Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
shaders
Posted: 24 August 2012 09:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2011-12-29

The tuturoal was helpful,but what I’m look for is to use a little bit of the shader no the whole thing.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 09:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1793
Joined  2005-12-31

You could apply the shader to a primitive then re save it with just the parts you want to save.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 09:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2011-12-29

Omg,I have no ide on how to do that

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 10:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1793
Joined  2005-12-31

In the save dialouge check custom and it will give you a list of all the surface settings that you could save out. You can save as many or as few as you like. Just remember that not saving some of the settings will drastically change the look you get when you render your shader.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 09:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2011-12-29

Ok,i have no ida on what that looks like,proble seen it but don’t know what it is. I’m realy new at this.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 10:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1793
Joined  2005-12-31

When you click the little plus sign at the bottom or go to the save as drop down one of the options is to save as a shader. Maybe I am misunderstanding what you mean by “a little bit of the shader”.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 08:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2011-12-29

I have Gor Domes blood splaters and dont want to use the whole thing just parts fo effect.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 08:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1793
Joined  2005-12-31

ohhhh.. As in you don’t want it everywhere on the surface your using? I don’t have gor dom and I’m not really that familiar with LIE shaders. My best guess is you could alter the transparency map in a 2d app so that it exposes less of the gor. I’m not sure if tiling is a factor or not. That might pose a problem if it is. I’m afraid we have reached the point where I’m not much help.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 09:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  202
Joined  2006-04-15

Quickest way to do it is still a pain in the ass, if your machine’s light on RAM. It will take forever to get anything done, but… Just open the material selector dropdown on the surface (GoreDom only uses diffuse, doesn’t it?) and click on ‘Open Layered Image Editor…’ Then just resize the overlay layer a bit. If the shape isn’t pleasing to you, open the texture in the image editor of your choice and tweak it a bit, then replace the image for that layer with the tweaked one.

Do I do this often? No. It’s a pain in the ass. But, I do it when I have to. (Also, I’m still using DS3, so things may not be in -exactly- the same places, for you.)

 Signature 

“Why’s all the rum gone?”  *looks at the last render*  “Oh. That’s why the rum’s gone…”
DAZ Studio 3.1.2.32 | Windows 7 Pro SP1 x32 | ATI Radeon HD 4200
Say YES to David 5!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 09:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1793
Joined  2005-12-31

I looked at the product in the store and it sounded like it used transparency as well. But I could be way out in left field since I don’t have the product.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 09:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2011-12-29

Ok,Does any know of a product that I can use?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 09:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1793
Joined  2005-12-31

What sort of gor are you needing Steve? So you need it on a set place on something?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 09:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2011-12-29

Not just gore but anything from small wounds to gor.(stabs,slices,ect)I can use gor dom but I need something small to start with.  I got to get to work now so I’ll read the answer when I get home.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 August 2012 01:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1793
Joined  2005-12-31

Not just gore but anything from small wounds to gor.(stabs,slices,ect)I can use gor dom but I need something small to start with.  I got to get to work now so I’ll read the answer when I get home.


http://www.daz3d.com/shop/lie-wound-makeup-artist 
SimonMW’s sounds like it has more flexibility as far as generations go, is a much newer product and is much larger.


http://www.daz3d.com/shop/lie-wound-pack
This one does not look as large but the price point is slightly lower.

I don’t have either of the products though so I can’t give you an owners perspective.

 

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2