Digital Art Zone

 
     
lost translation controls
Posted: 16 August 2012 10:35 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2003-11-09

i’m not a developer, but this seems like a developer question.

i have a prop purchased at rendo… but when loaded into DS it loses some of the translation controls. (i’m using DS4.0)

the prop is basically a building, and the developer re-labeled “Yrot” to be “roatate” and that control shows and works.

i also get the scale control which seems to work.

the only other conrol is some kind of custom thing that moves the object diagonally from NW to SW   ....

how can i edit the file (pp2?) to restore the normal controls?

TIA

:8

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 05:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8314
Joined  2009-05-14

The easiest method could be just to load a NULL object Parenting the Building to the Null and move the Null. Moving the Null will move the Building.

DS4 has an Icon to create a NULL object or on the top menu bar “Create > New Null. If you select the Building before you create a NULL you can Parent the Building to the Null when you create the new Null. All will come clear when you try this…......I hope. smile

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 05:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15673
Joined  2003-10-09

Moved to Nuts n Bolts - Developer Discussions is for DAZ Studio scripting.

Do you have a link to the prop? Have you tried right-clicking on the Parameters pane’s tab and from the menu selecting Show Hidden Properties?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 04:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2003-11-09

that worked great… now…  how can i see the null so that i can move it to the center of the prop…. making x/z trasforms is no problem… but it sure sould help with rotations to have the null in the center…..

sorry to sound so ignorant, but i’ve never used nulls in DS before…

thanks!

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2012 04:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8314
Joined  2009-05-14

Hey don’t sweat it we are all learners we all have to start somewhere.


To see a Null object. You can see the Outline but it does depend on the background. All I do is make sure I have the Translation tool selected which gives me a visual reference (see image below), select the Null in the Scene Pane and whilst looking through the Perspective or Top camera I hit the Frame to Object Icon (see image below). Then it is a simple case of moving the NULL in to position but make sure you haven’t parented the Building to the Null at this point otherwise you will move the building to. smile


Another way is to select the Building in the Scene Tab, Ctrl + C (on a PC) to copy and the select the Null and Ctrl + V to Paste.

Image Attachments
FrameIcon.jpgNullOutline.jpg
 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2012 08:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2003-11-09

thanks for the info—complete with pretty pictures!—worked great!

:8

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 August 2012 05:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8314
Joined  2009-05-14

LOL Glad it worked.


But I still think a Restore Translation tool might be a nice idea.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 August 2012 08:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2003-11-09

yes it would!

Thanks again!

:8

 Signature 
Profile