Digital Art Zone

 
   
12 of 23
12
GenX and DSF Toolbox Updates for DS 4.5
Posted: 14 October 2012 05:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 166 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  302
Joined  2004-02-15

andolaurina: Thanks for your offer, but I’m learning best by just trying out something myself.

LizzieP_D9S: There’s no real difference between custom morphs and standard morphs when using GenX.

RAMWolff: Maybe the simplest way to use shoes for one figure with a different figure would be to separate left and right and turn them into props.

thd777: Step 3 and 4 can be done also by drag’n'drop from the content library. In step 6, it’s important to select the apropriate transfer mode: “selected morphs” to transfer each morph, “create single morph” to merge all selected morphs into one new morph.

JOdel: This may be hidden morphs. Try to enable “show in list > hidden morphs/controllers” from the context menu of the morph list. If anything else fails, you may inject the morphs in Poser or DS into the figure and save it as a new CR2 to load into GenX.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 11:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 167 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1547
Joined  2009-08-08

I may end up having to do that. Because I’m hitting a lot of them with Gen 4 figures. Gen 3 not so much.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 05:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 168 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  572
Joined  2008-07-18
Dimension3D - 14 October 2012 05:33 AM

andolaurina: Thanks for your offer, but I’m learning best by just trying out something myself.

Not a problem. I do that a lot myself!

 Signature 

My Free Stuff | My Big Store at CP | My Smaller Store at Renderosity | Prayer | Me on Twitter | Me on DA

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 06:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 169 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1080
Joined  2010-09-19

So just in case i missed it… has DSF Toolbox been updated at all?

 Signature 

My deviantART page
My ShareCG freebies
Some of my music

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 11:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 170 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  358
Joined  2003-10-09

Jabba101:

Yes, the DSF Toolbox has been updated.

Reset your purchase (or purchase), and download.

D3D added a couple of things to help with changes in DS 4.5.

 Signature 

Take care all..        “It’s easy to clean up when you got money.”        *Old Post Count:  Don’t know, don’t care…  *New Site Status:  Doesn’t matter one iota.
Ken

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 October 2012 12:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 171 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1080
Joined  2010-09-19

cheers wink

 Signature 

My deviantART page
My ShareCG freebies
Some of my music

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2012 08:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 172 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1547
Joined  2009-08-08

Are there any Tutorials on porting things over the hard way, through the .cr2 export. I’ve got a number of ongoing characters that I’m going to have to bring over that way.

ETA: Well that turned out to be fairly easy. And I’m not sure but what it doesn’t do a better job than the standard procedure.

However; I’ve still got things that refuse to come in, any way, any how. Even the loaded .cr2 gives me the ‘no morphs to be transfered’ message. Since it is not what anyone could call a subtle morph, I’m fairly flummoxed. WHat does one do in such a case?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 10:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 173 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  302
Joined  2004-02-15

In any case (not only if there is an error message), it’s not a bad idea to have a short look at the morph list to see what morphs are set to what value. If something looks wrong, you can compare it to the morphs that are active when loading the figure in DS. (Hint: In DS, you see all active morphs in the “Currently Used” section of the Shaping and Parameter tabs. In GenX, you can click on the value column header to sort morphs by value, where positive values will be on top and negatives on bottom.)

If some morphs are not listed, this may be due to the settings. For simplicity, the morph list in GenX only shows those morphs that are used directly in most common cases. From the context menu of the morph list, you can change this to also include hidden morphs, empty morphs, or controlled morphs.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 11:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 174 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1547
Joined  2009-08-08

Sounds like code. I don’t read code. But checking the morph list sounds like a good place to start. It probably is unlisted morphs. Since ghod knows there have to *be* morphs in there.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 02:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 175 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1547
Joined  2009-08-08

Well, no joy there. I opened the .pz2 file in a text editor and if has something like:

actor hip
{
channels
  {
  targetGeom PBMCC_10
  {
  name WWW_Body
  hidden 0
  keys
  {
  static 0
  k 0 1
  }
  valueOpDeltaAdd
  Figure
  BODY
  PBMCC_10
  deltaAddDelta 1.000
  indexes 1279
  numbDeltas 1279
  deltas
  {
  d 0 -0.00185 0.00011 -0.00287
  d 1 -0.00184 -0.00029 -0.00203
  d 2 -0.00235 -0.00067 -0.00200
  d 3 -0.00141 0.00055 -0.00301
  d 4 -0.00136 -0.00009 -0.00238
  d 5 -0.00139 0.00111 -0.00345
  d 6 -0.00105 0.00079 -0.00323
  d 7 -0.00132 0.00111 -0.00356
  d 8 -0.00045 0.00065 -0.00242
  d 9 -0.00094 0.00029 -0.00312
  d 10 -0.00045 0.00016 -0.00246
  d 11 -0.00083 -0.00033 -0.00317
  d 12 -0.00013 0.00087 -0.00184
  d 13 0.00174 0.00313 -0.00072
  d 14 0.00157 0.00320 -0.00067
  d 15 0.00145 0.00284 -0.00061
  d 16 0.00159 0.00366 -0.00058
  d 17 0.00162 0.00274 -0.00062
  d 18 0.00175 0.00267 -0.00061
  d 19 0.00137 0.00422 -0.00025
  d 20 0.00111 0.00431 -0.00019
  d 21 0.00115 0.00388 -0.00043
  d 22 0.00106 0.00467 0.00016
  d 23 0.00142 0.00373 -0.00054
  d 24 0.00093 0.00466 0.00070
  d 25 0.00102 0.00482 0.00052

And then goes on in that mode for pages and pages, occasionally flagging different parts of the body. None of which means zip to me. Then I re-loaded one of the morphs onto V4 and hit the ‘currently used’ command in the parameters tab. The sliders are all over the place, but the entries are all 0.00 or conversely, 100%, which is obviously not true because the indicatiors are in the wrong places for that. I do have the ‘show hidden properties’ selected, but it isn’t showing the real numbers.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2012 07:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 176 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  302
Joined  2004-02-15

I copied and pasted your code and added the necessary lines to make it a valid morph injection pose. Then, I loaded Victoria 4.2 in GenX and applied this pose. The morph shows in GenX with value 1 and it was no problem to transfer it. So it should work without requiring any tricks.

Please use the context menu from the morph list and ensure that “All controlled morphs” is selected for “Show in list”. Otherwise, the morphs in the single actors are not listed and hence can’t be selected for transfer, even if they were injected successfully and have value 1. (Usually, the morphs in the actors are 0 because the BODY dial sets the value for them together. That’s why the default option “Multi-Controlled Morphs only” hides them in the morph list.)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2012 03:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 177 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1547
Joined  2009-08-08

Where does one find this ‘All controlled morphs’ direction? The one on the right is the fly-out from the morphs listing in the Parameters tab. The one on the left is the morphs listing in GenX. The GenX list is only Genesis morphs. The other, when I have V4 with the morph applied and ‘Currently Used’ selected shows a different list, but just about everything claims to be at 100% and the fly-out is the same. No ‘All Controlled Morphs’ entry that I can see.

Image Attachments
Screen_shot_2012-10-30_at_2.10_.49_PM_.pngScreen_shot_2012-10-30_at_2.14_.41_PM_.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2012 03:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 178 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  302
Joined  2004-02-15

The morph list in the Transfer tab of GenX has its own context menu that opens when you right click in this list.

Image Attachments
genx_context.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2012 03:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 179 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1547
Joined  2009-08-08

Aha. Will try that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2012 06:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 180 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1547
Joined  2009-08-08

Yup! That did it. Thank you!

I’m sure that I’m going to be stumbling across all sorts of other glitchy stuff as I keep trying to port these figures over, but this is certainly going to get me a long way forwarder.

There is one thing, that I’d like to see in some future version (although what I think is the problem may be way off target). I’ve been tripping over a lot of body morphs for Gen3 figures that mess with the head as well. Which means that you can’t apply the Head morph if you’ve got the body morph applied because it overdoes it and causes distortions.

When the body morph is dragged into the transfer window there is an entry for the head, and for the eyes. I should think that if those could be deleted before doing the transfer, that might fix the issue. But, of course I do not know for sure. In any case, there appears to be no way to delete anything in the list once it’s in the transfer window. Which may be just as well, but means that there doesn’t appear to be any way to make the body morph dial leave the head alone.

Profile
 
 
   
12 of 23
12