delete them and resave the scene.  recreate the characters in a new scene then merge it with thee old one.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 09:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  19
Joined  2011-08-05
Ippotamus - 23 August 2012 05:44 AM
kitakoredaz - 23 August 2012 03:13 AM

Ok fellowes I am sorry about your problems.

then you can believe or not, hope to try.

just save the same exprosion sean as duf again. of course it is better to save as another name.

now you have exprosion icon for duf scene.

then open it (I understand you can not believe)

but manycase it will be correct.

then save as duf again. your icon (it means short cut for duf) will be correct too.

You are amazing!

1.  I opened an old scene in 4.5 pro.

2.  I saved it.

3.  I opened it again and got the exploded Genesis effect.

4.  I saved the exploded Genesis scene again, changing the name slightly.  (Don’t know if that’s important or not, but I’m not rocking the boat at this point).

5.  I loaded the name changed scene back up and it was perfect.

I had seriously given up all hope.
Thank you so much for your answer and time.

Simply perfect smile

WF_ : ) What a simle - nice answer, releived me quite a bit.
These comments and storyies scared the _ out of me.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2