Digital Art Zone

 
     
Installing zip file for DS3 on Win XP ? 
Posted: 20 August 2012 11:16 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  257
Joined  2011-02-17

I just bought V3 Leather Boots, and the instructions that came with the zip files says:

Drag and drop ReadMe’s and Runtime into your “My Library” folder.  Daz Studio 3 users will want to merge with their “Content” folder.  The default location for this is:

c:/Users/[your user name]/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio 3/Content

The screen caps looks like they’re from Windows Vista or 7, but I’m running Windows XP so I don’t see Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio 3/Content.

Anyone else run into this problem and solved where the ReadMe’s and Runtime are suppose to go for XP?

The download was successful because I have both the ReadMe’s and Runtime files for V3 Leather Boots.  The boots are simply just not appearing within Daz Studio.

 Signature 

Daz Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 August 2012 11:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  429
Joined  2005-11-06

I was very confused at first too about My Library and where to install with DS4. But I’ve found that it doesn’t matter where the ‘My Library’ folder is on your PC - you can install to wherever that directory is and then point to it from DS via the Preferences Tab.I had mine installed in something like C:/Program Files/DS4/Studio/Content/My Library. The Runtime folder will go in My Library - when you install some content and choose your install location for My Library any runtime folders will be extracted into there.

 Signature 

BEGINNERS TUTORIALS FOR BRYCE
MY DAZ 3d STORE  for Bryce & DAZ Studio Materials and Shaders
BRYCE ARENA News and resources for Bryce

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 09:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1190
Joined  2004-06-13

Do not install content in to the Program Files folders.  While it isn’t a problem with XP the UAC in Vista and 7 will mess things up.

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 10:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

If you did a Default install of DS4 or DS4.5 you should have a My Documents/DAZ3D/Studio/My Library file structure. The Folder My Library is the content folder for DS4. It has a Runtime folder in it, that is where you Drop the content. I forget if XP has MERGE as a option. You do not want to replace that Runtime folder or put another one inside it, you want the folders from the UnZiped Item’s Runtime folder inside the My Libraries Runtime folder in the exact same folders.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 11:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  75
Joined  2009-06-11
Mr Leong - 20 August 2012 11:16 PM

I just bought V3 Leather Boots, and the instructions that came with the zip files says:

Drag and drop ReadMe’s and Runtime into your “My Library” folder.  Daz Studio 3 users will want to merge with their “Content” folder.  The default location for this is:

c:/Users/[your user name]/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio 3/Content

The screen caps looks like they’re from Windows Vista or 7, but I’m running Windows XP so I don’t see Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio 3/Content.

Anyone else run into this problem and solved where the ReadMe’s and Runtime are suppose to go for XP?

The download was successful because I have both the ReadMe’s and Runtime files for V3 Leather Boots.  The boots are simply just not appearing within Daz Studio.

Easiest way to find out where your studio 3 content directory is located is to check the mapped directories in your setting. Just select <Edit> <Preference>  then the Directories tab to see the maping. It will default to the Daz Native (Which is what you want ). You can also change the dropdown box to show Poser maping too.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  257
Joined  2011-02-17

Finally got it installed.  Thanks for all the input. 

A lot more work to install than the old way, but at least I learned how things are organized in my Runtime folder and how that determines how things appear in my Content Tab when DS is running.  Now I know how to do some customization and get things organized better.

Another question : The boots lack the appearance of leather texture that the promo pictures had.  In the description for the boots, it states CR2s(P4 and PP), also 6 MAT Poses SPecifically Optimized for P5 .  The Readme file also talks to the customer as if they’re using Poser.  Again I’m using DS3.  Does this mean the leather texture does not work in DAZ Studio, or do I need to re-download and re-install?

 Signature 

Daz Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 01:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8697
Joined  2007-11-06

It’s likely that the leather is a procedural texture which only works in Poser.  I think there are some free leather shaders for DS at calida3d.com

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile