Digital Art Zone

 
   
49 of 65
49
GET DAZ STUDIO 4.5!  See why you should do it today!
Posted: 08 September 2012 11:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 721 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4454
Joined  2004-08-11

Looks like the wrong UV is assigned to face and head….. It should be an easy fix by choosing the correct UV from the Surface tab.

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 September 2012 11:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 722 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1656
Joined  2005-12-31

Looks like they eye map is subbed for the face map. Might be an issue in how the material file was written.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 12:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 723 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10698
Joined  2007-11-06
Coldrake - 08 September 2012 11:01 PM

The problem you’re having in this image, is that in DAZ Studio 4.5?


Coldrake

..no, 4.0.3.47. I’d expect the same (or worse) from 4.5 as it is even more demanding on system resources than 4.0.

...checked the UV and couldn’t see a difference in it between having the Standard V4 (which does work) and Tindra map applied.  The Default Steph 4 map also does the same thing as the Tindra one.

Don’t have this issue using S3A.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 12:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 724 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  231
Joined  2003-10-09
Kyoto Kid - 09 September 2012 12:08 AM
Coldrake - 08 September 2012 11:01 PM

The problem you’re having in this image, is that in DAZ Studio 4.5?


Coldrake

..no, 4.0.3.47.

Lori_T was asking about opening DAZ Studio 4 files in 4.5.

Lori_T - 08 September 2012 10:58 PM

Thanks for that encouragement - NOW I can give it a go
WooHoo!!

You’re welcome! I haven’t had any problems at all in 4.5.


Coldrake

 Signature 

I don’t dance, I boogie.
———————————————————

If I have to choose between speed and quality, I’ll take quality every time.
———————————————————

It’s not what tools you use,
It’s how you use your tools.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 12:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 725 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10698
Joined  2007-11-06

...OK, back.  Tried to fix through Surfaces and the application crashed to the desktop.  Viewing the logfile, apparently 4.0 is having issues with the Tindra MAT as there were warnings that the Tindra Face, Limbs, and Torso all failed to load because of some kind of memory error.

Also received a High CPU usage warning due to TDLMake as the scene was loading.

This is the kind of thing that makes me wonder why they even bothered with a 32 bit version.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 01:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 726 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3106
Joined  2007-06-22

I’m getting confused as to which problems are in 4.5 and which are in 4.

Kyoto Kid are you using 4.5 or 4?

I ran Daz 4 on 32 bit yes I had problems all related to memory, so I know how frustrating it is, I’ve also run 4.5 on a 32bit and the problems for me seemed about the same I don’t think that 4.5 is that more of a memory hog than 4. There are ways round things you just have to be aware of the limitations of your system and deal with them accordingly.
Rebooting DS regularly is one way. I often got textures all messed up if DS had been open for a while.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 01:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 727 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10698
Joined  2007-11-06

...4.0.

I loaded a different Leela/Tindra scene and the MAT loaded fine.  When I cleared it and loaded the original scene I have been having issues with, the Harpsichord MAT loaded bad as well and some of the window ornamentation detail didn’t load at all, however like you said that may be because I didn’t close/reopen the app between loading the two scenes.  This to me says there are still memory management issues with 4.

I actually extracted 4.5 and discovered an installer titled Genesis Starter Essentials which is over three times the size of the application installer.  If I just plan to use 4 for rendering scenes created in 3.1.2.32 using gen 3/4 characters for the time being, I don’t need to install all the Genesis stuff do I?  I don’t remember having a similar content installer with 4.0.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 02:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 728 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3106
Joined  2007-06-22

I see.
Do you realise that this thread is about 4.5 so your problems arn’t really relavant and can be confusing to those of us who are looking for a discussion on 4.5 and its bugs. You might find it more productive to put your questions and problems in a thread in the nuts and bolts forum.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 02:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 729 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10698
Joined  2007-11-06

...well, I was weighing out my decision to install 4.5Pro based on what I have been experiencing with 4.0, so in a way this has been relevant.

When you mentioned the same operational issues exist with 4.5, to me it says there has been no real improvement to make it any more efficient and stable in 32 bit than it’s predecessors. Therefore this validates my position that, in my case, there would be no advantage to upgrading.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 02:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 730 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5569
Joined  2006-02-20

Sorry - but if your new machine is 64bit - why don’t you just install the 64bit version?
When your new pc is up and running.
Probably (Hopefully) we’ve got a new version out until then ...
(with working area lights).

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 02:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 731 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3106
Joined  2007-06-22
Kyoto Kid - 09 September 2012 02:37 AM

...well, I was weighing out my decision to install 4.5Pro based on what I have been experiencing with 4.0, so in a way this has been relevant.

When you mentioned the same operational issues exist with 4.5, to me it says there has been no real improvement to make it any more efficient and stable in 32 bit than it’s predecessors. Therefore this validates my position that, in my case, there would be no advantage to upgrading.

The advantage would be that you would get the extra features of 4.5, the problems will remain because of the limitations of your present system.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 02:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 732 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10698
Joined  2007-11-06

...well that is several weeks away until I have my basic custom Poser/S3A runtimes set up.  I’d like to not be totally “idle” until then.  I’m just looking for ways to optimise things to be able to render scenes until then.  If 4 has an improved and more efficient version of the 3Delight render engine compared S3A, I was hoping it would work for actually being able to get scenes created in the older version of the programme to render in the meantime.

Also, I’m still not sure whether 4 will “see” my custom runtimes properly particularly since they will be on different drive that where the application resides and it is so dependent on the CMS.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 03:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 733 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10698
Joined  2007-11-06
scorpio64dragon - 09 September 2012 02:46 AM
Kyoto Kid - 09 September 2012 02:37 AM

...well, I was weighing out my decision to install 4.5Pro based on what I have been experiencing with 4.0, so in a way this has been relevant.

When you mentioned the same operational issues exist with 4.5, to me it says there has been no real improvement to make it any more efficient and stable in 32 bit than it’s predecessors. Therefore this validates my position that, in my case, there would be no advantage to upgrading.

The advantage would be that you would get the extra features of 4.5, the problems will remain because of the limitations of your present system.

...however many if not all the extra features like Autofit, the Texture Atlas, and CCTs would go unused as for the purpose of creating scenes 4 is just too sluggish on my system.  As I’ve mentioned I primarily was hoping to use 4’s updated 3Delight render engine (which supposedly runs a lot faster and better than older versions) to render scenes created in S3A until new system is ready.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 03:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 734 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1155
Joined  2009-01-09

A question regarding Autofit/Transfer Utility in 4.5: I know that all morphs are now transferred, but does it handle long dresses/coats any better than Autofit in 4.0.3.47 did? Both Autofit and the Transfer Utility tended to destroy the shape of the item in 4.0, even though Transfer Utility might pass the morphs through. (Didn’t necessarily do a great job on shorter items either; pretty thoroughly destroyed Hercules for the Freak, which is just knee length. The long skirt for Dark Paladins essentially turned into a brick shaped ... thing.)

I can’t upgrade to 4.5 right now, until they release the fix for the area lights issue, but I really really really want to get Veronica Year Three. But in 4.0, there’s no way that coat survives either Autofit or the Transfer Utility. (Might be worth it anyway. The coat can be finessed, maybe…) In any event, regardless of that, I have other long coats, skirts and dresses that I’ve been holding off on, just in case it winds up working better in 4.5.

 Signature 

VWrangler at deviantArt (NSFW for some images; login required to view those)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 September 2012 07:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 735 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13582
Joined  2003-10-09

One of the problems with skirts is that if they get close to the feet DS has no way of knowing they shouldn’t be projected into the skirt - though picking the appropriate template may help. Any kind of auto-conversion will have that kind of problem, though it may be possible to provide presets or workarounds for frequent situations. I haven’t tried DS4.5 AutoFit on a long skirt to know if it is better, however.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
   
49 of 65
49