Digital Art Zone

 
     
Moving Key frames
Posted: 26 May 2012 11:57 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  26
Joined  2003-10-09

In Daz Studio 4, is there some way to move key frames - drag (as in other 3D progams) or cut and paste?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 01:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14264
Joined  2003-10-09

No, I’m afraid not. All you can do is use File>Save as>pose preset to save a limited range of frames, then apply that in the new start frame.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 01:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  26
Joined  2003-10-09

I’m very sorry to hear that Daz is so limited, but I really appreciate you prompt reply.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 07:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  142
Joined  2011-08-12

No, I’m afraid not. All you can do is use File>Save as>pose preset to save a limited range of frames, then apply that in the new start frame.

Alternatively you can place your keyframe into puppeteer, delete the original and then reposition it at whatever spot you want in the timeline.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 11:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  26
Joined  2003-10-09

I didn’t know about Puppeteer. Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  26
Joined  2003-10-09

I tried Puppeteer and it’s even worse for what I was trying to do. At least with a keyframe if I change a pose between two other key frames and then if I change my mind, I can delete the new middle key frame and the character pose will go back to having the original in-betweens frames. But if I make the new middle key frame with puppeteer and then delete it, the middle pose remains and the beginning and ending key frames no longer create inbetween frames. Or did I do something wrong?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 04:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi Santamonica

Using Puppeteer will create a key frame on every part of the figure,. unlike manually posing to create a key frame, which will only create keys for the parts of the figure which are moved.
this means that you need to delete all the keys for the figure at that frame, to restore the tweeners back to the default DS tweener.

Hope it helps smile

Also…..
Daz Carrara has a Full set of animation features and controls,  full key-frame editing, multiple tweener types, and a graph editor,.
You may want to have a look at the 30 day trial version, available on www.downloads.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 07:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  73
Joined  2008-02-05

What I did was create a shortcut key for the Memorize all selected part, or whatever that title is, and another shortcut key for Restore all selected parts. Then, all you have to do is select the keyframed part and hit your shortcut key for Memorize, move to the frame you want and the hit your Restore shortcut key. Plus, if you have multiple keyframes, mcasual’s retime script can be very handy.

 Signature 

http://www.medhueanimations.com/

Profile