Digital Art Zone

 
     
What happenened to the .daz file format
Posted: 18 August 2012 06:52 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  39
Joined  2004-12-23

Installed DS Pro 4.5 and opened a previously saved scene. Maybe a few changes and tried to save back as a .daz file and that format is not available any more. What is the .duf format and how is it a benefit?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2012 07:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  949
Joined  2007-01-04

The .DUF is the new universal format that they are using for everything now, from scenes to light presets.

In the past if you saved a scene it converted everything in the scene into DSO, DSD & DSV files, now the DUF format should only convert things into DSF files (asset files for Genesis etc) that aren’t already in that format.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2012 09:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9616
Joined  2007-11-06

.duf has a lot of advantages over .daz:
smaller files
automatically goes back to Poser files if the Data files are missing
compressed plain text so it can be edited manually if desired
in future versions it will be backward compatible (since 4.5 is the first version that uses them, there aren’t any earlier versions, but when 4.6 comes out scenes saved in 4.6 will still work in 4.5)

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2012 10:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  39
Joined  2004-12-23

Thanks for the additional information that helps.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2012 10:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  181
Joined  2009-09-15

Say what you want about the .daz file format but I never had an issue with DS “not responding” like I do with the .duf format… EVERY TIME!

 Signature 

My clients call me “the web guy” and my friends call me “the photoshop guru”, but I digress….
Wanna know how I do it? check out my randomly updated blog on jimmulvaney webdev

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 September 2012 07:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15734
Joined  2003-10-09

I haven’t met that - where is it happening? Windows 7 is a bit eager to say not responding, even when an application is merely busy but twill finish soon.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 September 2012 07:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2618
Joined  2007-12-07

I get it quite often ... it tends to happen after something like a load or save has ended, but obviously something more is happening ...

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 September 2012 08:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  181
Joined  2009-09-15
Richard Haseltine - 06 September 2012 07:07 AM

I haven’t met that - where is it happening? Windows 7 is a bit eager to say not responding, even when an application is merely busy but twill finish soon.

Yes, I am running Windows 7 x64 it happens when I load a character with power loader and when I go to load a scene file. Even if I just open up DS and wait for it to finish “Not Responding” and THEN load a scene file (.duf) it will go into “Not Responding” status again. The worse is trying to load V4 with Morphs++, Elite and Creature… it takes forever to finish “Not responding”.

 Signature 

My clients call me “the web guy” and my friends call me “the photoshop guru”, but I digress….
Wanna know how I do it? check out my randomly updated blog on jimmulvaney webdev

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 September 2012 08:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15734
Joined  2003-10-09

PowerLoader has nothing to do with the .duf format. After loading, it could be that the optimising of images is hogging the CPU.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile