Digital Art Zone

 
   
8 of 10
8
DS4.5RC & frozen Optitex cloth sims in Carrara ANSWER YES YES YES
Posted: 21 August 2012 06:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 106 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

I’ve never had any problems animating in carrara; other then the feet sliding thing. Animate gives you a library of stock motions, that don’t often actually fit the scene.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 03:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 107 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  336
Joined  2007-07-31

Qote manstan -I’ve never had any problems animating in carrara; other then the feet sliding thing. Animate gives you a library of stock motions, that don’t often actually fit the scene.

Well Animate is not limited to the stock aniblocks . I have probably a thousand motions bvh / pz2 to draw on. Once converted to an aniblock you can use the tools. I especially like the spline control where you can see the path of a limb / leg etc and tweak it.
The other thing that works MUCH better in Daz Studio is puppeteer. It responds faster than Carrra and has the layer function .Its so simple to use.

Now I’m eager to know what the New animation things will be in DS5 that have been hinted at :- BUT I really wish Daz would improve the animation in Carrara

like say “clip” previews and fixing th feet thing!

 Signature 

http://bond3d.wix.com/carrarators#!home/mainPage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 04:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 108 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  336
Joined  2007-07-31

deleted post -duplicated

 Signature 

http://bond3d.wix.com/carrarators#!home/mainPage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 04:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 109 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4775
Joined  2004-07-01
0oseven - 22 August 2012 04:01 PM

Sheesh !

Now Ive just noticed LIPSYNC seems to have disappeared from DS 4.5

Its there in DS 4.

Whats Happening ?

32 bit only

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 04:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 110 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  336
Joined  2007-07-31

ok thiunk I got the answer - its only in 32 bit version which I’m now downloading

 Signature 

http://bond3d.wix.com/carrarators#!home/mainPage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 07:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 111 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

“I have probably a thousand motions bvh / pz2 to draw on”

Carrara can use those too. Really if you look at carrara’s animation tools they blow studio’s away. Those animation options you are looking forward to in studio 5 have been in carrara for quite a while.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 12:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 112 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  336
Joined  2007-07-31

dont think Carrara will load bvh/ pz2 motion onto Genesis - with Genesisi there isnt an import option in the parameters tab as with v4 for the pz.2 format .
If you know different I’d be happy to know how.

This whole genesis thing is driving me crazy - now trying to make mimic work with it in Daz Studio ( dont have mimic for Carrara)

So if you can help there chug along to   http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/6255/#80188

 Signature 

http://bond3d.wix.com/carrarators#!home/mainPage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 02:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 113 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1374
Joined  2008-01-01

I can’t get any sort of animation out of Studio 4.5 - not into Carrara or Poser Debut.  Bvh made from Animate sort of works, but the ankles cross through each other.  Pz2 animations simply don’t work - no keyframes, although static poses work fine. 

None of this bothers me too much, except for not being able to get Optitex sims into Carrara.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 07:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 114 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Man, I will never understand why people have their heads so far up genesis’s

The only use I have ever had for genesis is for teen figures that we never got in mil4. If genesis wont work for what you want to do simple use a different figure, DAZ has a dozen other figures you can use, but no one seems to remember that. Just because DAZ doesn’t support the mil4 figures is no reason for us not to. Personally I’d rather use an older figure that doesn’t have issues, then beat my head against a wall trying to use the new figure that does have issues.

So here we go with the “if it’s new it has to be better”  attitude. It certainly isn’t better if it has all these issues with just common use.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 07:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 115 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4775
Joined  2004-07-01
ManStan - 23 August 2012 07:00 AM

Man, I will never understand why people have their heads so far up genesis’s

The only use I have ever had for genesis is for teen figures that we never got in mil4. If genesis wont work for what you want to do simple use a different figure, DAZ has a dozen other figures you can use, but no one seems to remember that. Just because DAZ doesn’t support the mil4 figures is no reason for us not to. Personally I’d rather use an older figure that doesn’t have issues, then beat my head against a wall trying to use the new figure that does have issues.

So here we go with the “if it’s new it has to be better”  attitude. It certainly isn’t better if it has all these issues with just common use.

cheese rolleyes vampire

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 09:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 116 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2007-08-26

Maybe we sort of want to use Genesis because it’s new. I think it has advantages of its own. Time will tell. I’ve been trying to have Genesis walk up some stairs in DS 4.5. No way. The feet move, they don’t stay on the stairs whether you pin them or not. The Daz tools are shaky.

So I decided to use Carrara 8.5 and, using Faba’s Genesis helpers,
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/11970483/GenesisHelpers.zip
I had Genesis going up the stairs in no time. Faba’s tools are miraculous for handling IK. They’re so easy to work with. Even easier than Carrara 8.1. No need to pin the feet. Let this be told: Carrara tools for animation are WAY ahead of DS (except maybe animate which I find quite handy).

Now all I need is Fenric to update his BVH exporter for Carrara 8.5 and I’ll export my stairs animation back to DS 4.5 so I can put dynamic clothes on Genesis, import it back as DUF in Carrara, render my scene and I’m in business.

Now this is a rough animation. I haven’t bothered yet to animate the upper part of her body. But the feet are steady. Besides, she’s a sleepwalker.
http://youtu.be/zyoJyiFLa5w

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 10:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 117 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7690
Joined  2009-07-13

0oseven, why can’t you load your pz2 onto Genesis animation from your runtime? works for me.
has to be Genesis compatible, many do not work the feet stretch, mostly G4, G3 poses tend to be ok but one created in DS4 using PFE powerpose and puppeteer works the same as a bought pose.
was going to go to sleep now but I will have to light my kero heater and fire up my computer and post some screenshots, prob in your Mimic thread.
edit
2:49 am grrr
(i am a shiftworker btw)
you do not want to export a pz2 of a Genesis lipsync!!!
it is NOT pretty!!!

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 11:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 118 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1374
Joined  2008-01-01

Genesis is certainly better in many ways - more versatile, easier morphs, better deforming.  I don’t use it yet because to be of any real use it needs all those add-ons, which I won’t buy until it works properly in Carrara.

The importing of dynamic clothing I’ve been trying is all Gen4, stuff, on gen 4 figures - which I used to be able to do perfectly in DS3 using Daz Collada.

Eventually found a method of getting Animate animations into Carrara 8.5 - export as .pz2 from DS, into Poser, export as bvvh - Carrara can read that perfectly.

Heck, even a static pose with conforming clothing saved in duf comes into Carrara in a mess - but I can do that right here, so no problem for me.

Still no dynamic clothing with duf - Pierre is on it’s case.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 12:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 119 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4775
Joined  2004-07-01

“Still no dynamic clothing with duf ”
many of us have done it - maybe you can’t - doesn’t mean it can’t be done

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 August 2012 12:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 120 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1374
Joined  2008-01-01

I fully realise that - but if I follow your steps exactly - and you have confirmed earlier that my steps are correct - and I get an i/o error, which is pretty serious, then it can’t be done on my setup, which is what is being investigated.

How about helping out here - can you save an animation - any animation, in .duf and import it into Carrara?  Can you export an animated .pz2 and load it into Carrara?
Can you save a static posed figure with conforming clothing as .duf and get it to load correctly in Carrara?

All of these don’t work for me.

Which version of Carrara and DS are you using?

I’d really appreciate your help to try to narrow the fault down.

Profile
 
 
   
8 of 10
8