Digital Art Zone

 
     
DS4.5 categorize problem: Partial missing categorize work. How prevent it?
Posted: 08 August 2012 08:00 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  593
Joined  2005-01-19

I categorize some stuff in DS4.5, in my last session CMS didn’t work, and Categories was not showing. I restart CMS, and categories back, in an old step, the new work are missing. How I can do a backup for content library categories?

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2012 03:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  903
Joined  2009-12-07

You need to stop the CMS service, backup the files in C:\Program Files\DAZ 3D\Content Management Service\databases (default install location) and then restart CMS.

To restore, you simply stop the service, replace all the backup files into the same location and restart.

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2012 06:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  768
Joined  2005-09-19

I suspect the OP is actually asking how to get back to the status where an item is new and awaiting categorization, not how to save a backup of the database, but I don’t use Smart Content to be able to advise.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2012 08:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

On the Content Library tab, click the Context Menu button at the top and then select “Scan Known Directories for Files” and that will put them in the unassigned directory.  If you have already imported their metadata, then there’s not an easy way to go backwards.  Instead you should be able to go to Products > [ product name ] and custom categorize from there.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2012 11:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  593
Joined  2005-01-19
cridgit - 09 August 2012 03:53 AM

You need to stop the CMS service, backup the files in C:\Program Files\DAZ 3D\Content Management Service\databases (default install location) and then restart CMS.

To restore, you simply stop the service, replace all the backup files into the same location and restart.

Thanks, it is just I need. I hate sorpresive data vanishing.

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2012 11:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  593
Joined  2005-01-19
DWG - 09 August 2012 06:33 AM

I suspect the OP is actually asking how to get back to the status where an item is new and awaiting categorization, not how to save a backup of the database, but I don’t use Smart Content to be able to advise.

In this time these data is missing. But it would be pretty to know how recover it.

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2012 11:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  593
Joined  2005-01-19
adamr001 - 09 August 2012 08:18 AM

On the Content Library tab, click the Context Menu button at the top and then select “Scan Known Directories for Files” and that will put them in the unassigned directory.  If you have already imported their metadata, then there’s not an easy way to go backwards.  Instead you should be able to go to Products > [ product name ] and custom categorize from there.

It was a good solution for a new problem: Categorize wasn’t working.
I didn’t use “Scan” because not all compressed poser types was viewed in “unassigned directory”, and I had been categorizing from “proser format” branch without problems. Suddenly, categorize didn’t work more, I only obtained empty subfolders categorizing files differents to *.crz (Yes, I check in subcategorie when i create it). Reading your answer remember me this option. I select it ... and categorize funtionality is back. Thanks.

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile