Digital Art Zone

 
   
54 of 65
54
GET DAZ STUDIO 4.5!  See why you should do it today!
Posted: 12 September 2012 02:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 796 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1424
Joined  2009-09-11
Cymbidium - 12 September 2012 11:42 AM
Bobvan - 12 September 2012 09:41 AM
Kerya - 12 September 2012 06:28 AM
Cymbidium - 12 September 2012 06:22 AM
fixmypcmike - 12 September 2012 05:50 AM
Kerya - 12 September 2012 02:25 AM

For those missing LDP2:
Mr. Belwon made a survey
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/FT7HKFS
I added in the blank field: update of older products like the LDP2
If enough people tell him ...

I did the same

So did I…..but I don’t hold up much hope, since he said somewhere in the forums (in answer to someone asking him if LDP2 was getting an update) that he was now concentrating on training, and he didn’t seem interested currently in updating any plugins. :(  Guess it would be too much work for too little return…...

Well - that will mean that I will tell everybody not to buy things from Dreamlight!


Lux is you’re friend…

For those who may not be interested in Reality / Lux Latinos & Dimension Theory have pretty killer lights

I did try to use Reality for a while, right before the update to DSPro 4.5, but I can’t say I got any really good renders out of it - guess I need a LOT more practice…......red face

Really is not that complicated and one can really get nice renders. One of my fans commented recently “You are really getting good at this everything looks so real”  Some of my renders http://fav.me/d5drfel  http://fav.me/d5dhr30 I really like the dramatic lighting I can get and its not much different then when I was using UE a few well placed lights and adjustments. Even though Lux renders can take longer one can queue them so you can start 3 or 4 then fire em up in 2 hour cycles and lit err rip! The adjustment of lighting and film response settings can give some nice results. But I also had gotten alot of decent renders with LDP2…

 Signature 

http://bobvan.deviantart.com/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/37909888@N05/sets/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 03:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 797 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  582
Joined  2005-01-19

I need a little help with install.

I have a new machine in my office, it has win 7 64 bits, a SSD with free 60 Gb (Disk C with OS only for programs) and a HD with 500 Gb (Disk D for content).

I want install DAZ Studio pro 4.5 in this machine, but content must go to disk D, if it is possible, I want also DS4.5 program files in D. Yesterday I was trying to install in this way, but nothing in content was installed. DS4.5 worked, but it hadn’t genesis figure or content. Content folders aren’t created in C nor D.

If I search rute for genesis.duf in edit/preference this point to documents folder in disk C. When I install I don’t costumize CMS, but clearly declare rute in disc D for all install.

I had a previous install of DS4.5 in C, but I uninstall with recommended procedure: Uninstal CMS, Uninstall DS4.5. Also I erase all DAZ 3D folders in folders “Archivos de Programas”(spanish version for program files), “program files”, “Documents” and user/adpdata/roaming after restart PC, after uninstall.

I know there is a extra intaller with content, but I supose that genesis is installed with the program, not with extra. If I’m wrong please, you say me. Is there some important advice on configure install in secundary disk?, please.

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 03:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 798 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1424
Joined  2009-09-11

Did you point the content files to the drives in your directories?

 Signature 

http://bobvan.deviantart.com/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/37909888@N05/sets/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 03:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 799 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15264
Joined  2003-10-09

Genesis Essentials is just the content, with tweaks, that has been in the main DAZ Studio installer previously. The content is expected to be more stable (not to need as many updates) going forward, so it was split out to reduce download sizes next time the application is updated.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 03:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 800 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  582
Joined  2005-01-19
Bobvan - 12 September 2012 03:08 PM

Did you point the content files to the drives in your directories?

Yes.  I set “Program files” as “D:\Program files\...” and so, and I cut “content files” as “D:\DAZ 3D\Studio4\My Library”

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 03:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 801 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  582
Joined  2005-01-19
Richard Haseltine - 12 September 2012 03:20 PM

Genesis Essentials is just the content, with tweaks, that has been in the main DAZ Studio installer previously. The content is expected to be more stable (not to need as many updates) going forward, so it was split out to reduce download sizes next time the application is updated.


Ok. This say that Genesis isn’t in program install, but it is in essentials. Program and essentials must be installed to beging the party.
 
I hadn’t notice this. First DS4.5 ofitial install was over DS4.5 candidates. In home machine (Win 7 32 bits) wardrobe and another conten was erased, I used essentials, but in office (Win 7 64 bits)  nothing was erased and I didn’t need essentials install.

Thanks.

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 04:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 802 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2007-03-02

For I what I see so far, DAZ Studio 4.5 Pro runs slightly faster than the previous version,and with the same qualities. How about you other users of this latest update?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 04:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 803 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1705
Joined  2009-08-08

Well I reinstalled all of my DAZ character content. I’ll probably have to reinstall the stuff that was freebies or from Rendo as well.

I get the missing file alerts on things, but they load anyway, and I get the duplicate file alert when I launch now, but the program seems to just tell me and then go on running. I may need to download some updates at some point, but it doesn’t appear to be a critical need right at the moment.

The log file claims that Decimator, GoZ and Dynamic Clothing control are disabled. I had reset my download on the Dynamics and the others were fresh downloads after having “purchased” the program. So I don’t know what the problem is.

I’ve not yet got a serial number from DAZ, and the program hasn’t asked for one. Nor have the plugins.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 04:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 804 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4682
Joined  2004-08-11

There is a strange lag in while it’s first coming up.  Used to be faster starting up.  BUT a fresh Genesis loads very fast now….

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 05:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 805 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3480
Joined  2009-08-05

I found this to be content path related. EG if the last content I loaded came from a huge runtime, it takes longer to startup because it must populate the content list before starting up. Now before I quit I make sure my content browser is pointed to Genesis instead of my poser runtime and it starts up fast eveytime.

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 06:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 806 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4682
Joined  2004-08-11

Ah, well I’m not going to remember yet another thing I have to do before shutting down the program.  But glad to know there seems to be a solution!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 10:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 807 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2012-01-28

Sorry, I’m a little confused about updated genesis installers.

If I have installed previous versions of genesis installers, and have now upgraded to 4.5, and there is a newer genesis installer versions…do I need to download these newer versions and reinstall all these products in all these cases?

Also, I’m getting a lot of “duplicate IDs found” on products since the upgrade. What is causing this and can it be resolved?

Thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 10:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 808 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  12150
Joined  2007-11-06
Richard Haseltine - 12 September 2012 03:20 PM

Genesis Essentials is just the content, with tweaks, that has been in the main DAZ Studio installer previously. The content is expected to be more stable (not to need as many updates) going forward, so it was split out to reduce download sizes next time the application is updated.

...Richard thanks.  So installing this should have no impact on the application’s actual performance then.

So as to the texture map issues and scene corruption after saving, does this mean I need to re-map all my directories again?

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 11:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 809 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6455
Joined  2006-02-20
Bobvan - 12 September 2012 09:41 AM
Kerya - 12 September 2012 06:28 AM
Cymbidium - 12 September 2012 06:22 AM
fixmypcmike - 12 September 2012 05:50 AM
Kerya - 12 September 2012 02:25 AM

For those missing LDP2:
Mr. Belwon made a survey
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/FT7HKFS
I added in the blank field: update of older products like the LDP2
If enough people tell him ...

I did the same

So did I…..but I don’t hold up much hope, since he said somewhere in the forums (in answer to someone asking him if LDP2 was getting an update) that he was now concentrating on training, and he didn’t seem interested currently in updating any plugins. :(  Guess it would be too much work for too little return…...

Well - that will mean that I will tell everybody not to buy things from Dreamlight!


Lux is you’re friend…

For those who may not be interested in Reality / Lux Latinos & Dimension Theory have pretty killer lights

No, I am not interested in Lux.
And I prefer vendors who are updating their things to vendors who just say they are not interested anymore.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 03:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 810 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  211
Joined  2005-10-21
Bobvan - 12 September 2012 02:58 PM
Cymbidium - 12 September 2012 11:42 AM
Bobvan - 12 September 2012 09:41 AM
Kerya - 12 September 2012 06:28 AM
Cymbidium - 12 September 2012 06:22 AM
fixmypcmike - 12 September 2012 05:50 AM
Kerya - 12 September 2012 02:25 AM

For those missing LDP2:
Mr. Belwon made a survey
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/FT7HKFS
I added in the blank field: update of older products like the LDP2
If enough people tell him ...

I did the same

So did I…..but I don’t hold up much hope, since he said somewhere in the forums (in answer to someone asking him if LDP2 was getting an update) that he was now concentrating on training, and he didn’t seem interested currently in updating any plugins. :(  Guess it would be too much work for too little return…...

Well - that will mean that I will tell everybody not to buy things from Dreamlight!


Lux is you’re friend…

For those who may not be interested in Reality / Lux Latinos & Dimension Theory have pretty killer lights

I did try to use Reality for a while, right before the update to DSPro 4.5, but I can’t say I got any really good renders out of it - guess I need a LOT more practice…......red face

Its really not that complicated and one can really get nice renders. One of my fans commented recently “You are really getting good at this everything looks so real”  Some of my renders http://fav.me/d5drfel  http://fav.me/d5dhr30 I really like the dramatic lighting I can get and its not much different then when I was using UE a few well placed lights and adjustments. Even though Lux renders can take longer one can queue them so you can start 3 or 4 then fire em up in 2 hour cycles and lit err rip! The adjustment of lighting and film response settings can give some nice results. But I also had gotten alot of decent renders with LDP2…

Thanks for the links - very nice renders!  Yes, I have seen lots of great renders with Reality, and it doesn’t seem that complicated, but I guess I’m just too darn impatient to wait a couple of hours for a render….. LOL  That said, I will most probably try again soon - I have downloaded the updated Reality. wink

 Signature 

May I be excused? My brain is full….... tongue wink
My Renderosity store
My dA Gallery

Profile
 
 
   
54 of 65
54