Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 3
3
Actual Facial hair - how resource intensive?
Posted: 28 May 2012 01:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13642
Joined  2003-10-09

It’s often necessary to reset the order, if the file name has changed that will almost certainly be necessary.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 02:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1549
Joined  2009-08-08

Where does the reset button hide? I don’t see it anywhere.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 03:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13642
Joined  2003-10-09

Reset is in the Itemised order history, which is in alphabetical order by product name so this should not be far in.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 04:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  84
Joined  2007-10-19

If you display 50 items on a page, it’ll probably be on the first page. I’ve just reset mine and the same file name comes up, so I can’t tell whether it’s the new one or not without downloading and installing. Any chance of someone finding out whether the file name has changed?
(BTW, very impressed with the instant reset - that’s definitely an improvement.)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 06:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  291
Joined  2004-02-14

I have now reseted it and in the download-list it named “14574_ActualFaceHairGen_1.2_trx.exe - PC” but when I try to download it it is the file “14574_ActualFaceHairGen_1.1_trx.exe”.... ???? hmmm

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 06:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  181
Joined  2008-06-01
Richard Haseltine - 28 May 2012 01:35 PM

It’s often necessary to reset the order, if the file name has changed that will almost certainly be necessary.

I have reset my order and it is listed in the available downloads as 1.2 but when I click the download for it, it is read as 1.1 which I downloaded and still the same issue. Something to do with the website itself, still not working 100%. I shall wait awhile more… :D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 07:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2003-10-09

*sigh*

Ok..I’ll get on it again.
I do apologize people, I work hard to bring you quality products, this is frustrating for me too confused

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 09:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1385
Joined  2006-07-04

Any update on this?

And can anyone who does have it working answer my original question of how much weight this adds to a scene?  grin  Especially (if possible) compared to Blondie9999 or Will Dupre’s Genesis beards? 

(I’m not interested in other advantages and disadvantages of the various beards.  Eventually all three will probably be purchased.  it’s just a matter of pacing.)

 Signature 

DAZ Gallery * * *DA Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 02:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  84
Joined  2007-10-19

The update is that things have gotten a little more unhelpful. When I reset the item in my downloads, it resets to v1.2. When I try to download it, I get, “Sorry that item is unavailable. Please contact the seller.” And, as usual, we’re hearing nothing from anyone who’s supposed to be fixing it.
Doesn’t seem much point working out how much weight it adds to a scene until we’ve got a working version.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 09:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  57
Joined  2005-11-13

I just bought it but when i try to download it I get following message:

Download is currently unavailable

Sorry, this download is currently unavailable.

Please go to your Account and check your Order Status.

(order status is complete btw…)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 09:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  196
Joined  2004-10-09
DaWaterRat - 29 May 2012 09:48 PM

Any update on this?

And can anyone who does have it working answer my original question of how much weight this adds to a scene?  grin  Especially (if possible) compared to Blondie9999 or Will Dupre’s Genesis beards? 

(I’m not interested in other advantages and disadvantages of the various beards.  Eventually all three will probably be purchased.  it’s just a matter of pacing.)

As stated above, the beard works fine for me in DS4.5RC. Download of the new 1.2 version is currently not possible (same error as others get). I have been using it in 4.5 and I do not see any significant impact of the beard on scene performance. It adds 60660 vertices with all parts loaded, but texture maps are small. However, I have a fairly powerful system with 12Gb ram, so your mileage might vary.

I quite like the beard, very nice addition to the toolbox for closeup renders.

Ciao
TD

 Signature 

I reject your Reality and substitute my Vue!
Check my gallery at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 June 2012 08:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  181
Joined  2008-06-01

Well I finally downloaded 1.2 last night and checked it out this morning. It works and it looks awesome so a big thank you to MindVision and to DAZ for working your backs off to get the file working. I know that it has not been easy this past week with all the headaches but thank you all. Keep up the good work. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2012 06:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  160
Joined  2006-10-28
thd777 - 28 May 2012 10:11 AM

I had the same issue until I tried to use the hair in the new DAZ Studio 4.5 release candidate. Using that one, it works as advertised and looks very good. It seems that the hair requires the use of DS 4.5 RC.

Ciao
TD

Yes, a lot has changed between DS4x and DS4.5. Some things that worked in 4x don’t load or work in 4.5 and vice versa.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2012 06:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  160
Joined  2006-10-28
MindVision G.D.S. - 29 May 2012 07:40 AM

*sigh*

Ok..I’ll get on it again.
I do apologize people, I work hard to bring you quality products, this is frustrating for me too confused

Hi, Mindvision G.D.S.: I was trying to get in touch with you, but about the Actual Hair product. Since I don’t have an email for you, I just wanted to say that the product looks good but it’s all female hair styles. I was hoping you were going to do something like that for male hair styles.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2012 07:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  787
Joined  2005-09-19

<whoops, mistaken post>

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 3
3