Digital Art Zone

 
     
Shapes for Genesis M4 V4
Posted: 15 August 2012 10:00 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2006-08-10

I know that the Shapes for Genesis are great for clothing, but has anyone had any luck with character textures?

I just purchased the M4/V4 Shapes for Genesis and put the M4 shape on the Genesis figure and applied the Ulrich texture, which is for M4 and the facial texture is too low - his nostrils are on his upper lip.

Anyone else having any issues like this?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2012 10:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  364
Joined  2003-10-09

Go into the surface tab, look for UV set and change the UV to M4. The default is generally the V4 UV set. smile

Hope that helps!

 Signature 

“Own the day”
Live, Love, Laugh, Dream, Believe  

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2012 10:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2006-08-10

And there was much rejoicing!!!! You were exactly right and it fixed it perfectly.

A thousand ‘thank you’s smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 04:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1762
Joined  2010-02-14

Yeah, UV sets, you got to love them! smile

Maybe in DS5 they can make the process automatic. Genesis 2 would be able to detect UV maps upon application and conduct itself to fit the proper UV set. wink

 Signature 

“I’m sorry, I can’t hear you over the sound of how awesome I am!” ~ Brextor Ultimus

FORUM MEMBER POST RANKS
New Member = 0
Member = 25
Active Member = 250
Power Member = 1000
Addict = 2500

My Art Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 06:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2303
Joined  2010-12-18
RCDeschene - 16 August 2012 04:58 AM

Yeah, UV sets, you got to love them! smile

Maybe in DS5 they can make the process automatic. Genesis 2 would be able to detect UV maps upon application and conduct itself to fit the proper UV set. wink

Is there a way for it to know what UV to use? I mean for legacy stuff? I don’t think it’s as much an issue with Genesis maps but for older ones I don’t think they really have a way of telling what it’s really for.

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 06:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

As far as I know a texture is just a image file. Until the program is told it was made for This or That UV it will not be Stretched into the proper dimensions, which that UV uses.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 07:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  101
Joined  2010-02-05

Unfortunately this doesn’t work for the M4/V4 muscle maps mad
I filed a bug report and they told me it wasn’t supposed to work!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 07:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5334
Joined  2008-03-06
larsmidnatt - 16 August 2012 06:12 AM
RCDeschene - 16 August 2012 04:58 AM

Yeah, UV sets, you got to love them! smile

Maybe in DS5 they can make the process automatic. Genesis 2 would be able to detect UV maps upon application and conduct itself to fit the proper UV set. wink

Is there a way for it to know what UV to use? I mean for legacy stuff? I don’t think it’s as much an issue with Genesis maps but for older ones I don’t think they really have a way of telling what it’s really for.

On new presets you can actually set what UV map it uses before you save the material to library.  Older materials don’t have that, but some of the newer Genesis-supporting V4M4 sets do (any of PD’s new stuff at Rendo, for instance, will load the right UV for you).  Mostly I just do the extra clicks.

You can also turn on the right UV and then re-save the material to library yourself.

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery and tutorials.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 07:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

Hey! That’s a great tip. Would it hurt my use of the textures in DS3A?

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 07:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5334
Joined  2008-03-06

I tested just now and PD Ellis and PD Kyo, which both have the feature, still load on V4 and M4 in DS3 without errors.

It can’t apply a V4 or M5 UV to an M4 that doesn’t have that loaded, of course, but it won’t show an error, and it works fine on things whose UVs match the textures you’re using.

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery and tutorials.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 08:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

Great Info, thank you much.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 11:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3802
Joined  2012-02-06
ragaray - 16 August 2012 07:06 AM

Unfortunately this doesn’t work for the M4/V4 muscle maps mad
I filed a bug report and they told me it wasn’t supposed to work!

It doesn’t? That’s weird. Then how did they do the last couple promo pics for Genesis Evolution: Muscularity? http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genesis-evolution-muscularity

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 12:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  101
Joined  2010-02-05

The knee area is twisted.
I’m referring to these:
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z209/ragaray/Muscle2.jpg

M4 on your left, Genesis on the right.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 12:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3802
Joined  2012-02-06

I remember someone having a kind-of-similar issue with the Supersuit…

Found it: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/201/P150/#7552 No idea if the same fix suggested there will help you or not…I can switch between UV sets just fine, but otherwise the whole UV thing is still kinda beyond me!

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 06:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  101
Joined  2010-02-05

Thanks for the suggestion, but the Muscle Maps don’t have that Symmetrical Limbs option.

Profile