Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
ATTENTION EriKan EriKan EriKan!!!!! 
Posted: 17 August 2012 05:09 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

EriKan You posted a thread back in MAY about Problems installing Carrara on MAC OS LION where you got a warning of ...

“The application cannot get the administrator access right, You should run it once as administrator or reinstall the application”


I am having the same issue with Mountain LION!  MAC OS 10.8 What was the answer?????

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 05:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  357
Joined  0

I posted what I believe to be the solution, in your first thread about this.

See:
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewreply/75223/

 Signature 

-Dean

DAZ Gallery: http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/1922/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 05:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4958
Joined  2006-08-27

Have you tried tech support?

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 05:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22
evilproducer - 17 August 2012 05:28 PM

Have you tried tech support?

I have sent 2 tickets to DAZ about it and all they send me is more solicitations to buy more crap!

I have NOY tried apple yet!

I have posted it all over MACRUMORS and not one wants to get near it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 05:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  357
Joined  0

Are you not seeing my posts?

de3an - 17 August 2012 05:28 PM

I posted what I believe to be the solution, in your first thread about this.

See:
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewreply/75223/

 Signature 

-Dean

DAZ Gallery: http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/1922/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 05:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

I have read elsewhere that the workaround for this problem is to run Carrara once as the “superuser”. Unfortunately, the only way to do this is via the Terminal application (which will allow you to screw up your computer big time).

The Terminal application gives you access to the command line interface for the Mac OS. With it, you have the power to do pretty much anything. But with great power comes great responsibility. You have to enter commands perfectly, there are no typos allowed.

To run Carrara as the superuser, you must first determine the directory path to your Carrara installation. The normal path should begin as /Applications/DAZ 3D/ followed by the name of the directory that the installer created, or the custom directory name that you chose. Let’s assume for this example that your Carrara folder’s name is Carrara8. You then follow that with /Carrara.app/Contents/MacOS.

So the entire path might look like this:
/Applications/DAZ 3D/Carrara8/Carrara.app/Contents/MacOS

You need to go to that directory by using the “change directory” command.

Launch the Terminal application and type the following (including the quotation marks and the space after cd.)

cd ”/Applications/DAZ 3D/Carrara8/Carrara.app/Contents/MacOS”
Press return.
Remember, this will only work if this is the correct path to YOUR Carrara installation.

After entering the above command, you then enter the following:

sudo ./Carrara
Return
You will be prompted to enter your Mac admin password.
(sudo is the command for “super user do”)

Carrara should then launch, and you can enter your registration info.

THIS SCARES ME! I am not a techie code zombie!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 05:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

I have no idea about all that, BUT if you could write down a step by step about how to do it I would be willing to try

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 05:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  357
Joined  0
RichardChaos - 17 August 2012 05:41 PM

THIS SCARES ME! I am not a techie code zombie!


This is the only solution that I have seen for installing Carrara 8.1 on Mac OS Lion or Mountain Lion.
The problem has been reported to be fixed with Carrara 8.5.
See this bug report:
0042972: Carrara cannot get admin rights - OS X 10.7 - Lion
https://bugs.daz3d.com/view.php?id=42972

 

 Signature 

-Dean

DAZ Gallery: http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/1922/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 05:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  357
Joined  0
RichardChaos - 17 August 2012 05:45 PM

I have no idea about all that, BUT if you could write down a step by step about how to do it I would be willing to try

If you can tell me the exact directory path to your Carrara installation, with no errors, I can give you directions.

 Signature 

-Dean

DAZ Gallery: http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/1922/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 06:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4958
Joined  2006-08-27
RichardChaos - 17 August 2012 05:30 PM
evilproducer - 17 August 2012 05:28 PM

Have you tried tech support?

I have sent 2 tickets to DAZ about it and all they send me is more solicitations to buy more crap!

I have NOY tried apple yet!

I have posted it all over MACRUMORS and not one wants to get near it


They also have a toll free number and regular business hours. Look on the website under “Contact Us” or something similar.


If a Mod happens across this thread or Rich’s other thread that’s essentially identical to this one, perhaps one of them could be locked? No point in two of them.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 06:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  357
Joined  0

It would make more sense to continue this discussion in the other thread.

 Signature 

-Dean

DAZ Gallery: http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/1922/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 06:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

I DID IT I DID IT!!!!!!!!! Found a APPLE forum about logging in as as root user! HEY I am a CODE ZOMBIE NOW! WOO HOOO!

SOME THING TELLS me this is gunna be a continuing problem as more and more people are upgrading to MAC OS 10.8 Mountain lion!!

NOW where should the native content go!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 06:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4958
Joined  2006-08-27

One thing I do know how to do in the Terminal is if you the exact file path, open the Terminal, find the file or folder and drag and drop it on the Terminal window and the file path will show up in it’s entirety. Simply copy and Paste your info. for de3an to help you out.


For instance, the install path for my version of Carrara 7 (certain identifying things have been x-ed out):
[XXXXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX:~] xxxxxxxx% /Applications/DAZ/Carrara\ 7\ Pro/Carrara7.app/

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 06:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

Are you getting this on mac OS 10.8 when you try to resifted Carrara ?

“The application cannot get the administrator access right, You should run it once as administrator or reinstall the application..”

Heres what you got to do….

How to enable the root user
OS X Mountain Lion
1. From the Apple menu choose System Preferences….
2. From the View menu choose Users & Groups.
3. Click the lock and authenticate as an administrator account.
4. Click Login Options….
5. Click the “Edit…” or “Join…” button at the bottom right.
6. Click the “Open Directory Utility…” button.
7. Click the lock in the Directory Utility window.
8. Enter an administrator account name and password, then click OK.
9. Choose Enable Root User from the Edit menu.
10. Enter the root password you wish to use in both the Password and Verify fields, then click OK.


How to log in as root

Use these steps for Mac OS X v10.2 or later
1. If you are logged in, choose Log Out from the Apple menu.
2. If you are logging in from a list of usernames with pictures, click Other.
3. In the Name field, type: root
4. In the Password field, type the password you defined in the steps above.

THEN launch Carrara then enter your information then wa la

If you need to LOG OUT as administrator then log back in as who ever you wish and carrara will run fine!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 06:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  357
Joined  0
RichardChaos - 17 August 2012 06:07 PM

I DID IT I DID IT!!!!!!!!! Found a APPLE forum about logging in as as root user! HEY I am a CODE ZOMBIE NOW! WOO HOOO!

SOME THING TELLS me this is gunna be a continuing problem as more and more people are upgrading to MAC OS 10.8 Mountain lion!!

NOW where should the native content go!


Logging in as the root user is not a good idea in my opinion. You can do far more damage to your computer logged in as root than you can by using the Terminal method.
If you haven’t already logged in as root, I advise against it!

 

 Signature 

-Dean

DAZ Gallery: http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/1922/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 06:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

Well there was no CODE to mess with… I simple logged in the root user. Launched Carrara entered my info! CLosed carrrara LOGGED out then back in as me and here I am!

Thanks for your patients and help!

SO could you tell me about any other issues you know of running carrra on MAC ML? I can look forward to?

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1