Digital Art Zone

 
   
8 of 23
8
GenX and DSF Toolbox Updates for DS 4.5
Posted: 19 September 2012 03:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 106 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  316
Joined  2004-02-15

What transfer mode (the drop-down list left of the “Select” button) are you using? Except for “Selected morphs”, you should get a dialog box for parameters. The “Create single morph” mode from the tutorial works for me as it should and opens the parameters dialog.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 04:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 107 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  289
Joined  2005-08-25
Dimension3D - 19 September 2012 03:46 AM

What transfer mode (the drop-down list left of the “Select” button) are you using? Except for “Selected morphs”, you should get a dialog box for parameters. The “Create single morph” mode from the tutorial works for me as it should and opens the parameters dialog.

i just leave it to selected morphs, isn’t that ok?

and how do i delete GenX morphs back from the list?

 Signature 

DAZSTUDIO FUTURE REQUESTS - CLICK ME TO JOIN
Feel free to join, sign and vote for dazstudio future improvements.
(620 users and still counting up to 1000) would like to see improvements, and you?

What features would you like to see appear in dazstudio 5?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 04:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 108 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  316
Joined  2004-02-15

Sure is it “OK” to use “Selected morphs” as transfer mode, it just will do something different ...

“Selected morphs” creates one morph in Genesis for each morph that is selected in GenX. “Create single morph” sums up all selected morphs into one morph and transfers this as a single morph for Genesis.

You can manage (disable, delete, restore backups) transferred morphs from the “Morphs” tab of GenX.

Have a look at the manual to learn about the features of GenX that are not explained in the video tutorial.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 04:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 109 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  289
Joined  2005-08-25
Dimension3D - 19 September 2012 04:36 AM

Sure is it “OK” to use “Selected morphs” as transfer mode, it just will do something different ...

“Selected morphs” creates one morph in Genesis for each morph that is selected in GenX. “Create single morph” sums up all selected morphs into one morph and transfers this as a single morph for Genesis.

You can manage (disable, delete, restore backups) transferred morphs from the “Morphs” tab of GenX.

Have a look at the manual to learn about the features of GenX that are not explained in the video tutorial.

thx, i deleted them in windows folder.
i will check the manual again, people almost forgot this plugin really have a manual smile

under the morph tab, i can delete or enable the morphs.
but it seems that i have to delete one by one, but i have more selected to delete.
should this happen? can i not delete them all at once?

 Signature 

DAZSTUDIO FUTURE REQUESTS - CLICK ME TO JOIN
Feel free to join, sign and vote for dazstudio future improvements.
(620 users and still counting up to 1000) would like to see improvements, and you?

What features would you like to see appear in dazstudio 5?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 05:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 110 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  289
Joined  2005-08-25

just ignore, found it all ready.  shift will do the trick wink

why do we need to restart studio everytime to see the changes happen?

 Signature 

DAZSTUDIO FUTURE REQUESTS - CLICK ME TO JOIN
Feel free to join, sign and vote for dazstudio future improvements.
(620 users and still counting up to 1000) would like to see improvements, and you?

What features would you like to see appear in dazstudio 5?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 05:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 111 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  316
Joined  2004-02-15

You don’t have to restart DS. After transferring morphs, you have to start a new scene to ensure DS rescans the morphs folder of Genesis for new morphs, but only if Genesis was loaded into the actual scene before.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 05:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 112 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  289
Joined  2005-08-25

the V4 luciouscurves morph’s or the ngm morph’s, it’s seems i can’t convert these…
after drag them to the GenX tab, i can’t find them under the body section.

 Signature 

DAZSTUDIO FUTURE REQUESTS - CLICK ME TO JOIN
Feel free to join, sign and vote for dazstudio future improvements.
(620 users and still counting up to 1000) would like to see improvements, and you?

What features would you like to see appear in dazstudio 5?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 07:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 113 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  750
Joined  2011-05-17
Dimension3D - 18 September 2012 10:43 PM

In general, GenX works with any morph. However, results may differ. Rather extreme morphs may transfer less well.

The image shows the MouthFurious morph for Aiko 4 transferred to Genesis. Is this extreme enough?

I was thinking something more like http://www.edutopia.org/images/graphics/cs_monster_mouth.jpg, but that is certainly much bigger than my Genesis currently can do, so it’s a step in the right direction!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 09:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 114 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  349
Joined  2004-03-03
fixme12 - 19 September 2012 05:31 AM

the V4 luciouscurves morph’s or the ngm morph’s, it’s seems i can’t convert these…
after drag them to the GenX tab, i can’t find them under the body section.

I turned the V4 NGM morphs into ExP morphs after getting them, with dials in the Body as well as the chest, and I don’t have the original files to check; but my recollection is that as supplied the NGM morphs were only in the chest, with dials only in the chest and no valueParm controller channels in the Body. So they won’t be listed under the Body section of the GenX tab.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 10:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 115 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  316
Joined  2004-02-15

fixme12, DavidGB: If the morphs are in the chest actor only, GenX should list the chest and show the morphs there. In general, GenX shows all morphs/parameters in the same actor as in the original figure. To keep things simple, GenX has options to show or hide dependent and/or hidden morphs, that are usually not used directly.

Paradigm67: The Aiko morph was the most extreme morph that came to my mind for mouth morphs. More extreme morphs might work as well, because GenX essentially maps the deltas of the original morph to the points of the Genesis mesh. So, there’s no principal limit about what morphs can be transferred, it’s just always a bit random how well a particular morph transfers. Smoother morphs usually transfer better because they have less differences when mapping from one mesh to the other.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 04:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 116 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  289
Joined  2005-08-25

deleted, solved my problem

 Signature 

DAZSTUDIO FUTURE REQUESTS - CLICK ME TO JOIN
Feel free to join, sign and vote for dazstudio future improvements.
(620 users and still counting up to 1000) would like to see improvements, and you?

What features would you like to see appear in dazstudio 5?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 04:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 117 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  289
Joined  2005-08-25

Again another conversion of GND4

this time without V4_morphs++

why the V4morphs++ will dismesh the GND4 export with genX?

Why V4_CTRL_JawFix is created automaticlly when you create a new V4 GenX morph?

Image Attachments
GND4_2.jpg
 Signature 

DAZSTUDIO FUTURE REQUESTS - CLICK ME TO JOIN
Feel free to join, sign and vote for dazstudio future improvements.
(620 users and still counting up to 1000) would like to see improvements, and you?

What features would you like to see appear in dazstudio 5?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 11:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 118 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  215
Joined  2006-09-05

...just wanting to say that, thanks to this thread, I was finally able to use GenX to transfer on Genesis my favourite A3 face morph!:)

 Signature 

http://mcmxc2.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 02:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 119 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1587
Joined  2009-08-08

I’m getting off to a slow start with this. Got a couple of issues.

1. I’ve seen someone post a preview of the Aged morph for M4. So I know that it *will* transfer. I can drag the Aged morph into the field for transfers. But it comes in at zero value, so it won’t transfer, since I gather that only morphs set at something other than zero value are transferable (I get an alert box that says there isn’t anything to transfer, even when I’ve checked the boxes in the list). The column which shows the value is not a live text column, I cannot change the value in the column to something other than zero. How do you activate the morph so that it will transfer? I am assuming that I have to drag it in from somewhere else, like the parameters tab after applying it to a figure. Or is this when you choose some other option in the select drop-down?

2. This is related, but at a remove. I have a lot of character targets that I would like to transfer, but they do not apply automatically. You can’t just click on them. I always have to point the program at a subfolder in the library/morphs folder, or some such thing, usually more than once, before the character will apply. Ergo, these cannot be drag-and-dropped into the transfer field, because the links to the actual morphs do not come in by dragging. I can apply them to the base figure that they are intended for, but how do I move them from an actual figure rather than the content list. I gather that this can be done, since how else would someone transfer in an older figure that they dialed from an earlier base figure?

3. As you may guess, I’ve got some dud transfers that show up in my list of GenX transfers, where the body transfered, but the head didn’t, or transfers where the transfer was fine, but I somehow managed to direct the plugin to the wrong .png to identify it. How do you edit or delete your previous transfer files?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 03:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 120 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  114
Joined  2005-11-18

I have a question about the DSF toolbox.  In reading over the product I saw where one feature is to be able to create a dsf uv set from an obj file.  Does this mean I can export say V3 as an obj with all the appropriate zones and then use the toolbox to create a uv set that can be used to allow genesis to accept v3 skins?

I am already planning on purchasing genX + the 3rd generation bundle as soon as I have the funds available and I was curious about the toolbox as well.

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
   
8 of 23
8