Digital Art Zone

 
     
Has anybody cracked the secret of even-width outlines in Shader Mixer yet?
Posted: 09 August 2012 01:18 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  664
Joined  2004-11-12

I remember hearing whispers on the forums that the release candidate for Daz Studio 4.5 included a new feature that could potentially allow for even-width outlines, I believe it was something along the lines of support for scripted rendering within Shader Mixer.

I am just wondering if anybody has any more information about such a thing? Considering the limitations of edge-blend based outlines (especially with sharp objects like cubes and swords), I was hoping that such a thing would be possible to achieve.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2012 07:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2187
Joined  2005-09-05
BishounenTaurus - 09 August 2012 01:18 PM

I remember hearing whispers on the forums that the release candidate for Daz Studio 4.5 included a new feature that could potentially allow for even-width outlines, I believe it was something along the lines of support for scripted rendering within Shader Mixer.

I am just wondering if anybody has any more information about such a thing? Considering the limitations of edge-blend based outlines (especially with sharp objects like cubes and swords), I was hoping that such a thing would be possible to achieve.

I haven’t installed the latest release candidate for DS yet…I would imagine many people are holding off until plug-ins are released or until they know for sure how stable it is. Sorry I can’t help…

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 August 2012 04:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  803
Joined  2007-01-08

Scripted renderer is not “within Shader Mixer”, and I’m not sure if the two can play well together. Anyway, in the Render Settings, select Scripted 3Delight Engine instead of 3Delight and you will see a selection of scripts among which is Outline. I haven’t managed to get anything out of it on Win 32 bits other than flat shaded and no outline renders. OTOH I don’t know what I’m doing. In the example below I set all the widths to 10.6, Thresholds to both 0.5 and 0.01 (I’m showing just one render since both gave the same results) and colours to something bright and different from each other for all three components (Normal, Outline ID, etc.). The scene is just a grey Genesis in a dark green box and this is the result no matter what I do:

Actually in another render with V4, she comes out light blue and has an interesting effect on the eyelashes, but that’s all the outline I can get out of it.

Image Attachments
Genesis_Outline_Multicolore.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 August 2012 07:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  664
Joined  2004-11-12

Well, thanks for pointing me in the right direction. Unfortunately I can’t get it to work either. =/

Profile