Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 5
3
Plugin update status for DS 4.5
Posted: 17 August 2012 05:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  234
Joined  2003-10-09
Male-M3dia - 17 August 2012 11:21 AM
DAZ_Spooky - 17 August 2012 10:36 AM

The only way to not have an SDK change and not require a recompile is to not advance and improve the software.

Incorrect. There’s many software companies, such as Adobe, which has advances in software but you can still drop in filters and plugins from previous versions so people don’t lose their investments and time waiting for new versions of plugins… and hope the developer does update their plugins.

The software really needs to be written so that plugins, especially when they are calling the same methods that have not been depreciated, still run without needing recompilation. Things such as this speed adoption of software and allow for people to quickly upgrade; constantly recompiling and changing formats slows it down. The nature of your software is modular; as a software developer, there’s really no excuse for the constant changing and recompiling that DS does. Those plug in modules really need to snap in place and run, if those calls are still available to it.

Like Richard said, it’s only semi true. I’ve had several Photoshop plug ins and filters stop working in newer versions over the years. In fact CS6 won’t run one of my favorite sets of filters. I have to keep a previous version installed to be able to use them.

New versions of Poser, ZBrush, Vue and many many others have plug ins, filters and scripts that need to be updated to work in newer versions. It’s nothing unique to DAZ Studio.


Coldrake

 Signature 

I don’t dance, I boogie.
———————————————————

If I have to choose between speed and quality, I’ll take quality every time.
———————————————————

It’s not what tools you use,
It’s how you use your tools.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 08:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16
Richard Haseltine - 17 August 2012 12:50 PM

That’s semi true, but remember that Photoshop plugins don’t have much access to the internal methods, data and structures of PS… (etc..)

Thank you that was a well explained answer Richard smile

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 08:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  44
Joined  2008-04-12
WayOfTheSword - 16 August 2012 05:12 PM

Awesome!  And for the record, most plugins (such as reality) already have updates.  They just weren’t going to be released until 4.5 was an official stable release.  It’s just being thorough.


Where did you find the update for Reality. I cannot find it on his website?

tongue rolleye

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 11:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  234
Joined  2003-10-09
jcowb1 - 17 August 2012 08:24 PM
WayOfTheSword - 16 August 2012 05:12 PM

Awesome!  And for the record, most plugins (such as reality) already have updates.  They just weren’t going to be released until 4.5 was an official stable release.  It’s just being thorough.


Where did you find the update for Reality. I cannot find it on his website?

tongue rolleye

 


From the “GET DAZ STUDIO 4.5!  See why you should do it today!” thread;

Pret-A-3D - 17 August 2012 02:46 PM

Hello.

I just wanted to confirm that I’m building new versions of Reality, version 2.5, that are compatible with Studio 4.5. In fact they are already been built, I’m testing them and then sending them to the testers for a wider verification.

If everything checks out I should have the update, which is free, available on Monday. I will send a mailer to let people know about the update.

Cheers.


Coldrake

 Signature 

I don’t dance, I boogie.
———————————————————

If I have to choose between speed and quality, I’ll take quality every time.
———————————————————

It’s not what tools you use,
It’s how you use your tools.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2012 11:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  642
Joined  2007-05-26

After installing the new release of Daz Studio Pro I checked the plugins and dzautoriggercontrol is listed red… I checked my dlls and it wasn’t updated since 10/20/2011….. not sure if this one is needed or will be updated later… or is this a problem with my own upgrade installation??

 Signature 

If I want to be a fool then I will be a fool! That is my God given right as an American!

—- Jason from True Blood

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2012 12:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8705
Joined  2007-11-06
MrPoser - 18 August 2012 11:55 AM

After installing the new release of Daz Studio Pro I checked the plugins and dzautoriggercontrol is listed red… I checked my dlls and it wasn’t updated since 10/20/2011….. not sure if this one is needed or will be updated later… or is this a problem with my own upgrade installation??

If you had the Dynamic Clothing Control (the paid add-on), you need to reset that and install it.  The installer won’t reinstall the basic Dynamic Clothing plugin if the paid one is there, even if the paid one is an older version.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2012 12:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  642
Joined  2007-05-26

Thank you…. that was it!

 Signature 

If I want to be a fool then I will be a fool! That is my God given right as an American!

—- Jason from True Blood

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2012 02:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-04-28
Coldrake - 17 August 2012 11:22 PM

From the “GET DAZ STUDIO 4.5!  See why you should do it today!” thread;

Pret-A-3D - 17 August 2012 02:46 PM

Hello.

I just wanted to confirm that I’m building new versions of Reality, version 2.5, that are compatible with Studio 4.5. In fact they are already been built, I’m testing them and then sending them to the testers for a wider verification.

If everything checks out I should have the update, which is free, available on Monday. I will send a mailer to let people know about the update.

Cheers.


Coldrake

I’m psyched for Monday.  Now I just need to figure out what I want to render first.  :D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2012 11:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  132
Joined  2008-05-26

well that’s great news.  I just installed 4.5 and really wanted my Reality back at work.  Happy to hear it is on its way.  HOpefully the testing goes well.

 Signature 

Never let ‘em see you sweat wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 August 2012 04:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  95
Joined  2003-10-09

I need Gen X. AAAAGHHHHHHH!!!!!!  Where is it? Without Gen X no use of DAZ for me. I don’t use Genesis as it, I only use the iconic shapes of Genesis (third and fourth generation). I don’t see any Gen X for DAZ 4.5 :(  I guess I have to wait…..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 August 2012 04:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6669
Joined  2005-08-15
Lyone - 19 August 2012 04:12 AM

I need Gen X. AAAAGHHHHHHH!!!!!!  Where is it? Without Gen X no use of DAZ for me. I don’t use Genesis as it, I only use the iconic shapes of Genesis (third and fourth generation). I don’t see any Gen X for DAZ 4.5 :(  I guess I have to wait…..

See this thread:

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/5878/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 August 2012 04:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  95
Joined  2003-10-09
JimmyC_2009 - 19 August 2012 04:22 AM
Lyone - 19 August 2012 04:12 AM

I need Gen X. AAAAGHHHHHHH!!!!!!  Where is it? Without Gen X no use of DAZ for me. I don’t use Genesis as it, I only use the iconic shapes of Genesis (third and fourth generation). I don’t see any Gen X for DAZ 4.5 :(  I guess I have to wait…..

See this thread:

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/5878/

 


THANK YOU!!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 August 2012 07:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  769
Joined  2005-12-12

I hope I didn’t miss anything but…anyone knows if “INFINITO” will be affected by 4.5?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 August 2012 07:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6669
Joined  2005-08-15

There is a link on the forums here to download the latest Infinito DLL, it has been updated to work with 4.5, I’ll see if I can find it before you do smile


Here is the link : http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/5973/

Reality will be released failry soon, perhaps after the weekend, and Dimension3D is working on GenX and the DSF Toolbox.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 August 2012 10:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  787
Joined  2005-09-19
Lyone - 19 August 2012 04:12 AM

I need Gen X. AAAAGHHHHHHH!!!!!!  Where is it? Without Gen X no use of DAZ for me. I don’t use Genesis as it, I only use the iconic shapes of Genesis (third and fourth generation). I don’t see any Gen X for DAZ 4.5 :(  I guess I have to wait…..

Even without the update of GenX for 4.5 you should still be able to use everything you have already converted.

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 5
3